Engagement Photoshoot - Would you go for it?

Re: Engagement Photoshoot - Would you go for it?

I was against this in the beginning, but now I am toying with the idea of doing it. If we do it, we won’t be touching each other much … lol …
You really put a lot of time and effort into everything, clothes, hair etc … so why not have a few pictures of it as well … but some of the pictures posted are a bit to much!

I’m thinking poses like these

http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/files/66549/2HenaOmairEngagement.jpg

http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/files/66549/10HenaOmairEngagement.jpg
^The left pic

http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/files/66549/11HenaOmairEngagement.jpg
^The right side pic … its kinda cute!

Not these exact poses, but something like them …

This girl is a relative of one of my friends, and Im not surprised at all that she did this. Her family goes OTT for everything.

i just got engaged in pk and we had two photoshoots, i think it really depends on the couple and families if they wana go for it or not.

My best friend's sister just had an engagement photoshoot. That girl ordered a one lakh lehnga for her engagement, had a photoshoot in a western dress a week before her engagement and another one on the day of her engagement in her lehenga. They went all out with a DJ, invitation cards ordered especially from somewhere etc etc. She was happy and at the end of the day that is all that really matters. I just really hope her engagement lasts after all the money/time they spent on it ...

^ why wouldn't it last? jeez. all this negativity with engagements breaking just because of a photo shoot and/or a big party!! come on, ladies, lets not be so pessimistic, eh? think of how much money people spend on weddings! doesn't mean they're going to end up in divorce, right? i don't understand it. sounds a little bit like sour grapes, to be honest...

There is a huge difference between weddings and engagements. An engagement is just a promise to marry ...

engagement doesnot mean nikkah...those pics luks more like wedding photos....i am personally against them if they are being taken before the marriage. doesnot matter whether u LOVE LOVE that person but i think a distance should be created before the marriage. nice and decent mangni pshoot is all fine but that close is a big no.

yes, a piece of paper. that's it. and if you're not committed to one another enough to carry through on an engagement, why bother?

bhai zamana badal giya to kiya deen bhi badal jaye ga kiya?
oper video main jo kuch scene hain woh kissi bhi lihaz say tameez kay dairay main nahi aatay hain.
lihaza tamam logon say darkhuwast hai kay aaisay videos na banwain..
baqi app ki marzi..kiyon app apnay aamal kay khud accountable hain. ham to sirf nasihat kar saktay hain.

i wouldn't have an engagement shoot or even a function cos personally i'd like to save it all for the wedding (i'd just have him slip the ring on in private lol). i know engagements are gaining popularity these days and are being turned into large functions complete with photoshoots etc and tbh if a couple wants to do that then that's up to them. its their life, their money. i don't think it's right to sit here and judge them for it.

when you say couple, what does it mean?
is engagement enough to consider them couple?
gupshup is not a private forum neither facebook profile. yes it is right place to raise responsible voices..
one should know right and wrong.

I think that it's odd when couples have such shoots, especially in our culture. It's just weird, but i assume it's a personal choice. My family would die if they saw a picture of me and my finace looking deeply into each others eyes.
Secondly, when people dress up like semi-brides on their engagement, it takes away from their big days (wedding). I don't know, call me old fashion but I don't want to look anything close to a bride before my actual wedding. Engagement/mehndi should just be very natural looks

and nowwwwww I'm off topic

Lol, yes although it is nice to have some photos, although no-no for inappropriate ones.

However, there is an advantage to it, in that now I know which things don't work so well, not comfortable etc. :)

I dont know where you are from but saying its not in our culture is assuming that people outside PK are following the pakistani culture 100% and I can tell u that it isnt true, most of theese people (myself including ) have been living outside PK for more than 3-4 generations so they have adobted a lot of stuff from the culture of the country they are living in and created a new culture mixing pakistani culture with their new countries culture.

And for u others who talks about islam dont come here and tell me that pakistanis from pakistan are following islamic culture because they arent, as far as I know pakistani are the ONLY country in the muslim world where it is the girl who has to pay for her wedding day and give dowry! Thats what hindu do! U guys adobted the Hindu culture, why dont u guys abolish that, before attacking other for doing something u dont agree with?

I have friends from other muslim countris like turkey and some arabic speaking countries and in their culture it is the Boys family who pays for EVERYTHING not the girl, thats the islamic way to do. if u guys wanna talk about Islam than change ur own culture first and make it more islamic and it start at home.

There is a saying in my country that goes like: Dont trow with stones! if u urself live in a glasshouse (sorry its a bit hard to translate it right to english but u get my meaning).

I am sorry if I offended someone I just get angry when people speak about islam and whats wrong and not right when they dont follow it themself its just sooooo dobbeltstandard! And every educated muslim adult knows whats hallal and haram in islam and we all know that none of us follow Islam as we should do. Everyone follows a part a islam it doesnt make it right but who are we to jugde others when none of us are perfect? Everyone are going to their own graves

and back to the topic taking engagement photo or making movie isnt something new I dont know why u guys make it sounds like it is? When my parents got married they a big engagement party because dad was the first one to get married and they had pictures and a movie too. I will agree on that they werent as forward as couples are now a days but they did hold hand and that was 28 years ago! I think it maybe is a new thing in pakistan thats why people are getting all this crazy about it LOL

Re: Engagement Pics

lols, these must be honeymoon pics not engagement :stuck_out_tongue:

woho. lol i dnt know wat to say :stuck_out_tongue: