English Medium will make coming generations illiterate

**:hmmm: Interesting theory. Any views for and against are welcomed :slight_smile:

JI terms English medium

LAHORE

Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) chief Syed Munawar Hasan on Friday said the enforcement of English as medium of instruction from class one in Punjab was a great injustice to our children having no parallel in the world.

**Delivering Friday sermon at Mansoora masjid, the JI chief said the provincial government was pushing the coming generations into darkness of illiteracy only to obtain loans from the IMF and other financial institutions.
In most of the countries of the world, education was imparted in mother or national languages, and Hamudur Rehman Commission during Ayub regime had also recommended primary education in Urdu which was not implemented, he said.

Munawar Hasan said the JI had no objection to teaching of English as a subject but its adoption as medium of instruction had created problems for students as well as rural teachers.

He said if the Punjab government did not change its outlook the JI would be forced to launch a mass movement on the issue.

Re: English Medium will make coming generations illiterate

English is necessary today ,but the mother tongue shouldn't take a backseat due to it.

right, but contrary to that people like to admit their children in English medium schools and speak with them in English at home. No exposure to Mother tongue

people give example of japs,russians and germans who used their mother tongue even in technical education and they did great in those fields...

but in indo-pak its compulsory to learn english if you want satisfaction of being fully educated...:D

pehle farsi thi ab english hai...:D

How many medium of instructions used in India besides English?

I read this somewhere , "To take away the culture of a people and enslave them, you first take away their language."

every state language at least in school......

after tenth standard science is taught in english.While upto tenth there are schools which use regional language as medium of schooling

strange enough Jamat e Islami never promoted for Urdu Khutba in Juma prayers :hmmm:

khutba kiss language mai hota hai ?

^Arabic...

BTW kaifa haluka?:D

:alhamd:

Khutba arabic mai hona chahiye kya ?

Why you bolded the background part of the article, to get him bashed by some enlighten moderated people?
The very next line is more valid and argumentative, maybe it didn’t appeal you.

Its in Arabic. People just sit silent lowering their heads without knowing what is being said to them. Khutba is just a formality on Juma and Eid prayers

according to my knowledge ji khutba arabic me hi hona chahiye…

iss per muqawwee bhai hi kuchh roshni daal sakte hain

If someone got point for bashing, he / she will do without seeing bold / unbold part.

PS: The bolded part is itself a bashing of Punjab Government... so if a religious person can bash, he should be ready to get bashed :)

Khutba is khitaab (you are addressing someone), so IMO it should be in language which can be understood by masses. I don't know what is the practice in other non-Arab countries.

I don't know about khutba , so , I won't comment on that.
IMO , there should be a balance between mother tongue and English , but that's no hard and fast rule.

ok, got your intention

what i the medium of instruction in Saudi Arab? Is it English all along or they do use Arabic for medium of instruction as well?

Arabic is the medium of instruction in government schools , but most middle class and above prefer to send their kids to private english medium schools.
Even in the english medium schools , its compulsory for Saudi nationals to learn arabic subjects (quran , hadith , fiqh , lughati etc) .They have these subjects in addition to the other subjects.
In some schools they are also taught mathematics in english along with mathematics in arabic and the same for science.

So they have to study many subjects.