Etiquettes of calling people aunty

Now that I am an aunty myself I feel distinctly uncomfortable calling women older than me aunty. I have recently joined my mosque group and most of the ladies are significantly older. Is it a big no no calling them.by their first name?

Re: Etiquettes of calling people aunty

The beauty of Urdu - you can always use Aapa or Baji. I think that's the best option - gives respect without offending the women who dislike the aunty title.

it all changes with age…my bro says everytime he goes to India after a few years gap, people call him differently on the street…the sequence goes like this:

-bhai saab
-baRe bhai
-chachchaa
-taaoo jii
-baRe miyaaN

and now, during his last trip because he’s a head of grey hair:

-daddoo [dada ji] :hehe:

What is the definition of Aunty? How do you know you now fit into the Aunty category?

I may not be the right person to post here but i think girls find a inner satisfaction per se while calling others aunties (or uncle if its guyz) :chai:

it depends how older than you, you think they are. for example, if they are about a few years older (2-5) I think calling by their first name should be okay.,. but older than that, maybe you should call them baji. it’s a personal reference, how big of a gap there has to be in order to call someone baji. if they are significantly older as you mentioned, then i think aunty would be fine. they might even correct you and tell you which they prefer.

my uncle wanted me to call my cousin who is a year older than me, baji, i refused, as 1 year is not a big gap at all to me :stuck_out_tongue:

on the flip side, my moms friend who is about 15 years older than me, i call her aunty. my mom says to call her baji.. :confused:

personal preference

I find it cringing! I pkgrl000 I fit into aunty category cz I am an aunty and also am fast approaching 30

What's your point, uncle

Rule of thumb is, if its a lady who is your friend's ( or aquantaice's )mother, then aunty is fine. But if they don't fit that context, then just call them aap and use their first name if need be. No aapa or baji. Esp if you perceive someone is 4-5 years older than you, its an instant no. People take offence and seriously I would too. Only, if its someone who is family or have known them since a very young age, its ok.

I agree with Sehrysh Aapa

baRe miyaaN has spoken

I feel the same. I think first name and aap should be OK. I would never call anyone up to 10 years older as anything but first name.

Calling someone an App is insulting, in my opinion.

LOL

Call them safiya baji, rashida baji and so on.. Aunty ji is the rudest thing ever.

I thought aap was sign of respect and tum rather rude.

Irkh... desi women can mind anything if they want to. Some cant stand apa either cuz that means you think they are older than you. Lol.

Same issue with baji.

If they look definately older than me, they are aunty.

If not... i call them by their first name. Why not? One adult to another adult.

When we moved to our current home few years back we met a pakistani family down the street. My wife addressed the wife as auntie and she immediately asked my wife to call her baji. Funny thing is that this baji was at least 25 years older than my wife and had a grandson at that time. ☺

I feel like aunty is a related lady older to you. So if a friends mum eg I would call aunty and my own aunties. I have decided to call new ones by first name cz it does offend people. And I also find it weird calling unrelated women aunty cz they are not. As you say we are all adults