ethnicity of beggars in Pakistan and India

Re: ethnicity of beggars in Pakistan and India

those who say pathans/pushtoons dont beg, i think havent seen the hoards of afghani and pathan kids roaming streets/intersections of karachi and other major cities. and dont tell me uve never seen women wearing shuttlecock burqas begging either.
pathan men dont beg much...they usually get their women and children to do it for them.

the biggest concentration of beggars in pakistan is afghani/pushtoons., who are spread across the country. Otherwise, local beggars beg locally.

I don't know the names of the new Indian states. They seem to have divided and multiplied like amoebas!

But from what I know, and someone may have a totally different experience, most beggars in India are from the central states of India: Jharkand, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar. Even in Punjab, there are people who come from those states for work, some do, some end up begging...especially women with little kids in their arms. Punjab is a flourishing state and one of the largest employers of laborers from the above mentioned states.

I haven't seen a Sikh beg but i have certainly seen many pathans beg, pashtoons included. Afghanistan is littered with beggers of all ethnicities and you can't blame them bcoz of all the wars going on there.

Han Pathan ky beggar bhi dhons or dhamki sy bheek mangty hain:cb: Patta nahi chalta loot rahy hain ya bheek mang rahy hain:D

lol people migrat to far states just for begging, from Jharkand to punjab
Jharkand is more industrialized then punjab due to the naxal it is lacking behind
Jharkand is a eastern state which is near to W Bengal and punjab is on west, and there is 1000 mile distance between them
for Jharkand , calcutta is very near and Punjab don't have any major big cities

:cb: sahi bola aapne

hmmmm well we like to call them pakistanis, but some don't like it.

GS?? dude you go an inch against M kind you get banned!!!!

I have bn insulted twice on face by muhajirs.(love to provide details) Its no secret they think us as dumb ppl.
I blame it on athinic based political moments + fugitive mafia don.

and word m became M not in 1947 , but in post zia-ul-haq era.

Any community deprived of basic needs of living will indulge into this act of begging. It has nothing to do with Color, Race, Religion and Ethnicity. God forbid if some situation arise that we have no money at all, and nothing to eat, than it will be an obvious human act to ask fellow community members to help. Helping fellow needy members of a community is some thing that completes us as a society. For the same reason Islam presents a huge system of charity.

Begging as a business is totally a different issue, and maybe out of scope for this thread.

I think there are people on both sides who insult each others here and in general.

true but there may be then communities who are better off, or who do a better job fo taking care of their ppl who have fallen on hard times.

the thread is not supposed to be a slam on any ethncity at all, just trying to understand the phenomenon of begging..real need based or begging gangs a little better.

i dont disagree with you, my experiences in pakistan have been very limited in recent years..err decades :) i noted my observation which could have been incorrect and from what you are stating, it appears to be just that, erroneous or incomplete

I knew I was going to mess up with the new states. :smack: I was talking about MP, Bihar, etc. from which we do see laborers in Punjab. I thought Jharkand was one of the new states formed from the central states. Sorry!!!

you already messed up the new states :blush:
Jharkand formed from Bihar
Chattisgarh formed from MP
Uttaranchal formed from UP

still chances are there for new states
like UP still divided to poorvanchal,Bundelkhand,
Vindhyachal from maharastra
gurkhaland (Dargeling hill state) from W Bengal
Telengana(former Hyderabad State) from Andhra Pradesh
I don’t know how kids gonna remember all names and their capitals and CM’s and minister, going to be a tough job for them

seems you watch lot of hindi movies :blush:
its ok with other beggers, i’m scared of hijra beggers, especially when your train cross maharastra (don’t know why there are lot of hijras only in mumbai and maharastra and don’t find them else where)
they will tap on your … and wake you up and ask for money and if you say no, then they will call all their fellow hijras and says dekho yeh hero ke pass paisa nahi hai, and everyone gather there and bahut sara galiyon dekhe jaate hain, and everyone pinch you on your face, body
and you can’t do anything

May Allah :swt: protect every Muslim from begging for anything, Ameen…

For that there is Zakaat or Sadaqa…

add the demand for separate states for the Coch Behari Rajbongchis and the Bodos and the Dimasas and…
i had a real bad time remembering the state names already when Chattisgarh, Jharkhand and Uttaaranchal were formed. uff, kya afad.

yupe the Hijras are real pain in the a**.
nope, i think every big Indian City has itz share of hijras, though yeah, Mumbaikar Hijras are the biggest such group..AND the most raunchiest and rudest too! they are like everywhere! on the local trains,marina beach,all the market place etc.
and they are always with this huge toli of fellow hijras..more like a she-male gangster gang.

Nice topic … Anyhow, here is a multimillionaire from Swat with 4 kothi (Bungalow) and plenty of lands in Swat … sign of good earnings on the roads of Karachi :slight_smile:

What is that supposed to mean??
My home town is FSD , but guess what I don't "own" it.
I just live there like any one else.