One of my cousin’s best friends was on his Motorbike when a Police man in Pakistan asked him to pull over.
He knew that the Police man is gonna ring him up on some bogus charge with the intention of getting money from him, a bribe, to let him go.
He was poor and had an ailing father which most of his salary was going towards.
He decided to flee. But he was on a 70cc Motorbike and the policeman radio ahead when he ran off and the police gave chase.
After a 30 minute chase, the police caught up to him, by hitting their bike with his. He fell hard on the road and then the police proceeded to give him a through beating.
He had a skull fracture, broken bones, internal bleeding and various other injuries.
Anyone else wanna share their encounter with our “Finest”.
well ALhumdullah i havent (inshaALLAH i wont either) but one of my teacher actually encountered police like dat...but he able to made his getaway since he was becoming a lawyer...irony is, he actually committed 2 crimes, one was speed limit n second was proudly revealed it in front of entire class (instead of being ashamed)
I agree. He shouldn't have run and put his life on risk. Now look what happened, not only he injured himself but he also has to pay more in bribe etc.
In 01 when I went to visit Pakistan, We were going home from Lahore airport (The city I was going to is 2 hours away from Lahore). It must be 1 a.m. Police stopped our car on the check post, searched everyone, when nothing was found, they said the tail lights of the car were too dark (yep, they checked out the darkness at midnight), and that we were too many people. We were 5 people plus the driver. I agree we had one extra person and they could've/should've issued a ticket, but they didn't. You know what they said? you wouldn't believe this........they said "hum subah sey duty par hain, bottle aur chai bhi nahi pee"..........I was gonna ask for the ticket bu my uncle handled it by giving them 100 rupees. They were happy and we were off to home.
hey
i have a funny incident when i’m in college
i got a new bike which is not yet registered and i’m new on riding the bike on Hyderabad roads, so my brother- in-law told me that if anyone caught you tell him that you know Iqbal, saifabad traffic SI,
once i jumped a signal and police caught me and i told him the same, then after seeing his badge i came to know he is Iqbal:cb:
Nothing except for the officers that take a look around in the car when you're entering airport premises. Its really scary actually, because I'm always thinking they'll do something abusive. They typically lay off when they see ladies in the car.
Bunch of idiots.
I wonder if you will have the same opinion if your car was checked in a similar manner here in US.
It is idiotic behaviour of this person and you are blaming police for this ?
The Police was doing its duty, there are hundred of mobile snatcher and robbers roaming around the city on bike. They stop people and body search them and let them go, it doesn’t take more than a minute. and if someone does not stop at thier signal and tries to flee then they have every right to assume that he might be a criminal
Not at all......you have to negociate it...otherwise your dollars minarates are in great danger ....!!!!!! so pass a sweet smile ..if they even make you naked as they made you on J F Canady !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This "BRAVERY" can only be seen on the land of Pakistan !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Exactly..its the fault of that person who run like that…
Moreover …now there are ultra beautiful type Traffic wardens ..young and energetivc ..with black glasses …seems to be more beautiful than any Hooly Wood hero…are on Lahore Roads…and they are very friendly…neither do any challan…and control the traffic…they are also good educated and given Rs. 16,000 per month…so no more that typical police scenario now…
how exactly is his fault when he knew he didn't violate any traffic regulations and these police men chased him down, and then proceeding to beat him up
Not at all......you have to negociate it...otherwise your dollars minarates are in great danger ....!!!!!! so pass a sweet smile ..if they even make you naked as they made you on J F Canady !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This "BRAVERY" can only be seen on the land of Pakistan !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Police with so much power in their hands but little salary become so brutual and corrupt in Pakistan.
Probably this is one the reasons of some of the problems here in Karachi - people in the 70's and 80's were treated by police as such in Karachi and most of these policemen were from Punjab. So people started to blame punjab instead of the police.
But the fact is that the police in anywhere in Pakistan is so much brutual and corrupt as it was in Karachi.
If you employee anyone xyx in police but give them too little salary, you can not expect them to be honest with so much power in their hand.
Not stoping at the signal from police itself is an offense. Not just in pakistan but everywhere.
They (police ) dont get revelation from God if someone is inncoent or criminal. They suspect everyone, and rightly so because crime is so rampant in society.
ps. The guy was talking not about trafic police, becuse they dont chase people in pakistan. He was talking about normal police who stop bikers for body search and for checking papers. They would chase anyone who does not stop at their signal because only criminal flee from them, who have something like weapon or snatched stuff like mobiles etc
It was purely a stupid act.
Exactly..its the fault of that person who run like that.....
Moreover ...now there are ultra beautiful type Traffic wardens ..young and energetivc ..with black glasses ...seems to be more beautiful than any Hooly Wood hero...are on Lahore Roads....and they are very friendly...neither do any challan...and control the traffic...they are also good educated and given Rs. 16,000 per month...so no more that typical police scenario now....:)
Let's see how long will they remain honest! The motor way police was said to be very honest in the beginning and now we are hearing storeis about them as well.
P.S. Can your post a picture of these smarter than holy wood guys!
^ you are hearing stories because people cant stomach thier honesty for that long :p Mostly those People are corrupt themselve dont like honesty much.
They Motorway police is same as it was 10 years ago, they give you respect, help you out and fine you for offense. People make up stories when they get fined for their offense, they just want to cover up some of the embarrasment this way, or vent their anger.
The root cause of all problem with police in pakistan is long, difficult duty hours and insufficeint salary. Blaming them for everything without solving their problems is not justified.
^ you are hearing stories because people cant stomach thier honesty for that long :p Mostly those People are corrupt themselve dont like honesty much.
The root cause of all problem with police in pakistan is long, difficult duty hours and insufficeint salary. Blaming them for everything without solving their problems is not justified.
Yes indeed I've already mentioned this in the thread.
I was surprised last year, the traffice police has gotten somewhat better. Although they still in many cases want you to pay them.
In the first case last year when I had just arrived in Karachi (less than 30 days) I was driving around in Clifton looking for a place I couldn't find, I was bewlidered by the construction near boat basin and a cop saw me talking on the mobile while driving, specially since he saw the look of "lost" on my face. He pulled me over and came and sat inside. He told me that its illegal to use the cell phone and drive. I was already quite dazed so I blurted out that I was from the US. BIG RED!. He immediately told me the laws and starting grinning. Then he asked for my papers and licence. It was a relatives car, so I had no clue of the papers, and then my licence was expired. It was a case of 3 strikes and counting. Finally he said, pay me what ever you have and I will let you go. I tried the "i am new and should be given a warning" bit for atleast 10 minutes with him. Untill it was obvious that Mr. Grin would not let me go. He told me that fine was 500+. The rest of the story is pretty obvious now.
I was very upset and swore I will take the ticket next time no matter what happens.
In teh second case I kept on asking the constable to write me a "Ticket" and yes they are called tickets now, they list out the various violations and fines on them and a list of NCB branches where you can go and pay the chalan or ticket.
Since I was from the US and had an expired Pakistan' licence (yes I was still driving around with it), the cop took my NICOP for ID and said, it would only be returned after I pay the fine. Well Pakistan as it stands, I knew my CIC was already in the process (local urdu card as it is called) so I procrastinated in paying the Rs. 50 fine. Finally I was coming back to the states and the travel agent said that he knew how to get my card back, so he did. I am pretty sure he paid some one to get it back and just adjusted it in the ticket price he charged me. In the end I was saved from paying a bribe myself.
I heard Bombay has given its constables hand held computers now. They can track who was given a ticket before etc.
I wonder when Pakistan will catch up.
Now, here is one from Islamabad.
A world of its own!! It feels like you are not even in Pakistan.
The cops are so nice, you would want to make them your brother. They help you rather than give you a ticket.
I was driving around blue area and a cop approached me near the traffic light. I was thinking (I am in deep poop now), but to my surprise he jsut explained on where to stop the car near the light, and lolz., pointed out the white solid bars on the road where my front wheel should be when I stop near the light (coming from US I felt like kicking my self for not following something as basic) and then he politely walked back to his bike.
2 different Pakistans. 2 different species of Traffice police.