Euro 2004 - Semi Finals.

*Originally posted by saby: *
it sucks Ehsan bhai :( I mean i can take France loss as they played pathetically. But Czechs were the better team. Greeks were just defesnsive, specially in the second half. I hope Portugal wins by 5-0 tub thund paray gee

Arey bhai ganay ka juice peeyo aur thandey ho jao. :D

Czech were unlucky but the Greeks played better football during the extra time.

Overall Czech for me were the team of the tournament.

Imagine if Greece win this EC, It would be a loss of the game as more and team will rely on defensive approach. I mean its the flair that makes this game so popular.

Side away Germans, the crown of 'team with the most ugly football' is not yours anymore. Its Greece..

And dont jump on me people because I appreciate their extraordinary achievement too. Its their ugly approach that irritates me, But its amazing that it is being executed with perfection.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

Overall Czech for me were the team of the tournament.

YES!! And they will not play in the final. That sucks big time.

p.s ho raha hoon thanda ehsan bhai :( dont worry. I m not done venting yet :D

Greece play the same style that the legendary German teams did.... one on one football.

Their defensive approch wins games, and I guess winning is everything, no matter how its done.

I dare to disagree. Legendary german teams used to have the services of legends like klinsmann and mathaius (sp?) and they used to play attractive football. Their encounters with Argentina and exhibition in Euro 96 were evident of that. Its only recently that their appraoch has changed and thats because of lack of charisma and killer edges in their ranks. Greece follows the suit and that too not surprisingly under a german coach.

the greeks certainly deserve the win…they kept the cezchs on bay pretty much throughout the match, barely giving any chances, and comin back with equally good challenges…bout time the world took notice of greek soccer :k: they certainly have the talent…beating portugal, france, and now czechs who were the overwhelming favs to advance to the finals not havin lost a single game thus far in the tournament…hats off to greece :k:

I think the Czech team played amazingly well today compared to the Greeks. The Greeks played better though during overtime. Their winning goal was pathetic since the Czech goalie didn't even move. I think he was in shock. Overall, I do believe the Czechs played much better than the Greeks. Baros is a really good player, but I felt sorry for Koller.

Damn. The Greeks are going to spoil the final as well :(

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Damn. The Greeks are going to spoil the final as well :(

Tell me about it :(

desiMunda, you say that Greeks kept Czechs at bay most of the time. Yaar, were we watchign the same match? Czechs must have missed 4-5 clear chances. Its not that Greek won, rather Czech lost and let them win.

The Greeks are a very limited but disciplined team. they will negate the opposition and rely on them pushing too hard for a win giving them the chance to sneak a goal. if both teams decided to play this way we would have nil-nil games every time. I hope they get hammered on Sunday.

*Originally posted by saby: *
desiMunda, you say that Greeks kept Czechs at bay most of the time. Yaar, were we watchign the same match? Czechs must have missed 4-5 clear chances. Its not that Greek won, rather Czech lost and let them win.

they did miss those 4/5 chances, and greece had equally good chances to score when they couldn't :) the two teams were pretty evenly matched up really...czechs would have this lil burst of energy here and there and thats when the chances occured...the greeks dictated the tone of the game for much longer than the czechs in my book...so they deserved to win :) much more dicipline as X pointed out...

ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE...

..was missing Nescio so just filling in for him..

[thumb=H]Hot_Portugal19700_8562727.JPG[/thumb]
[thumb=H]GR319700_3099139.JPG[/thumb]

check these out guys...

( yes...I do support porgual :D )

Sure Greeks won but they had Kaleena on their side. Many Greeks desevred Oscars for taking dives.

ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE ZIDANE etc.......

what a EC this has been...only Nedved and Van Nistelrooij of the great players have performed upto expectation....

yeah Greece will play final :)

Van nistelrooj was not enuff to compensate for the overall mediocre performance of this team. I feel for him.

Time to open the thread for the finals.

This overall mediocre performance got them to the semi’s :stuck_out_tongue:
They were better than the brits, thats all that matters :snooty:

Overall mediocre performance meant that when they played strong teams they got whooped.

it took potugal penalty kicks after kicks to finally dispose of england, holland seemed like a walk in the park in comparison.

challo..koi baat naheen, you said Holland will win this year, hum samajh laitay hain that they won ;)