Engagement Clothes... UGH!

I don’t know if this belongs in life1, fashion or here so I’m gonna post it here…

Ok so I got my engagement dress yesterday and I LOVE it. I tried it on and its just lovely except for the fact that I’m rethinking the fact that I got a sharara because its too heavy for me to walk in and I want to be comfortable and dance around and stuff. So I asked my mom if I could change the sharara into churidar and she FLIPPED out at me. Apparently I won’t look bridal enough (it’s not my wedding) and other people will wear heavier clothes (doubt it). I’ve watched many videos of girls at their engagements wearing churidar or light sharara/gharara but niether my mom or sister understand this… apparently I won’t look like the bride.. yeah ok. THis is all because my cousin wore a heavy bridal at her engagement… and I’m sorry but she looked stupid.

Does anyone have any pics of something I can fashion the sharara into while keeping the kaam on the bottom? I’m really just frustrated at this point with everyone.

Re: Engagement Clothes... UGH!

Not sure how much time you have but you can turn it the sharara into a shirt. Orrr if that's not an option, you can always reduce the dressiness of your look by decreasing your jewellery and opting for makeup that's more on the natural side...

My suggestion.
Wear what your heart wants!!! ofcourse in line with the occasion..
Its your engagement not your families.. so you should wear something that you are happy with a lot.

I would just do what makes my mom happy. I'll have loads of occasions to be dressed according to my choice but I would value my mom's wishes about my engagement more. For dancing and moving around,you can just lift up and tie a bit higher and enjoy your evening !

are you planning to wear the dupatta on your head ? maybe you can change it to wearing/pin it up on shoulder so it will be still a heavy formal but not totally wedding-looking dress

Re: Engagement Clothes… UGH!

Are you sure you can’t move around in it? If you do like it, I’m sure you can make it work for dancing.

You could also try “bustling” it for dancing. Don’t create an actual bustle, but just use the technique to lift the sharara at the back when you want to dance/move around.

Some examples: How to Bustle a Gown - wikiHow
Steam Ingenious: Tutorial: How to Make a Bustle Skirt from a Window Panel

I agree with your mother. You'll have enough opportunities to wear a churidar the rest of your life, you only get to dress up in a sharara on very few occasions.

Personally, I agree with you..I would prefer a chooridar over a heavy sharara/lehnga for an engagement. I don't like having the same heavy look on all functions (engagement, mehndi, shaadi, valima etc).....

but.....

It's not worth getting in a tiff over if it's that important to you mom. If it makes her happy and keeps the peace, where the sharara.

can you post a pic? :halo: I want to seeeee!!

I'll post pics when I get home. The dupatta is heavy, that's how I wanted it, heavy duptta, heavy shirt and churidar until my sister flipped the switch on me and told me to get sharara and then told me to double the sharara border and now my mom wants to quadruple the border... do you see where I'm going with this? LOL

So I'm going to get churidar made and try it on and see if I can sway them.. if not, I'll wear the sharara for the first half of the night and then go change. It'll be the easiest way to keep the peace.

Catwalk made my clothes and they're sooooooooooooooo pretty. She also made my sister's clothes (the green kareena kapoor suit). I think part of the problem is that the border of work on the green suit is so thick my mom thinks my sister's clothes are heavier than mine... But I don't see it.

Why not change the sharara to the wide-legged trousers/ajaar pyjama style? It’s clearly NOT a sharara, but can be heavily embellished at the bottom. Here’s an example:

And this could be made *with *the existing sharara if it’s already been tailored/embroidered.

Oooh I like the idea of an ajaar!

I personally think a churidaar looks more elegant than an ajaar (and it's more timeless), but it's still a good option.

Here are some pics of the dress:

The dupatta’s been folded twice, it’s pretty heave and long.. lifting the entire dress today was like lifting my 5 pound weights.

This is what my sister’s wearing with a plain dupatta (no work):

I don’t get how they both are saying that the green dress is heavier than mine.

It does look about as heavy as your own dress, if not more, in my opinion. I’d say go with the sharara…although I would have preferred it with no borders myself, but still the whole outfit will just go together very well inshaAllah. And trust me sometimes we feel things won’t look good but in the end they do turn out very good, it’s ok to listen to others too, and not our heart sometimes :slight_smile: If you’re feeling unsure…try on your dress,once with the sharara and once with tights or something else, and make your sister try hers at the same time…that way you can get an idea of how you would look together with your sisters in both the looks, it will either convince you to wear the sharara or convince your mother and sister to let you wear a churidar since they can see it doesn’t look so light with a churidar either.

One option to wearing a churidar and still get a heavier look, is get your sharara made into a churidar style pajama but without the chunats and keep the borders as it is, like this:
http://a248.e.akamai.net/origin-cdn.volusion.com/jtamg.nezgd/v/vspfiles/photos/AQBo002-2.jpg
That way you will have the kaam on the churidar too and you can easily move around in that too :slight_smile:

Oh and your dress is very pretty mashAllah! Love the color combo and the work is super fine! Nice choice and nice work by catwalk. I'm sure you'll look great whatever you opt for in the end :)

This can be another option:
http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/files/62656/1383.jpg

A not-so-wide legged trouser, capri-style but full length

I’m actually debating turning my sharara into these pants:

I think it’ll be easier to move in.

Made this one

Thank you so much dear!

one closeup..