Elections 2013......shades from the past

In 1977, Zulfikar Ali Bhutto rigged the general elections. His purpose was to gain simple, or absolute majority if possible. His motive was to be able to pass legislation, and to be able to amend the constitution at will so as to make himself unchallengable. We know what happened next.

In 1997, Nawaz Sharif rigged the general elections. His purpose was to gain simple, or absolute majority if possible. His motive was to be able to pass legislation, and to be able to amend the constitution at will so as to make himself unchallengable. We know what happened next.

In 2013, Nawaz Sharif rigged the general elections again. The man who had been urging the public not to vote for an ‘inexperienced’ politician, has unfortunately learned nothing from his own experience. I hope history does not repeat itself.

Re: Elections 2013......shades from the past

It wont!

People vote for NS, but they stand behind IK :D

I personally want PMLN to complete the tenure despite the rigging. I want the election commission to address the electoral complaints.

Providing PMLN with a full term would expose them. If they dont deliver at the end of their term. Their end won't be different as compared to PPP of today.

A very thought provoking post. NS is evil pure and simple. He is only interested in maintains the rule of his dynasty over Pakistan

I can't say If want them to linger for 5 years.
All this goody good pakistan we see is because of IK, once (khuda-na-khawasta) out of the picture.
PMLN PPP is going to be more comfortable playing their usual games.

We should not have such short memory, our people ,at the same time, resent and accept authority of evil.
Once roaring lion(IK) is not in the picture, we are back to square one.

Like in horror movies when sun goes down, zombies rule.

Re: Elections 2013…shades from the past

5 yrs mai pak ka sattyanas ho jayega :hinna:

ali bhai there are almost 5 seats tht were coming our favour,so let them come uss k bad nawazapni hakomat banai, inshahallah awaw khud faisla kary gi aur dhnadli bhi nhi honay de gi, I saw a video , 10 ghantay bad jab log Karachi mei vote dalnay lagay mqm k banday ai, sub log mil gai n sub ne mil kr un ko peta aur bhi army k hawlay kiya, army ne bhi un ki khob pitai ki.

LPyeah zarori han warna hamari awaw nhi sehkay gi agr 20 mei se 15 log shor macha rahy hai aur lar rahy ainda khuch hua tu phr inshahallah puri awaw akhtay ho gi

looks like time is a great healer, slowly its coming down, from clean sweep to 5 seats... lolz
on a serious note, aren't all these things being discussed/ repeated in every single thread?

I too want them to complete their term. But the problem is that they are after absolute control. Remember, Nawaz Sharif used to cry in all his jalsas not to split the mandate. He wanted majority by hook or by crook, and that attitude comes back to bite you sooner or later. So I hope he doesnt step on any toes.

Same thing will happen to NS

yes, but moving on is not that easy. :cb:

*running out of the thread *

Moving on from what? At least 30-40 seats in Punjab were rigged away from PTI, another 10 from PPP. At least 5 seats were rigged away from PTI in Karachi.

I accept that PML-N would still be the leading party. But without these rigged seats, they would not have gotten the simple majority they have now. and THAT is exactly what they were after. And you know what absolute power does…

30-40 seats only in Punjab? but IK asked for re-counting (note, recounting, not re-polling) in total 25 (or 26) constituencies, that includes the biggest chunk in Karachi, who is blowing things out of proportion (or hiding facts in contrary) you or Imran? both cannot be true at the same time

about your last sentence in bold, i think you are referring to the phrase "Power corrupts, **absolute power* corrupts absolutely*" but wait, wasn't PTI Tsunami aimed at absolute power and clean sweep? or this phrase is only true for non-Tsunamians? like lota is one who joins any party except PTI : p

common now, PTI officials need to look into this, soo much exaggeration, fake "tweets", fake news, allegations, name calling, famous-postal-ballot-results, even doctored articles (remember Javed Ch. tonight caught hamid khan pants down with this one, and he had no answer except saying that we dont know about any such article aur agar kisi nay kiya hoga to ye uska zaati kaam hoga, but the fact is, it was posted on PTI facebook page and forwarded/ shared/ spread on internet by PTI fans) whats all this is for? have no clue?

i will tell you, poor attempts at face saving, trying to hide behind such claims, justifying the defeat, and absurdity of very tall claims. PTI got a chance they were looking for, in KPK, the very people IK was most worried about. PTI got two options, 1) Perform and rule the country next time. 2) keep crying, mourning, exaggerating things, and you will go nowhere. first line of action is good for both Pakistan and PTI, 2nd leads to a dead end

Its funny how a veritably rigged election is being hailed as a success, and how people are just expected to 'be a sportsman' and accept the results. So all the people who were forced out of the election dont have a voice any more? This is supposed to be democracy?

As for absolute power, if it is achieved through fair elections, it does not corrupt, as you have the backing and support of the majority. But if you achieve if through force, corruption, theft or other illegal means, then it corrupts. Big difference.

Imran asked for a recount on 25 or so constituencies. I disagree with him on that. Why? because a recount will be useless, as the integrity of the ballot boxes has already been compromised.......voters have been kept away.......votes have been changed.........bat votes have been specifically picked out of boxes and destroyed. So a recount will be useless.

Until we get out of this mentality of 'moving on' from every crime, things will not change. Accountability has to start somewhere. If it doesnt start now, then it wont start in the next elections either. It will be the same PML-N in charge, same patwaris...same old story.

Was bhutto's power in 1970 through corrupt elections in west Pakistan?

I think 1970a elections were by and far transparent.

Didn't absolute power corrupted Bhutto?

It did, and so did it to Nawaz in 97. End results were the same in both cases.