It’s always deplorable and shameful when an embassy is attacked anywhere in the world.
But you have to laugh at the how stupid the guy was who didn’t seem to appreciate that when you light a building on fire, you might want to think about getting out of it!!!
And on a bright note, FINALLY Pakistanis aren’t the only ones who attacked US-branded fast food franchises when angry at the US. The Serbs have sunk to this level of hooliganism too!
A charred body was found in the US embassy in Belgrade yesterday after anti-Kosovo protesters torched an office.
All embassy staff are safe and it is believed that the victim may have been a demonstrator. Rioters set fire to an office in the embassy, which has been empty for weeks, after protesting about Kosovo declaring independence from Serbia.
Masked men broke into the compound and tried to toss furniture out of a office before torching it.
A McDonald’s and the Croatian embassy nearby were also attacked.
Re: Empty US Embassy in Belgrade attacked; one attacker dies
Nice, support independence for the largely Muslim population of Kosovo, (never mind the military support), and have our embassy and some fast food places burned. Wonder if the Muslim world will even notice or care...
your fellow far-right friends from LGF and gatewaypundit are making excuses for the rioters.
Your fellow Islamic Facist friends use retarded women to murder innocent market goers.
What do you think about that, or shall we avoid generalizations, eh?
Although hazara should not use generalizations, and I doubt you are that far-right, OG, those women were not "retarded", as per US statements yesterday.
^^
Weren't the last 2 female suicide bombers developmentally challenged patients at a Baghdad hospital? They had arrested a hospital worker in connection with that attack.
And you know all about me huh?
Generalizations are generally bad. And inbred? We don't marry cousins dude....
I am not even a registered Republican, I am an independent.
But, you're a newbie here, you really know nothing.
Back to the discussion at hand?
I just find it ironic that NATO, the US, the EU step in and protect Muslims, and the Muslim world generates a collective yawn. Now, wealthy Muslim governments were willing to arm the Kosovars, but nobody was willing to go help them. Had it not been for some nice Christian boys, the slaughter would have continued. Now we are still paying dues for helping Muslims, and not one of you can even acknowledge it. Just a funny set of values if you ask me....
Genuinely helping? I think not!
It's more along the lines of poking into Russia's eye because it seems to be getting back up on its feet again. And lets not forget Russia's behaving "badly" by not getting onboard with the plan, instead insisting on helping Iran. (OUCH!!)
The only time USA came to aid muslims was in Bosnia, and that too because the peacekeepers were too afraid to do their job and USA being the leader and all, would have looked pretty bad sitting in the UN preaching humanity.
Why won't USA spread democracy in Egypt? or KSA for that matter? hmmmm....
Because it hurts when you press the right nerve (Oil, etc)
Just a funny set of values if you ask me....
Not really, the Muslim world just doesn't take to kindly to Western intervention, whether its in the Middle East where it hurts Muslims, or in Europe where it hurts Serbian Christians. I think the Muslim world is being pretty consistent in this regard.
You bring up Muslim governments, who can even rely on those for anything these days?
Frankly, I could care less if the Serbians slaughtered all the Kosovars, it shouldn't be America's concern and neither should Israel be a concern either.
Albanians don't need another state and the Balkans don't need further destablization with the creation of Kosovo.
And you know all about me huh?
Generalizations are generally bad. And inbred? We don't marry cousins dude....
I am not even a registered Republican, I am an independent.
But, you're a newbie here, you really know nothing.
Back to the discussion at hand?
I just find it ironic that NATO, the US, the EU step in and protect Muslims, and the Muslim world generates a collective yawn. Now, wealthy Muslim governments were willing to arm the Kosovars, but nobody was willing to go help them. Had it not been for some nice Christian boys, the slaughter would have continued. Now we are still paying dues for helping Muslims, and not one of you can even acknowledge it. Just a funny set of values if you ask me....
Unfortunately, most muslims only care about other muslims when they are attacked either by Israel or USA otherwise they dont because it goes their conventional conspiracy theories
case in point India in Kashmir or Russia in Chechenya
Ummm, If I remember, the US also helped the Kuwaitis. Of course, the rest of the Muslim world hates them because they are rich.
My point is that Muslims are pretty much against any type of intervention. They would rather see a decade or two of slow miserable fighting. Moreover Muslims on Muslim violence is virtually transparent. A Muslim is far more likely to be killed by another Muslim than by a Christian or a Jew. Muslims are far more likely to be killed by an AK-47 (supplied by Russia or China) than by an American weapon or the IDF. But thats OK, because, "thats just the way the Middle East is".
And, even when the US helps Muslims, and in this case supports an independent state that will help protect the Muslims of
Kosovo from further Genocide (my doesn't that sound like the creation of Israel?), Muslims can barely muster a guttural grunt of thanks.
Ummm, If I remember, the US also helped the Kuwaitis.
Yes, we had interests in Kuwait to protect.
My point is that Muslims are pretty much against any type of intervention.
And why shouldn't they be?
They would rather see a decade or two of slow miserable fighting.
The fighting would occur either way, with or without intervention.
Moreover Muslims on Muslim violence is virtually transparent. A Muslim is far more likely to be killed by another Muslim than by a Christian or a Jew. Muslims are far more likely to be killed by an AK-47 (supplied by Russia or China) than by an American weapon or the IDF. But thats OK, because, "thats just the way the Middle East is".
True, all the more reason America should get the hell out of the Middle East and let those idiots kill each other.
And, even when the US helps Muslims, and in this case supports an independent state that will help protect the Muslims of
Kosovo from further Genocide (my doesn't that sound like the creation of Israel?), Muslims can barely muster a guttural grunt of thanks.
Why should they say thanks? Are you also saying that if Israel would not have been created, the Jews would have suffered another genocide in Europe? Are Europeans really that barbaric?
supports an independent state that will help protect the Muslims of
Kosovo from further Genocide (my doesn't that sound like the creation of Israel?), .
Good grief!!!! That's a tenuous link.
The Kosovar Albanians were suffering genocide in Albanian-majority Kosovo from the Serbian government. Therefore, it makes sense to create a country in their own land to protect them.
But the Jews were not suffering genocide in British-mandated Palestine. Why should the country to protect Jews from ever being the victims of Genocide then be created in British-mandated Palestine?
If anything, the Holocause proved the need for a country to protect Europe's Jews. If the need was to create a nation to protect them, a piece of Germany should have been carved out instead.
The Jewish population of Palestine was generally safely protected by His Majesty's forces throughout the Nazi period (bar the odd riot when British police couldn't control things) . They had no need for their own country, they just needed a better funded police force!
ohioguy, do you engage in a lot of hyperbole on a regular basis?
Not a regular basis, I disappear form Gupshup then I come back and stir up a little trouble.
But, if you are not intellectually able to discuss the issues, you are perfectly welcome to ignore me. :)
Without a few white guys here, the average Gupshup conversation looks like this:
Malik: The US sucks.
Muhammed: Yes, the US is the root cause of all evil.
Malik: Israel has no right to exist!
Muhammed: Inshallah, they will be pushed into the sea!
Malik: Did I mention that the US sucks!
Muhammed: Yes bhai, you did, and they do!
ohioguy what makes me laugh is the fact that you assumed i was an "islamic fascist".
do you realize what hell my family and i had to go through while living under the taliban?
Clearly you are not understanding my snarky sarcastic reply. I accused you of being an Islamo-facist after you accused me of being a right-wing LGF supporter. You insult me, I insult you. Get it?