Fum fnay Fto Fay ki FOOK fickal fditti fay…![]()
That's a generalization. I grew up in the middle East where i attended an American school. Hence.....I speak English with an American accent. But growing up,......every weekend........my mom would teach my brother and I how to read and write urdu. My mom got some urdu lesson books from the local Pakistani School and would use them to teach us.
We then moved to the USA. Since I attended an American school in the Middle East.....adjusting to life in the the US was not too hard. And as an adult...I have pride in the fact that not only am I proficient in English......I can also speak, write, and read Urdu as well.
Believe it or not....I have cousins in PAKISTAN who can't even do basic counting in Urdu. And their parents soooo proudly say that "hamaray bachon ko to urdu ki ginti aati hi nahin, woh English main counting kartay hain". They have this kind of attitude** while living in Pakistan**. And MY PARENTS.....living in the US....are so proud that I know basic urdu counting and can also do a bit of urdu time-telling as well. Ironic isn't it?
So........what do you have to say to that Bitter_Reality? You are making a generalization here about desis who were raised in the West. We may not realize it, but sometimes our complaints are a reflection of our subconscious insecurities.
Good Boy! I would raise my kids like your parents raised you. So finally we got a role model boy
Bitter_Reality....why don't you look closely at my nick/screen name: Redvelvet.
It is a rather feminine nick. Very few men would create such a feminine nick.
Therefore, I'm a female.
Putting aside your condescending praise...............pride in culture should be instilled by parents. They play a great role in shaping children's attitudes and idea of self-concept. And if you've managed to find such an inspiring example from my post..............then Shaabash! Very Good! Aisay hi apnay bachon ko paalna!
why are desis born and raised and living in pakistan unable to speak urdu (or whatever their maternal language is ) properly? and instead insist on speaking english..poorly, or mixing english and urdu etc and speaking that yet still poorly.
LOL. I've wondered that myself.
Bitter_Reality....why don't you look closely at my nick/screen name: Redvelvet.
It is a rather feminine nick. Very few men would create such a feminine nick.
Therefore, I'm a female.
Putting aside your condescending praise...............pride in culture should be instilled by parents. They play a great role in shaping children's attitudes and idea of self-concept. And if you've managed to find such an inspiring example from my post..............then Shaabash! Very Good! Aisay hi apnay bachon ko paalna!
Oh ok....so its Ms. Redvelvet. Yes, Parents play a vital role in instigating all good virtues. I have already taught my kid how to say Khay ( The Urdu Letter)
One day I heard my kid saying Karab instead of Kharaab...and I started working on teaching them how to say KHAY KHAAY........the sound should come from the throat.
Any Pakistani who cannnot say Khay is not a Pakistani to me :)
i donot think learning to speak english should equate to forgetting urdu. But as somebody brought it up there are fewer learning opportunities available in our native tongue. That being said quite alot of literature is available in religious affairs in urdu. In that manner only madrassas have progressed in our language. Children and people in living in west need to acquire the language in order to survive here, and why should that be considered bad? Perhaps the bigger worry is why isnt pakistan offering solid foundation in urdu? and before we pick on pakistani average person we need to question why in country that flaunts english as an official language, english isnt introduded in primary years of govt school? it is an uneven system, either remove english as official language or introduce it equally to everyone be they in private sector or govt one. People in pakistan also have to clutch onto english because they are disadavantaged if they are not familiar with the language. You can speak excellent urdu yet be considered backward and somehow unable to do what ever job you are required to do. I went to a private school in pakistan, children hailing from lala musa to lahore and our principle was gung ho about english. Kicked a perfectly awsome maths teacher because he wasnt teaching maths in english never mind the fact that children for once understood and jumped grades in maths. Quite stupid but unfortunately true. Ever try going for a job interview in pakistan, same exercise all over again. The national language should be preserved and advanced in that country not over seas.
I live in the U.K and i dnt agree with ure observation or lack of shall i say
Pakistanis may certainly have an inferiority complex but not south asians in general
The majority of indians i knw are VERY partriotic and have an extreme sense of pride for their origins and culture e.t.c
I dnt knw many turks in the U.K so i cant comment, but most arabs i knw really couldn;t care for their origin especially a few iraqis i knw they way they see it their parents are iraqi but they themselves are born in the U.K they are not iraqi and want nothing to do with arab culture , they include religion in this ![]()
I don’t knw of any pakistani parents abroad that brag about their kids not being able to speak urdu, well for 1 instance because alot of pakistani folk in the U.k dnt spk urdu they speak punjabi so their kids end up speaking. punjabi they understand urdu and can speak it but punjabi is spoken the most
In fact many pakistani parents are relieved if their kids can speak in their mother tongue. Their kids speaking english is a given becos they have grown up in the U.k and they should know how to speak it anyway
The whole being able to speak english is what parents in pakistan may want 2 brag about becos they want to show ppl that their kids are “modern” ( though i dnt get all middle class and upper class kids should know how to they are taught in english at school in pakistan)
So mate u have quite a few misconceptions there!
technically they are considered languages and not dialects ![]()
when you are referring to the language in general without talking specifically about which version e.g. mandarin, hakka, cantonese or the other variants, the term used is chinese. ![]()
Standard Mandarin btw is the official language of China, Taiwan ( ROC actually) and one of the six languages for UN.
Thank you, drive thru ![]()
I was born and brought up in England. We speak Punjabi at home with parents, which I can do so fluently. We hardly speak Urdu at home, however we were taught how to speak, read and write it when we were all kids. Even now as I’m older I can read and write Urdu (it’s just that there are not many opportunities to do this), I can speak Urdu when I need to AND I can understand Urdu properly/fully.
And now, I’ve forgotten what the topic was initially about
Oh well ![]()
I have this question...why desies living abroad mostly settled in UK, USA and Canada etc have this language complex
Most First generation parents brag about their children lack of knowledge of urdu...and are very happy that their children speak ENGLUSH like Goras.
Also, I have seen many second generation kids who have this extreme hate about their origin etc etc.. On the other hand the Arabs and Turk immigrants and their generations are very proud of their culture and language.
Could it be inferiority complex in south asian?
I would appreciate viewer's input
Thanks
True hota hai aisa kuch cases mein. But also at times its very annoying when if you genuinely dont understand some words of urdu you are taken to be someone who is faking it just to look cool. I detest that attitude really because how can you judge a person like without knowing them well enough. NOt everyone is same. Those who know me, know how much i want to learn urdu, the pure urdu. I am so inspired by people like marvi sirmed, faisal qureshi, meher bukhari, etc who happen to have great command over urdu. I am always trying to learn new words in urdu and better my urdu. But it gets very annoying when people who dont even know me well enough (mostly on net ofcourse) would assume i am just saying faking it. Well i don't, i wouldnt because i take immense pride in my mother tounge. Yes my urdu is not great but that is because of a reason i.e i didnt get to study it in my growing up years as i was in canada even then i think i speak normal urdu just fine. And what matters is that i know i am not great at it and i want to learn but often i stop and think before asking someone meaning of something because i think oh they might think i am just saying it to look cool. Firstly i dont know how that is cool in any way?!? lik seriously. And secondly its wrong to make assumptions about people like that esp when yu dont know them well enough.
I know if i dont understand a word in english i would ask its meaning same way i would for a word in urdu. So i think peopel need to respect it.
Re: English Language Accent complex
People in pakistan feel that if your children speak english, they appear more educated and have gone to an expensive private school and have a bright future ahead of them
Dude no one is stopping you from using the real actual words, .. which you used in your bashan (speech)..well some example:
complex = Markab (مرکب) background = Peechey, Pusht (پُشت) nation = mulk, sultanaat (ملک) mix = milna, milana (ملنا) host = mehman, mezbaan, lashkar (میزبان)
...you have to leave this notion behind that you are only full-brain dude here. Get over it.
a couple of points
the complex BR was talking about is a different thing and not like a mixture
nation is more qaum then mulk, country is mulk.
and a host is not mehman..mezban yes
there is a word for background too but i cant recall is, peechay is more akin to "behind"
PS: regarding speech- bhashan is hindi, urdu is taqreer
I am not particularly proud that my kids don’t speak urdu very well
However, they are very aware of their religion and culture and they are familiar with urdu as it is spoken in our home. Hopefully they will learn it better some day.
The second generation kids who have hate is because their parents probably try to teach them about their culture either via Bollywood or via CNN or ARY/GEO. It’s the parents fault if “hate” is cultivated. However, it is also hard to fall in love with a country you don’t live in.
Regarding the accent, kids pick up what is around them, so if you put your schools in a Pakistani school with Pakistani teachers and all Pakistani kids, then chances are they will speak like each other. But that doesn’t happen, does it now?
Also, what is with desis living in Pakistan/India these days who can’t speak urdu properly anymore? Something went wrong all of a sudden, eh eh
and oh, even their accents are like the New Yorkers ![]()
Re: English Language Accent complex
When the europeans moved to Al Andalus to seek out knowledge and to gain social status they learnt Arabic.
When the siraiki farmer's children moved to the city to gain knowledge and social status they learnt sindhi.
When the sindhi and punjabi parents wanted their kids to gain knowledge and social status, they taught them urdu.
Parents now think that they can give their kids knowledge and social status by teaching them only english.
Zamana badalta haiy lekin dunya kay usool nahi.
i agree with maham's post.
as for myself, i'm a "CBCD" and sometimes my mom tells people that my bros are not that fluent in Urdu. She is not trying to brag; she is just stating it as a matter of fact because some people think they're are being rude when they answer queries in English.
I think some newly arrived Pakistanis do tend to look down a lot on their foreign-born counterparts, due to their weaker Urdu skills. i remember one aunty told my mom that "mein to arham se sirf urdu mein baat karti hoon. mein nahi chahti k in ka (my bros) wala haal hojaye.."...anyway that was such a *****y comment...ok now the HILARIOUS thing is that the kid is like 6 years old, and even though the mom only speaks Urdu with him, he replies mostly in English. When he does speak in Urdu, he struggles with some vocab terms....and this is a kid who didn't even know English a year ago.
My point is that a child's brain is very malleable, which is great because they acquire skills at a very accelerated rate, but they lose them just as readily as well. Spending 12 years in a school system will definitely make the school language the primary language, despite any counterefforts.
Speaking urdu everyday at home is good for reinforcing grammar, but the main difficulty is vocab. i can speak perfectly about household matters but if someone asks me to explain math or physics in urdu, i would not have the vocab. also i wouldn't have the ability to write a poem either; these type of skills only come through practice and exposure.
Another thing....in America, they make a huge deal in school about multiculturalism, being tolerant, etc. So if some dorky dude with a huge accent comes to school, ppl will talk slower, listen patiently, offer to be his lab partner, etc. Yeah there's always some jerks who'll make apu jokes but the general thing is to be nice. I've found the same thing of Spanish speakers...I know I make mistakes, but they just smile at me and let me go on.
In Pakistan, it is soo different. my younger brother tried to say something in Urdu and since he couldn't say 'kha' sound they made so much fun of him and started laughing//and this wasn't a one-time thing either. perhaps since Pakistani people have less interaction with different cultures they find errors more amusing. but still, i find it very rude to mock a new language learner. it makes retention of even elementary skills difficult.
i agree with maham's post.
as for myself, i'm a "CBCD" and sometimes my mom tells people that my bros are not that fluent in Urdu. She is not trying to brag; she is just stating it as a matter of fact because some people think they're are being rude when they answer queries in English.
I think some newly arrived Pakistanis do tend to look down a lot on their foreign-born counterparts, due to their weaker Urdu skills. i remember one aunty told my mom that "mein to arham se sirf urdu mein baat karti hoon. mein nahi chahti k in ka (my bros) wala haal hojaye.."...anyway that was such a *****y comment...ok now the HILARIOUS thing is that the kid is like 6 years old, and even though the mom only speaks Urdu with him, he replies mostly in English. When he does speak in Urdu, he struggles with some vocab terms....and this is a kid who didn't even know English a year ago.
My point is that a child's brain is very malleable, which is great because they acquire skills at a very accelerated rate, but they lose them just as readily as well. Spending 12 years in a school system will definitely make the school language the primary language, despite any counterefforts.
Speaking urdu everyday at home is good for reinforcing grammar, but the main difficulty is vocab. i can speak perfectly about household matters but if someone asks me to explain math or physics in urdu, i would not have the vocab. also i wouldn't have the ability to write a poem either; these type of skills only come through practice and exposure.
Another thing....in America, they make a huge deal in school about multiculturalism, being tolerant, etc. So if some dorky dude with a huge accent comes to school, ppl will talk slower, listen patiently, offer to be his lab partner, etc. Yeah there's always some jerks who'll make apu jokes but the general thing is to be nice. I've found the same thing of Spanish speakers...I know I make mistakes, but they just smile at me and let me go on.
In Pakistan, it is soo different. my younger brother tried to say something in Urdu and since he couldn't say 'kha' sound** they made so much fun of him and started laughing//and this wasn't a one-time thing either.** perhaps since Pakistani people have less interaction with different cultures they find errors more amusing. but still, i find it very rude to mock a new language learner. it makes retention of even elementary skills difficult.
People do that to me as well :( Saves me a lot of embarassment if I just reply in English..
a couple of points
there is a word for background too but i cant recall is, peechay is more akin to "behind"
'pasmanzar'?
When the europeans moved to Al Andalus to seek out knowledge and to gain social status they learnt Arabic.
When the siraiki farmer's children moved to the city to gain knowledge and social status they learnt sindhi.
When the sindhi and punjabi parents wanted their kids to gain knowledge and social status, they taught them urdu.
Parents now think that they can give their kids knowledge and social status by teaching them only english.
Zamana badalta haiy lekin dunya kay usool nahi.
sahi farmaya