Emphasis on Virginity in some cultures

re: Emphasis on Virginity in some cultures

Do you live in Karachi? I think those who have aana jaana in Kharadar / Tower areas are aware of these hotels.

Hmm, interesting question OP. In the west, both genders are mocked for being virgins past a certain age but a girl will still be seen as a s.l.u.t or a hoe if she sleeps around....and with the teenager lot...sleeping with just one person can be enough to earn her such labels. I think media plays a role in how society views sex. It is one factor and a I feel it's a big one. Media contributes toward the change in societal trends ...and these trends include attitudes about various issues.

I watched a documentary on the kailaash people and I think in their culture premarital sex is not taboo. However, they lack exposure to the media...which is the factor that I cited above. So, not sure why it's not a bigger deal for this specific group and perhaps other indigenous people. My guess is that people like the Kailaash are very connected to nature and this may include one's own natural instincts and so sex could be seen as something purely natural that is not wrong and therefore should not be restricted. However, it's interesting that menstruation...which is also natural...is viewed by them as something so impure that the women are to be confined to a separate living space during their monthly courses.

unka tu pata nahi magar mein ney wakai pehli baar suna hy..

hosakta hay..yes i live and adhi zindagi guzarny kay baad pata chalay tu surprised hona haq banta hay..

We have many famous celebrities who are more energetic and playful then bachelors :p

Only those who have aana jaana in these hotels knows about these hotels. Innocent people like me don’t know that these types of hotels are in Kharadar/ Tower or in Railway Station Area :sid:

what are inncocent people doing in this thread? :faizy:

Interestingly, such concepts are more part of tribal and settled cultures. Nomads and gypsies have always been relaxed for these matters.

I just got a new thought, people who live in foreign lands show flexible values while living away from their homelands. But they avoid that their flexibility is known back home. This might be wrong and obviously not true for majority, but again in certain cases, restrictions are only followed, when you got a fear of being questioned.

I think you are encouraged in islam to marry younger and virgin girl. There is hadith in bukhari, dont know the exact words but hazrat Muhammad p.b.u.h was encouraging a sahabi to marry a younger and virgin rather than a widow above your age, as young girls are cheerful, playful and full of life. I think war times, necessiates marraige with widows. You can marry a widow if you want to financially support her, thats why i guess four marraiges are allowed in islam. Holy prophet's marraige with hazrat khadija was an exceptional marraige just like ayesha's. The frowning upon second marraige is sub-continental phenomenag

But as far as I know, all of Prophet's wives except Hazrat Ayesha (RA) were widows.

@muqawwee123 none of the wife, widowed or not, was older than holy prophet with 15 years gap. At age 40, you are close to menopause, its not most desirable age, you look for when you are in search of wife. Similarly child marraige of hazrat ayesha was also exceptional.

It was narrated that Jaabir ibn ‘Abd-Allaah (may Allaah be pleased with them both) said: “The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) asked me, ‘Have you got married?’ I said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘A virgin or a previously-married woman?’ I said, ‘A previously-married woman.’ He said, ‘Why not a young girl, whom you could play with and she could play with you?’ I said, ‘I have sisters and I wanted to marry a woman who could gather them together and comb their hair and take care of them.’ He said: ‘You will reach, so when you have arrived (at home), I advise you to associate with your wife (that you may have an intelligent son).’”(Narrated by al-Bukhaari, 1991; Muslim, 715)
you are talking about above hadith, let me tell you onething, everything is exceptional in nabi sallal laho alahe wassalam case, because He is indeed our role model and everything happened with him just to set an example for us..rest marrying virgin is preferable indeed, but if widow or divorcee is better in character then one should prefer her.

ALLAH knows best ****

In the area of Kharadar, Karachi which is like a HQ area of all memon community, there are ton of small chaarpai dining hotels, similar to burns road. The most famous one of them is Baakra hotel. Not sure wut in the world they put in there but the food is amazing. Its a little inside and also at one corner of the city so its not as known as the rest of the city specialities are.

@waleedhbk :hmmm:

Theek hai bhai ap jeet gaye !

Here, no one is winning or losing...Back to topic. What is your take on topic?

@TS Are you 40 year virgin uncle? :hmmm:

so strange

just like high way hotel, habib etc...

Yes but those are bigger once but this being in very compact area, has limited space

Women have been property in a lot of cultures. In Pakistani culture women are considered property too. Islam only comes in when women can be told to stay on the straight and narrow but when it comes time for property, marriage consent kaunsa islam kaisa islam.

Similarly the way men and women are treated for sleeping around is for the same reasons. Even in Western society the standards are surprisingly as judgy for women.

I also knew some brother sister pairs where the girl wouldn't be allowed out at parties much less date but the boy would not only be at the party but dating multiple girls. The hypocrisy is fierce.