Embarassing Desi Families

I hate going shopping with my ENTIRE family. I don’t mind going with just my mom or my sisters, but like when it’s my whole family (including our cousin who just tags around with us everywhere), it gets chaotic.

So today we went to Sears because my mom needed to look at the washers and dryers and all. Why we took the whole family, I do not know. So we all roll into the store like we own the place (yes, all 8 of us). I go over to the camera section (kodak’s digital video cam sucks, btw). I roam the store for about 10 minutes looking at the movies/CDs and room decorations and everything. All of a sudden, I hear someone giggling extremely loud, and I knew within a second that it was my little brother. I went over to see what was going on, and turns out, my brother and my dad were playing kabaddi right in the middle of the store. :smack: omg I was so embarassed…

Then I ran over and tried getting them to stop and they asked me if I wanted to play. :mad: Then my mom had to come over to stop them… and then Ammi says “Aap bhi bachai bungain hain?!” to my Dad :hehe:.

Yea, anyways I was just wondering if other desi families are just as embarassing as mine…or are we the only brown freaks out there?

Re: Embarassing Desi Families

den y did ya go?

so did u play kabadi or not!! :hehe:

I dunno. Usually, we don’t all go out together but I guess my parents wanted to have a “family outing” ( :yukh: ) and plus my mom wanted everyone’s opinions about the washer/dryer.

Noooo I was too busy being embarassed and trying to get them to stoppp :smack:

its not embarassing phati, its fun!!!

seriously, my brother thinks the same way as u r right now…but think…in our busy days and schedule…how much of a time do we get to have these kind a fun?

when i go to mall wiht my family i always do something…lets say…ridiculous…last time i triggered the excelator stairs alarm!! :hehe:

it was fun b/c everyone in my family thought it was my younger borther…but hey…some time its good to run around like a kid, specially in a MALL!! :smiley:

Yes that’s true I’d rather have a crazy family than a plain boring one. I just wish they wouldn’t play kabaddi right in the middle of the mall. Is that asking too much?

lol and yea once my brother and his friend tied the gate thingy at the top of the “up” escalator so when all the people got to the top they were like squirming around trying to get over the gate thing hahhahaha omg and then more people were coming up and they couldn’t stop. mann that was a while back and i guess it was a terrible thing to do and all…

Why doesn't my dad play kabbaddi with me :( :(:(

yeah it is very embarassing.. especially when i take my mom with me for shopping :crying:j aur when she asks the price aur then say it loudly in the middle of the store “120 bucks for a pant” :smack:
just embrassing everyone looking at us, like why is she suddenly shouting :smack:
but u know now a days i just simply say “mom i am paying so dont worry about it” :smiley:

1 car or 2?

(With a desi family it's entirely plausible that they'll try and fit 8 into one car.... my family once drove all across the United Kingdom with 7 people wedged into a BMW 520 sedan)

:eek:

You pay $120 for a pair of pants? :eek:

How can I make as much money as you :bummer:

my mom would start the bargain from 20$ and gradually work her way up to 40
:S

^ it is just an example :smack:
dont remind me of my pants.. i have a very sad sad story about 90 bucks buffalo pants :crying:
just got it a month ago aur my mom put it in coloured clothing section aur now the poor grey pants are light pink :crying:
i just wore it once.. ONLY ONCE .. aray if i had wore it at least 5 times still i would be fine but LOOK ONLY ONCE :crying:

goshhhhh my sooo beatiful pants :crying:
:crying:
:crying:

for my mom .. shirts shouldnt be more then 20 aur pants no more then 30 dollars :smiley:
but yeah now days iam trying to think like my mom :blush:

my moms kinda the opposite, shes like 'ek baar le lo, mengi le lo,lekin changi le la' whereas i'm like 'HOW much for that?!?!?!??!'

thats what happen na...shez like changi to ley lay...but bargaining daikhney wali hoti hey
waisey I'm surprized...most of the time...she gets the stuff for almost half the price tag!

why you get pissed of because of this little thing...Why is it embarassing you? Shall I give you the answer?

Because other people who see it, say "WTF" or laugh their ass off...In reality/fact, they are jealous that they don´t have such a nice family which even makes a store to their own house...Nothing serious about this one...

frankly..I’d enjoy if my family did this sorta stuff :frowning:

my friend has like 4 sisters and 2 brothers so when they all go to the mall or something their mom is yelling calling their names from miles away and they running around the store with slippers on that make such loud sounds that everyone just has to look and see whats happenin …and at times their mom would be smacking them for doing something stupid…and especially when they try shoes everyone of them has to be trying one and after wearing the biggest heal spotted they just leave it there and yea they have to ask the guy how much it is to like every shoe or clothes… and yea they just have to run to the clearance racks and still end up bargaining…:rolleyes:

can u tell me why would ppl get so jealous about someone shouting at them cause of price :slight_smile: