EMERGENCY IMPOSED IN PAKISTAN

Re: EMERGENCY IMPOSED IN PAKISTAN

Perveen, do you happen to have any family in Pakistan - particularly in Karachi? I’m sure they are somewhat relieved that the daily threat of bomb blasts has been mitigated, if not eliminated. It is time the Pakistani government reacts to these extremists with the same method they have been using - by force. This may just be a temporary solution, but it is what needed to be done to restore order.

And besides,

http://www.cnn.com/2007/WORLD/asiapcf/11/04/pakistan/index.html#cnnSTCText

[quote=“thatbrownkid”]

Perveen, do you happen to have any family in Pakistan - particularly in Karachi? I’m sure they are somewhat relieved that the daily threat of bomb blasts has been mitigated, if not eliminated. It is time the Pakistani government reacts to these extremists with the same method they have been using - by force. This may just be a temporary solution, but it is what needed to be done to restore order.

And besides,

http://www.cnn.com/2007/WORLD/asiapcf/11/04/pakistan/index.html#cnnSTCText
/quote]

(about the quote there are so many other promises that he did how could we believe in this one…
about taking his uniform off in 2004, he suspended the constitution, and even changed the supreme court system so he could place his own justices in supreme court and do whatever he told them to do

do you have answers for that?)

My perspective is obviously very different from yours. Just consider that what he is doing may seem like he has created a dictatorship, when in fact he is taking action to contain the terrorism in Pakistan that has literally gone out of control.

Drastic times call for drastic measures.

so now if musharaf doesn't finish the emergency tiil nxt year channels will be banned till next year aswell in paksitan?

well, let's see how much the terrorism reduces after the emergency has been completed

the day he will leave the government everything will be all right

That is unlikely. The day he leaves, especially if by force or through death will be great celebration day of "victory" for jihadis where they will use this to expand their control over rest of Pakistan.

Are you refering to MQM supporters and members? I’m pretty sure they must be enjoying the martial law. After all their happiness lies in a 7/24 tense Pakistan. Under these horrific circumstances they must be quite busy re-polishing their AK’s, but not the average Pakistani!

ARY saying people buying satellite dishes to receive the channels. The mentally bankrupt leader and it s govt applying 70's solution to today's problems.

is ARy on air now

ARY And GEO are aired from Dubai and are on air. Aaj was on air yesterday but today its not.

Enough is enough....someone has to put an end to all the lack of democracy and loot which has happened in the past 60 years. It all happened with military supervision. The corrupt politicians, foreign policy mess and everything else we see today is all a result of lack of democracy.

brother tabiat to theek hai :eek:

x-playboy ko bayzat to mut kero :mocking:

ARY and GEO are headquartered outside of Pakistan and there is nuthing the gormint can do to black out their statellite transmission. Ordinary citizen of Pakistan cant be fooled any more by the disinformation spread thru state run channels like PTV. They have access to satellite TV, BBC and other world websites for news and other things and ofcourse access to Gupshup. These have not be blocked by PTCL yet.

^If the internet is not blocked in Pak, then what is the point in blocking all TV channels. Its like like taking away a ladoo from a diabetic but allowing him to eat rasgulla <= Bad analogy, I know.
Or may be the intention is to just block information from computer illiterate people.

Waise, our own (Indian) gormint isn't much smarter either. During the Kargil war, access to Dawn.com was blocked in India and to Orkut.com last year. Not sure what exactly they were trying to achieve. You can always get to the site you want through URL redirection, Google cache or through sites such as anonymizer.com.

well, if you are saying that musharraf is right why he is scared of the media, why he close up all the channels so people can't find out truth, why he is banning all press, where did all freedom of press go?

dunno maybe the gormint is living int he 80s still. people have access to tons of information out there thesedays, from blogs to satellite channels, news websites etc. its no longer the times of zia ul haq

^Yes...Mushy is using 20th century tactics in the 21st century...and they are bound to fail. The world is majorly globalized now.

^^^ and kindly remind me how many normal "awam" go online in Pakistan apart from new young student lot to checkout websites. merely under 5% or less i guess, and these are the people who are least interested in Politics or government.

almost most of the people in Pak rely on TV not even on radio or print media that much.

when emergency is imposed then basic law is suspended! hence this!

He gave media the most freedom out of any ruler in Pakistan's history. FACT.

The media abused it's new found freedom. MY OPINION.

Which has been taken back