Re: Ethnic divide creates ripples among Pakistani community
Dont have to Punjabify dude, I’m from Haripur Hazara District NWFP…
I wont bother typing in Hindko, I can barely type in english
I dont agree with your opinion, I doubt we would be better of in Afghanistan or India, but you are entitled to your opinion.. I think all any of that would do is create more fitna
If you want to discuss Pakistani failures based on ethnicity this could be a very long discussion, I suggest we absolve all guilt to any group and understand actions are taken by individuals not collective groups…
I dont know what was wrong in all this. I personally know this Afridi, he was a strong Muslim Leagi some time back, he is a patriot, a strong nationalist and above all, a very good human being. He was not comfortable having Pashto function together with other languages, so no problem. After all he has celebrated 14 August and has done nothing wrong.
I dont know why you people are taking it so seriously, has he said something against Pakistan or committed something which may harm the integrity of Pakistan as you all are doing
I haven't come across many pashtuns who harbour ill feelings towards Pakistan or entertain such ideas of 'a greater Pakhtonistan.' People who held this belief in my view were the Afghans who were residing in Pakistan or a 'small minority of Pakhtuns.
There are differences in every country. Why go very far, India our next door neighbor is the perfect example but its just that we have not been able to channelise those difference in a positive manner or engage all the enthinicities constructively.
Its not just the ethinicty, I bet Pakistani's abroad must be having differences over sectarian issues. We have no sense of cohesion or unity and inthis regard, I really admire the Indians and the Iranians.
I apologise if hindkos in this forum are hurt by my post and i know that whole ethnic group cant be blamed by the act of an individual.Ayub Khan was a dictator who not only divided the country but was biast too. Son of Yahya Khan who in an interview told that Ayub khan at the time of 1971 crisis said "KILL THOSE BLOODY BENGALIS'.
The hazara/hindko community can look upto individuals like shahrukh khan and dilip kumar.The families of both these stars left Pakistan before partition and now proudly they proudly call themselves as Indians.If chel chabila babu you are hazara you live in pakistan and you are a pakistani citizen you should be proud to be pakistani.If you dont care for pakistan then get the hell out of here and dont comment to what pakistanis( that include all ethnicities and religions living in pakistan)want .what they dont want.who they want to be with etc etc.
I dont know why Pathans and Afghan supporters conveniently forget that in Afghanistan, fifty percent of the population is non Pashtun and would want nothing to do with the idea of MORE pasthuns joing THEIR country!
It is the opposit, non-pashtuns of Afghanistan are the strongest adocates of getting the Afghan land back east of Durand line. They see their benefits in having access to the sea, that will bring prosperity to the whole afghan nation regardless of their ethnicity. You see non-pashtun of afghanistan are smarter than some Pashtun, that’s why they hate Pakistan from the bottom of their heart because they are aware of Pakistan design for Afganistan. They don’t hate Pashtun, they don’t like those Pashtuns who are knowingly or unkowingly working for Pakistan interest instead of Afghan nation.
Oh please… I met so many non Pashtuns of Afghnaistan that HATE you people and want nothing to do with you. I can have you speak to one personally.. This guy is studying with me and he was fighting for the Northern ALLIANCE AGAINST PASHTUNS…
And its a fact that Pashtuns are WORSE then the Punjabis because the Pathans have been the overlords of Afghanistan for as long as possible. The Pasthuns have always had the most ifluence in the country and they have never been ones share power in any way. WHY do you think the Northern Allaince was made up ENTIRELY of NON PASHTUNS!!!
How in HELL could Non pathans of Afgsanistan possibly WANT MORE OF YOU people to join their country! They arer tired of you as it is.. And they hate you for the same reason that they have always hated your people and the same reason that you hate Pakistan and Punjabis.. Because you people with you overwhelming majority have dominated their country…
Wake up and smell the coffee..
No one wants you people.
Afghanistan IS NOT YOUR COUNTRY…
NOT EVEN YOUR OWN PASTHUNS FROM AFGHANISTAN WANT YOU PEOPLE!
So do the poor nation a favor by not imposing yourselves on them!
And by the way, Pakistans only concern is not being divided, if the AFGHANS can keep their nose out PAKISTAN, WE WONT INVOLE OURSELVS IN THAT GARBAGE OF A COUNTRY..
What I love, is how the PROUD Pakistani Pathans are often so disrespected by the Pathans of Aghanistan, and yet they will simply take it... Some proud nation..
By the way, I found an article that claims that Pathans may be descendants of white Huns who were also the ancestors of the HINDU rajputs.. Just for those who like to trumpet their gene pools…
Its not relevent here, but if anyone to see the article…
The article also says that Pathans may have descended from the same central Asian tribes that were ancestors of the PUNJABI TRIBES… HAAA Put that in your pipe and smoke it Warrior…
ORIGIN AS TRACED BY MODERN SCHOLARS
They are of the view that there might have been some settlements of the Jews in the area in 800 B.C. or so; similarly, some remnants of the Aryans might have been left in the inaccessible mountains in days of yore; and that there did exist some Greek and Iranian colonies here and there. But from 1st century B.C. to 5th century A.D., during a span of 600 years, this area witnessed three immigrations from Central Asia of such gigantic magnitude — those of the Sakas, Kushans, Huns and Gujjars — that everything was swept before them, overwhelmed by them and submerged in them. In short, hardly any previous group whether Aryan, Jewish, Greek or Iranian could retain its identity.
Western scholars, therefore, maintain that an overwhelming majority of the Afghan/Pathan tribes are positively descended from the Sakas, Kushans, Huns and Gujjars. Some of the scholars point out the possibility of the word Abdali being another form of Epthalite by which name the White Huns (the ancestors of Rajputs) were known. Grierson finds a form of Paithan in use in the East Gangetic Valley to denote a Muslim Rajput. Bellew, one of the greatest authorities on Pathans, notes that several characteristics are common to both the Rajputs and Afghans and suggests that Sarban, one of the ancestors of the Afghans, was a corruption of the word Suryabans (solar race) from which many Rajputs claim descent (Bellew: Races of Afghanistan). The great Muslim historian Masudi writes that Qandahar was a separate kingdom with a non-Muslim ruler and states that ‘it is a country of Rajputs’. It would be pertinent to mention here that at the time of Masudi most of the Afghans were concentrated in Qandahar and adjacent areas and had not expanded to the north. Therefore, it is highly significant that Masudi should call Qandahar a Rajput country.
Since the modern state of Afghanistan and the N.W.F.P. province of Pakistan were the main regions through which Central Asian tribes passed and in which they settled down, it is impossible that these areas should have remained uncolonised and the blood of their inhabitants unsullied. Therefore, it can be safely concluded that the present day Afghans/Pathans are mostly, notwithstanding their claims, the descendants of Central Asian tribes of Sakas, Kushans, Huns and Gujjars. It need hardly be pointed out that from them are also descended the major tribes of the Kashmir, Punjab, Sind and Baluchistan.
Just as the present-day Greeks are Slavs and not of the same race as Alexander and Aristotle, so also is the case with the present day Afghans and Pathans. According to the Encyclopaedia of Islam, the theory of the Jewish descent of Afghans is of later origin and may be traced back to Maghzan-e-Afghani compiled for Khan-e-Jehan Lodhi in the reign of Mughal Emperor Jehangir and does not seem to have been recorded before the end of the 16th century A.D. Prior to this period no other book mentions that Afghans are descended from Jewish tribes. The Jewish books also dont mention anywhere that Saul’s son Jeremia had a son named Afghan from whom Afghans claim descent.
Similarly, the story of Qais Abdur Rashid having gone from Afghanistan to Arabia to meet the Prophet and after returning to his country having converted the Afghans to Islam also does not stand the scrutiny of history. Muslim historians Ibn Haukal, Utbi and Alberuni are unanimous in the view that uptill the time of Mahmud Ghaznavi i.e. almost four hundred years after the death of the Prophet, most of the Afghans were still non-Muslims. Mahmud Ghaznavi ‘had to fight against the infidel Afghans in the Sulaiman mountains.’ Even 200 years later in the encounter between Mohammad Ghori and Prithviraj in 1192 A.D., according to Farishta, Hindu/Buddhist/Animist/Pagan/Shamanist/Zoroastrian Afghans were fighting on the side of the Rajput Chief. The fact that the Afghans should have joined the Rajput confederacy of Prithviraj may also indicate some sort of kinship between them.
On this subject the views of the Russian scholar Yu V. Gankovsky are also interesting. He says: "My opinion is that the formation of the union of largely East-Iranian tribes which became the initial ethnic stratum of the Pashtun ethnogenesis dates from the middle of the first millennium AD and is connected with the dissolution of the Epthalite (White Huns) confederacy. In the areas north of the Hindu Kush some of the tribes of this confederacy participated in the formation of the nationalities who inhabit Middle Asia today, and, among other tribes, in the formation of the Turkmen and Uzbek nationalities. This is attested, among other things, in the records of genonimy which indicate that among the Turkmen and Uzbeks (as well as among the Lokai) there occurs the ethnonym Abdal descending from the name of an Epthalite tribal union (Abdals, Abdel). South of the Hindu Kush, another part of the Epthalite tribes lost their privileged status as the military stronghold of the ruling dynasty and was ousted into the thinly peopled areas of the Sulaiman mountains, areas where there were not enough water supplies and grazing grounds. There they became a tribal union which formed the basis of the Pashtun ethnogenesis.
"Of the contribution of the Epthalites (White Huns) to the ethnogenesis of the Pashtuns we find evidence in the ethnonym of the largest of the Pashtun tribe unions, the Abdali (Durrani after 1747) associated with the ethnic name of the Epthalites – Abdal. The Siah-posh, the Kafirs of the Hindu Kush, called all Pashtuns by a general name of Abdal still at sing of the 19th century.
“It is not impossible that certain Kushan-Tokharian elements also took the formation of the Pashtun ethnic community. In this connection it is worthwhile to note the fact cited by G. Morgenstierne: among the Ormuri the Pashtuns are known under the ethnic names ‘kas’ i.e., Kushan. A number of Pakhtun tribes belong to the Ormuri group. They are Afridis, Orakzais, Khattaks, Khugiani, etc.”
This treatise of Prof. Gankovsky forcefully puts forward the view that Afghans-Pakhtuns are the descendants of Epthalite (White Huns) and Kushans.
Pakpatriot1, if you dont mind, may I know the source of your information (50% non Pakhtoons in Afghanistan)?
And Capthaan Sahab dont fire in the air, go get some practice baby
Read the source yourself, I gave you a link... Im only the messenger..
If you can find anything to back up even half the crap you accuse everyone of then well..:) Please be my guest..
Both Pathans and Rajputs are warlike people. Their bravery and sense of honour are legendary. But are they also the same people? At least one person thought so.
A British doctor Henry Walter Bellew (1834-1892) thought in 1864 that most Pakhtun tribal names were actually Rajput names which had undergone changes over time. This actually gave rise to the theory that Hindus had occupied the region called Afghanistan before the ‘foreigners’ took it over.
As civil surgeon in Peshawar Bellew perfected his knowledge of the local languages. He was chief political officer in Kabul during the Second Afghan War. When he retired as India’s surgeon-general he was already an authority on oriental languages.
In a nutshell, Bellew’s thesis is that all Afghan tribal names can be traced to Greek and Rajput names, which posits the further possibility of a great Greek mixing with the ancient border tribes of India. Some of this survives in Punjab’s Jhang district today where local inhabitants are conscious of homophonous similarities between their names and the great Greek tribes.
Bellew looks at the zai and khel suffixes indicating Pakhtun bloodlines. He thinks that zai is from Persian zaadan (to give birth) which is the same as Sanskrit jan; and khel is clearly Sanskrit kul (family). The Hindu name Kuldip means lamp of the family. The Pakhtun use zai and khel interchangeably.
Bellew starts with the mythology of the origin of the Afghans — perhaps the most detailed story given anywhere. Then he goes to the great Greek historian Herodotus when he discusses the Greek-Bactrian tribes North of Afghanistan.
The Lydoi (Greek ‘y’ is actually ‘u’) are the Lodis, Maionoi are the Miyanis, Mysoi are the Afghan tribes taking Musa as prefix, Thynoi and Bithynoi are Tanis and Bitanis, the Karoi are Karo, Ionoi are Yunus, Doroi are Dor, and Aioloi are Ali.
It should be noted that wherever possible the Afghans will try to convert their pagan names to Muslim ones, as Isapzais have become Yusufzais. This also inclines them to trace themselves to Jewish roots. Bellew gives us the other dimension: all these Greek-sounding names are also Rajput, meaning that Greek intermixing was with the Rajput races when they lived in the
region now occupied by the Afghans.
Bellew thinks prefix Suleman is derived from Rajput Solan which is today visible in Solanki. Daud, as it appears in Daudzai and Daudputra among Muslims, is actually Rajput Dadi or Dadika.
Utmankhel or Utmanzai (to which the family of Wali Khan belongs) are mentioned by Herodotus as a Greek tribe Utoi. Utmanzais have sub-tribes like Baddo (Rajput Yaddo, the tribe of Krishna), Ballo is Rajput Bhalla khatri,
Bura is Bora (Vohra) mercantile Rajput, a name taken by Bohras, the Ismailis of Gujrat, Mandal is the Jat tribe Mada, its version Mandanr, live along Jadun or Gadun tribes (of Hazara which is Sanskrit Abhisara), which names are variant of the Jadu Rajput tribe. These are Yadavas of India.
Gaduns established Gajni which is today Ghazni. The Afghan Batanis are ancient Bhattis, the elite of the Rajputs serving at the court as ministers.
Mahmand actually means ‘the great Mand’. They are in Peshawar but their Rajput relatives are now found near Bombay. Pliny calls them Mandriani of Afghanistan; they are the Wends of Austria. A branch of them called the Bai-zai are located in Kohat which was an old Greek city.
The Suri Pakhtun were people brought from Syria by the son of Seleukus who ruled that part of Alexander’s eastern empire. The Afridis are mentioned by Herodotus as Aparytai brought to their present abode by Ghaznavi, but they came from the Afghan province of Maimana.
Similarly, the Orakzai are mentioned by Arrian as Arasakoi, and their rivals Bangash came originally from Ghazni. The Bangash are also called Bangak which relates to Bangat Chohan Rajputs. Their neighbours the Turis are the same as Tiwari Rajputs of India. Thus the story of Pakhtun tribes goes on.
So perhaps Pathans are MORE INDIAN the they want to admit.. And all this time you were looking down on US as Indians!
Chel Chabila baba... Thosi daso, is da keh mathlub hai?