Election Results for the National Assembly

Re: Election Results for the National Assembly

I am watching the results on Geo News channel right now. Looking at the number of votes being obtained by candidates, I am curious what is the percentage of people voting. Usually about 30-40% people vote in Pak elections... is their any trend/info/rumor/news as to the turn-out?

According to Geo News, so far for National Assembly

PML-N: 3
PPP: 3
PML-1: 1
ANP: 1
MMA: 0

In Punjab Assembly
PML-N: 9
PML-Q: 5
PPP: 3

No matter what happens from this point on. Pakistani people have proven that they are democratic and fully capable of making choices if given the chance. This day join me to hail the people of Pakistan.
PAKISTAN ZINDABAD
PEOPLE OF PAKISTAN ZINDABAD
We will over come everything and continue to move forward. Insha Allah!!!!

President Musharraf casts vote, pledges harmony ISLAMABAD, Feb 18 (AFP): President Musharraf cast his ballot Monday in the parliamentary elections and vowed to work in “harmony” with whoever wins the polls, presidential spokesman Major General Rashid Qureshi said. Musharraf voted in the city of Rawalpindi, Qureshi said. “The president has cast his vote. He has congratulated the election commission and the people of Pakistan,” Qureshi told AFP. “He said that whosoever wins the polls, as president of Pakistan he will function in a totally harmonious manner,” he added. (First Posted @ 13:25 PST, Updated @ 14:35 PST

http://dawn.com/events/election08/election08.htm

Lolz… he has changed his statement :smiley:

i got this from an orkut community - can someone confirm if this is true?

12:30 News Bulletin

PF-18 Charsadda-II Barrister Arshad Abdullah (ANP) (9301)
PF-19 Shakeel Khan (ANP) ()
PF-20 Charsadda-IV Aftab Sherpao (PPP-S) (5340)
PF-22 Maqsood Akhtar Khan (ANP) (3600)
PF-23 Mardan-I Ameer haidar khan (ANP)
PF-24 Mardan-II Ahmad Khan Bahadar (ANP)
PF-25 Mardan-III mujahid khan (PPP)
PF-27 Mardan- Rahim Dad Khan (PPP) (9400)
PF-32 Swabi Javed Khan (IND) (4200)
PF-33 Swabi: Mukhtiar Khan (ANP)
PF-35 Swabi: Irfan Sikandar (ANP)
PF-70 Zia Akram Durrani (JUI)
PF-77 Bunir-I Sardar Husain (ANP) (1600)
PF-78 Bunir-II Qaiser Wali Khan (ANP) (2000)
PF-79 Bunir-III Syed Rahim Khan.(ANP) (800)
PF-80 Swat-I Wajid Ali Khan () ()
PF-82 Swat-III Waqar Ahmad (ANP) (6496)
PF-83 Swat-IV Shamsher Ali (ANP) (5340)
PF-84 Swat-V Mohammad Ayub Khan (ANP) (7214)
PF-86 Swat-VII Dr Haider Ali (ANP) (8344)
PF-95 Dir Payeen-II Hidayatullah (ANP)
PF-99 Malakand Humayon Khan (PPP) (6599)

NA-5 Nowshera-I Mian Yahya Shah Kakakhel (PML-Q)
NA-7 Asfandyar Wali Khan (ANP)
NA-8 Charsadda-II Sherpao
NA-9 MARDAN-I Haji Khanzada khan (PPP)
NA-12 Swabi M-Usman (IND) / Asfandiyar Wali Khan (Not clear)
NA-33 Dir Najmud Din (PPP)
NA-35 Malakand
NA-40 Waziristan Aurengzeb (IND)
NA-43 Tribal Area-VIII (Nawagi, Bajour Agency): Shaukatullah (IND)
NA-55 ????-? Makhdoom javed Hashmi (PML-N)
NA-56 ????-? Hanif Abbasi (PML-N) (100% Result)

awww maaaaaan :frowning:

The “Father of Democracy” lying…i can’t believe my eyes and/or ears :no:

Now i’ll wait for the “wise and willing” to come explain, or rather tell us what Musharraf “meant” to say. hehehe :CareBear:

The generalimpression is of similar turn out but it can only be confirmed in next couple of days. It will be quite an achievement if thats true because of lack of enthusiasm, security threats and all.

Lol... Mushy also said that he will now act as a fatherly figure for the new PM :D

Well whatever happens from now, we can see that elections were free and fair. Quite an achivement for mush.

Does Amin Fahim agree to being adopted? :D

And if they hadn't been.....who would it have hurt the most?

Think financially....think Democrats and EU :D

Mashallah…:jhanda:
“Jo bhi PM banta hai me usse khush ho”, says Musharraf.
Bachoo tumara time over.

But there has been no strong Army presence around the town. Can you confirm my assumption to be true?

I'm relieved by the results so far. Part of me was afraid that the lack of exit polls meant the government would be rigging a massive victory for itself.

But what seems to be coming out suggests that the votes so far haven't been rigged. Emphasis is on "so far", though.

And hopefully be kicked in the @$$ too :blush:

Lahore is generally a 'safer' place as compared to other parts of the country and there were quite a few soldiers specially in karachi and rawalpindi/ islamabad (even there results are upsets) so... didnt matter where was army deployed and where was it not.

Baluchistan Assembly so far
PMLQ 5
PPP 2
ANP 1
MMA 1
MQM 0
PLMN 0

PMLQ leading :emmy:

So much for ‘no vote rigging’.

without any manipulation, Q league would not get a single seat in Balochistan

God Bless the 'Free and Fair' Elections. :D

And why is that? Most of the sardars are Q members.