Re: eid prep- taking days off
ha, omigod, PCG did you hear that what Aliyish said?
ahaan, kehne do?
Why are you surprised that an insensitive classless statement is coming from a Pakistani?
ha, omigod, PCG did you hear that what Aliyish said?
ahaan, kehne do?
Why are you surprised that an insensitive classless statement is coming from a Pakistani?
^^ what about making sick calls ?
ahaan, kehne do?
Bibi didnt ya come from same yoke !
^^ what about making sick calls ?
Aliyish bhai jaan, did you read the message on the computer section?
Eid is dafa Friday ya Saturday ki ho gi, IA.
Danda wala , Lalay , insallah i will off for the whole last asshraa of ramadan , just taken my two weeks holidays in ramadan, ek orr week rah jay gaa ! november mein sochongaa , what should i do , coz accordin to my contract i aint allowed to take holidays from 15th dec to 15th Jan , all bloody goras go for their xmas stuff !
Like I said, it depends on what you do and your personal choice. If I take a sick day, it makes no difference. I need to make up those hours I have to work and the material I need to learn for that day on some other day. Since when I'm not studying or working, I am sleeping, its sorta hard to make up what I'd have to make up on another day. Therefore, last two eids this past year, I didn't take off.
And then when I weigh it against what I WOULD do if I were to take the time off, it wouldn't make it worthwhile. The namaz I can go to and then go back to work. There's nothing else that we do the rest of the day. In the evening, there is usually some party or the other - and I don't mind missing out on those events because I'd rather spend my time with my colleagues who I have more fun with than a bunch of hollow desis who I can't hold an ounce of conversation with anyway. Then to sit there and witness their lavish parties and lifestyles and their hypocrisy...that's surely no way to spend Eid.
ahaan, kehne do?
Yep, leave it to an american to generalize and stereotype.
I think that's my Pakistani-ness coming out, Chee.
Which makes your statement not only a generalization but also classless and insensitive. You really have the best of both worlds, congratulations.
killed by her own bullet :) che che che
Danda wala , Lalay , insallah i will off for the whole last asshraa of ramadan , just taken my two weeks holidays in ramadan, ek orr week rah jay gaa ! november mein sochongaa , what should i do , coz accordin to my contract i aint allowed to take holidays from 15th dec to 15th Jan , all bloody goras go for their xmas stuff !
But still you'll be able to have couple of weeks off for the Eid. What else do you need?
I'll most probably need to change my job and want to spare my vacations for the last month on this job to better prepare for the next job, and hence no chance for taking a week off during Eid, :(
Chee, I will always speak against Pakistanis as long as Pakistanis keep behaving the way they do. Call it classless or not. Its speaking the facts. Acha nahi lagta hai, then don't read what I write. :)
Meanwhile, ali-yash whatever tells me I work in a grocery store, and that's not insensitive?
That's enough said. I think anyone sensible can see who is really insentivie and uncultured here.
Chee, I will always speak against Pakistanis as long as Pakistanis keep behaving the way they do. Call it classless or not. Its speaking the facts. Acha nahi lagta hai, then don't read what I write. :)
Meanwhile, ali-yash whatever tells me I work in a grocery store, and that's not insensitive?
That's enough said. I think anyone sensible can see who is really insentivie and uncultured here.
There was a whole thread yesterday about Desis pretending what they are not.
You call yourself whatever you want to. Try whichever way you want to act or dress yourself.
Reality is bitter.
You ARE a Paki!
PCG , well it was just a jest , as i mentioned it in the one of posts later , check it out !
Aloof, feelingless, hard-boiled , heartless, imperceptive, incurious and stony people are the ones who make thread abusing some one on God given deficiency and defect .
So back to eid prep. We all plan ahead for vacation days at work. Most desis dont really have any specific vacation plans but they still are forced to take time off otherwise those vacation days get wasted. I assuming most working people get 2-3 weeks vacation time per year.
People have their reasons for not celebrating eid. Thats their personal opinion and judgement. But for those of you who have the least amount of respect for any of the two eids, why not get 3 days off in advance for each eids. Thats just about 1 week out of your 2-3 weeks vacation time. That way there is no uncertainty as to when the eid might fall or not and no last minute plan changes. You can also use the extra time off to get in touch with your less kept in touch with friends and relatives.
If your employer is understanding enough to give you a last minute religious holiday then more power to you. What i am against is the calling in sick at the last minute. Many employers find out the next day that its a muslim festival and surprisingly all their muslim employees fell sick that day. That does not leave a very good impression of our community.
alright Pcg and everone else, enough.
iit is my fault that i had said that. perhaps Aliyish did not mean that at all and in my inadverdent pointing that out, you believed it.
i will appreciate that you stop insulting fellow citizens and other people will also stop going back and forth into a begrudging agrument string.
remember you had posted in my thread that desis talk about this or that.
i did not say anything to you directly and angrily as a response then.
the reason should be evident.
everytime we at GS speak, any one of us, hope and social goal can be healthy
- learning what others have to say in relation to an expressed concern, through mannerful and polite interaction, even when difference of opinion or knowledge is there.
please dont personalize any of it so that all of us can remain good to each other.
i wish you the best,
Dushwari
Chee, again, I must remind you that not everyone who doesn't take time off for Eid is showing a lack of respect for Eid. Some people's careers and schedules simply do not allow them to. I'd leave that to God to decide whether they're respecting Islam or not, as we all know how you're really not God at all.
But then when you've eaten too much beef on your Eid dinner and you land yourself with a heart attack in the ER one day in the future, I do pray that you get a muslim doctor who chose not to take off for the holiday. A bloody good one too. I wouldn't want precious souls like you to die off that easily.
Rightly said cheegum , Ramadan and Eid are the only Occasions when I truly miss Pakistan
its very sudden to say about ma future plans. but i think i dont have any plan to take a day or two off.
well in any case. MAY ALLAH SWT give us tufeek to pray well during the holy month of Ramadan n then enjoy eid according to what we deserve for actions we do during our fasting. :)
Last year was the first time EVER that i had to go to college on Eid... i had a small assignment due for my economics class, and a midterm in my english class... and ironically enough, my english teacher let me hand in the exam (it was a paper anyways) two days later, whereas my econ professor wouldn't even let me email the assignment...so i had no choice but to go and hand it in. This year i spoke to my professors b/c most of my course syllabuses (sp?) don't have exact dates for any assignments or exams, and they were pretty understanding and accomodating