Eidi

Re: Eidi

In my household, the eidi from the susral comes two three days before the actual eid so i can wear the eidi etc on eid day.

well I got a beautiful heavy embroiderd blue suit, choriyan, mehndi and cash :wub:

i got diamond drop earrings from my husband! woo hoo! :)
(he gave me diamond studs on our first Eid together)

i'll get christmas pressies from the inlaws, no Eidi.

A suit (un-stitched), mehndi, choriyan for me, my sis's and my cousins, chocolates, and a FULL dumba.

ooooo lovely!

Umm....okaaaay...

For real, the question was about what we got, not what we gave. I give my husband and inlaws gifts all the time, irrespective of whether I am getting something. And what I get -whatever I get- I never expect it from their "duty" or "obligation" to shower me with gifts to satisty me, rather a generous and sincere sign of their love and care. Thats what a gift it, not something to turn nasty over like you are

my FIL gave mme 50,000Rs n 10,000 for my son.
my MIL gave me 10,000 RS for me n 5,000 Rs for son.

as eidi from hubby ...shopping in Dubai....

sweet Fazeelat!

alhamdullilah

I was bored and felt like it!:silly:

oh go on with your post everyone!

Lemme start, my in-laws do not give me anything, and I do the same. However, there are plenty of salaam / duaas… and I like it that way.

(I never questioned myself why they never gave me anything, or why I do not give them - it’s just been that way from the beginning and I like it that way… mostly because let’s say even if we exchange gifts then - there would be a materialistic feel to it - then I would have to worry about how much $$ she spent on me and how much I $hould give in return and all that. It just takes away from the sincerity of observing an occasion).

On bakra eid, there is no exchanging of gifts in my family but on meethi eid, we exchange gifts/money. And I usually do not give gifts to anyone cuz we have a tradition of the younger people receving gifts from the elders and the only person younger than me is my sister who i do give money to and my brother who doesnt accept money from me. but this meethi eid was my first eid being married so we (husband and i) gave money to my younger sister and his younger sister. and i received cash from everyone.

^ see we can get along!

We do the same! Oh my you could be one of our long distant relative. lol

^somehow i seriously doubt that. i dont know anyone in nj.

^That could be good news.:balley:

I’ll drink to that! :drinking:

poor me :(

not had a single thing

^ as Eidi...?

ya.. eidi kuch bhi nahi thi,,, infact my parents visited thm for his ring ceremony ths sunday (after eid) so no eidi ..... js a fone call ;)

vanii, its ok, not everyone gets eidi and thats normal too. You are only seeing responses from people who recieved it. I am sure there are many others who didnt. I didnt get any eidi from anyone at all and its ok because its bari eid. Never got anything from anyone when i was engaged either.

We don't do Eidi from in laws - our kids just get it from both sides

don't worry, many ppl don't give or take Eidi's on the bari Eid... May b u'll get it on choti Eid , InshAllah.. phone call ki tou kya baat hai.. ;)