Pakistan's Amb. to U.S was on CNN. According to him, this extraordinary measure is taken to get rid of terrorists. This emergency rule is temporary and in future we will see a civilian President Musharraf. He did not give any time table, but insisted that elections will be held and the move is temporary in order to contain and capture militants.
Chalo it should all be ok since Mushrrafs chamcha say so...
and with that starts a new chapter of FREE, FAIR AND IMPARTIAL JUDICIARY in pakistan. well done mushy. now you’ll get all the verdicts in your favor and can kill/kidnap as many innocent civilians as your heart desire. :k:
this is with u.s. approval as cj was hampering gwot.** bb will support this althopugh she will claim otherwise initially**.
Of course BB has to keep the PPP jiyalas happy and will make public statements to please them. But she went to Dubai to receive new orders from her western patrons on how to fit into the Emergency set-up. News now is that she is off to Islamabad to meet "important personalities". I wonder who that could be? :)
All in all , i think this is the right action being taken... Musharraf & current government has to get rid of these extremist terrorists out of Pakistan.
Yep. It was getting just too much that the ex-CJ was releasing terrorists onto the streets, who probably had a hand in the Karachi, Sarghoda and Swat bombings.
for all the pro-mush for life people out there, can you answer one question:
Do you believe, that if the question of Musharraf's presidency was not in the air, and the decision was not in doubt, would emergency have been imposed?
I'd like honest answers, nobody here MATTERS, your opinion is not recorded for posterity, and if you happen to disagree with your lieges, there is a chance that they might not find out. so try to be more than just one dimensional talking points for or against a particular personality, and tell us honestly, whether you think this is about ANYTHING other than Musharraf's desire to remain in power.
i have an insurance policy. day jehadis take over, day i pull my family out. jehadis are menance to humanity and intl community will be justified in acting against pak if pak army does not have the stomach for a fight for which army is handsomely rewarded.
this is what my family has done. my sister is overseas as a student, and its unlikely she will return to pak for a prolonged stay. i myself am older and have left in fear of jehadi types. although i will go back if musharraf can crush the radicals.
taleban rule is human rights disaster. i would rather live under a secular tyrant then islamic law.
Of course BB has to keep the PPP jiyalas happy and will make public statements to please them. But she went to Dubai to receive new orders from her western patrons on how to fit into the Emergency set-up. News now is that she is off to Islamabad to meet "important personalities". I wonder who that could be? :)
No wonder, after her prominent opposing speech on the news channels. He had to stop her. I wonder which anti terror laws he gonna apply on her.
No, he is willing participant in this drama. That also proves that there is never shortages of plastic lotas willing to kiss asses of power that to be. I, for one, will never call this guy CJ nor should any self respecting lawyer. He should be called what he is…a Mushrrafs personal CJ. Lawyers should boycott the courts and should not appear in his court or before him or any judge who took oath under PCO.
most politicians with real chance of getting to power will be secretly happy to see cj put in his place. one reason nawaz acted against cj under his rule because cj was opposing nawaz on terrorism legislation. as for bb, she did not allow mqm karkun to get to court. under her rule, people were shot dead in encounter killings.
also i am not happy that musharraf has gone the emergency rule. problem could have been dealt through legislation if the govt had a bit more foresight. unfortunately, we should not have high expectations from pak politics.
this is what my family has done. my sister is overseas as a student, and its unlikely she will return to pak for a prolonged stay. i myself am older and have left in fear of jehadi types. although i will go back if musharraf can crush the radicals.
taleban rule is human rights disaster. i would rather live under a secular tyrant then islamic law.
You have left Pakistan coz of fear of Jehadi's. You be 1 of billion, who fled to an another country coz extremists and I doubt you fled yesterday evening.
for all the pro-mush for life people out there, can you answer one question:
Do you believe, that if the question of Musharraf's presidency was not in the air, and the decision was not in doubt, would emergency have been imposed?
I'd like honest answers, nobody here MATTERS, your opinion is not recorded for posterity, and if you happen to disagree with your lieges, there is a chance that they might not find out.
this is not a case of supporting musharraf, but of backing the lesser of 2 evils. military junta or molvi junta? only extreme types will prefer molvis.
answer the question, if Musharraf's presidency was not being settled in the courts, do you think the Supreme Court would've been cleansed like that so close to a decision? the main target of this martial law has been the courts.
You have left Pakistan coz of fear of Jehadi's. You be 1 of billion, who fled to an another country coz extremists and I doubt you fled yesterday evening.
the reality being that fear of islamic dictatorship is making any one from a moderate origin uneasy. i have not surrendered my citizenship, if the mullahs are crushed into dust, i will happily take the jet back to pakistan. i am born and raised there, i am loving that land-but cannot stand for islamist takeover, which is approaching reality. this is last chance for pakistan to progress as a modern nation.
no. the biggest THREAT to his FORCED STAY in POWER was from SC. rumors of a anti-mushy-verdict were floating around for weeks but now his action confirms that the rumors were right. SC was ready to give a verdict against him and he obviously was not going to let that happen. so he risked the whole country to save his seat and throne. tells a lot about ones madness.
people expressing sympathy for judges forget that in 1999, cj and some of his current colleagues took oath under the exact same circumstances that exist right now. moreover if the shoe was on the other foot, i.e. if another general had overthrown musharraf, the reaction of awam would be no different. awam realises the reality of pak society and therefore holds no sympathy for any party be it musharraf and his supporters or musharraf's opponent.
as far as the emergency, blame falls on cj. unfortunately the cj forgot how he came to power and started dreaming big dreams. the actions of the supreme court were clearly hampering the government. no court in the world tries the government over a single issue multiple times as the current court has done on the issue of musharraf's verdee.** similarly the court getting involved in hostage negotiation and holding govt culpable for lal masjid and releasing terrorists is clearly putting people's life in jeapordy. if suicide bombings were going on in london, d.c. and ny weekly as has been in the case in pak, you would have state of emergency in the u.k. and the u.s. whats going in pak is not pretty but it is a lot less uglier than suicide bombers operating at will**.
Spot on!
The ex-CJ Iftikhar and all his fellow judges took an oath under the PCO in 2000. Where was the constitution then for them? At least Musharraf has been entirely consistent. They have just been hypocrites many times over.
The e-CJ Iftikhar and some of his colleagues ordered the release of blodd thirsty killers and terrorists, and they should share the blame in all the terrorists attacks that have happened since.