Emphasis on Virginity in some cultures

Bano Qudsia novel ‘Raja Gidh’ is one of the most read books in Urdu.

In this novel she characterised various female characters from different backgrounds.. From housewives of rural Punjab to ultramod elite girls of Gulberg, Lahore (1980s) to a Radio singer (who had a past with red light area). The main male character of the novel intercats and have connections with all these ladies in one way or other. At a stage, her Bhabhi asked him to marry and she convinced him to marry a Baakra (not baakRa in Memon as are the famous Bench hotels in Kharadar, Karachi) girl i.e. a Virgin.

The reason Bhabhi mentions in her words : Baakra (kanwari) laRki apna tan aur mann ek hi waqt main mard per nichhawar karti hai.

Though, religion (Islam) doesn’t put a bar on marrying widows, but in many Muslim countries like sub-continent, marrying a virgin is preferred.

I don’t know, but the concept of Virgin Marry (though has a religious background) may have some links with this mentality, though apparently people in Middle east (Arabs) were not reluctant to marry widows.

How do you see this mentality? Is it prevalent other than South East Asian countries?

re: Emphasis on Virginity in some cultures

Virgin girls are more attractive in the eyes of society. :5:

Maaannnn.. kya yaad dila dya.. I dont think any lavish food street can even match those hotels in kharadar.

Btw, among all the issues in the world, why did you think of virginity? :konfused:

keediinng… u know :slight_smile:

:confused:

They are fresh, and playful… zindagi say bharpoor… an opinion of desi society

Astagfirullah

I don't see reason of your Astagfaar.... What else could be reason of virgin mentality? and why is it limited to female ?

Lmao at waleed's reaction.
@mahool that would really depend on the girl's personality and how comfortable she is with her partner.
@muqawwee123 hasnt this topic been done to death already?

The way you described it

Buri baat bro

what is virginity, intercourse and smoking marijuana, you have to use the definitions given by Bill Clinton to your own advantage.

it depends according to Bill Clinton. :D

Surprised, never heard before about this hotel,

You were confused when I wrote in dhakay chupay alftaz in post number 2.

Sir G... virginity ki sirf aik hi definition hia... Muqawwee nay sab kuch wazah aur monasib alfaz main context bayan kiya hia....

What is the definition given by Bill Clinton? Please educate us.

Clifton, Defense walaon ko kiya pata Kharadar aur uski food street… :snooty:

bhai mein shareef bacha hon :@:

I think it's more about ego or control ("I had her first")..

As you said OP, Islam itself has no issues with men marrying divorcees or widows and when it talks about sex before marriage the words apply to both genders..

because nothing sells like sex and controversy… keeding :smiley:

I’ve explained in detail the factors behind this thread. Bano Qudsia’s novel and its characters. On a side note, the guy in the novel gets married to a Bakra girl from andron e shehr Lahore (Mochi darwaza) and later knew that she was involved with a guy and was pregnant. So he does what Ajay Devgan tried to do in Hum dil de chuke Sanam (Raqeeb ki talash) :cobra:

^Yep both genders. The double standards are disturbing.

OP, I am curious about the book now. May look into it.

I wanted to see whether there is any improvement. j/k

It may have been discussed from different perspective. Here, I want to know if it prevails in some cultures, why its not a big issue in other cultures. Why some cultures are more obsessed with the matter. Psycho analysis of a culture you know.

Do read it. Its not just limited to this issue. There is a long debate on impact of Halal and Haram on human genes with interesting examples in this novel (which is the main theme).

Haven't you heard male Baal Brahmchari in Hindus? Virgins are considered more respected and Pavitar (pure) in many societies.