Eid — a three-way split

Eid — a three-way split(Dawn- 25/10/06)

ADHOCISM has been our national trait and it can often lead to confusing situations of the kind we are witnessing this Eid. The festival is being celebrated on three different days by people in various regions of the country. Instead of uniting the nation, Eid this year has divided it because of our holding fast to the orthodox method of moon-sighting. The lunar month is to begin only after the heralding new moon has been sighted with naked eyes. To give the process some credibility, the government sets up Ruet-i-Hilal committees that go through the exercise of ‘sighting’, collecting information, etc, before making a formal announcement. This, however, does not always reflect a national consensus and this year too the Peshawar committee declared Eid to be on Monday while the rest of the country celebrates it today, with some areas opting for Tuesday.

Do we have to live through this confusion and uncertainty every year? On Sunday the dilemma was plain. The Met Office issued a press release suggesting that astronomical calculations indicated that the new moon would be visible on Monday in the coastal areas for a short spell. But cloudy weather affected visibility and the Ruet’s chairman declared Wednesday to be Eid day. Such are the uncertainties of the lunar calendar. But it is difficult to understand why science cannot be combined with religion. When there are astronomical methods to calculate the appearance of the new moon — this can be done for years in advance with absolute accuracy — why can’t we use them for determining the start of every lunar month and avoid the confusion and split verdict that often grips the nation, especially in the case of Ramazan and Eidul Fitr?

Re: Eid — a three-way split

Man,
I was so jubilant when I read in Jang Newspaper that one of our fellow brother from Pakistan has submitted a case in the Pak Sup. Ct regarding this matter. I'm so much offended by this idiotness of our molvis and stupidity of people in NWFP. I live here in USA and I mean it's the epitome of ridiculousness to hear that there are 3 Eids being celebrated in Pak.

I mean what's the purpose of the Rowet-e-Hilal committee? What the hell is our provincial or fed. govt doing to enforce their decisions. I mean, in NWFP, they see the moon a day earlier as far as I can remember since I was little. I mean, they do it everytime. Man, I wonder there are 2 moons emerging in Pak. One comes esp. for NWFP and the other for rest of Pak.
In this day of technology, you can go and visit sites like nasa.com,moonsighting.com,isna.net and usnavy.com and they will have calenders for the next years lunar cycle. I mean how stupid can we be????
Can we not use technology to aid us in this matter like we do in any other field of life???

Umer

Umar I have to say sorry about you. You are so ignorant, though you pretend yourself to be quite knowledgeable.
Geographically moon is supposed to be sighted earlier in NWFP than Punjab. That's why people of frontier see the moon before the Committee.
Moreover, the present Chairman of RHC, Mufti Munibur Rehman is the idiot and munafiq of highest order. He adamantly refused to accept any witness from NWFP. That was the reason there was some clash between a member of MMA and Munafiur Rehman (Muneeb).
However, I agree RHC should be finished forthwith and Pakistan Met section should be given the task. Or alternatively, Pakistan should observe the Islamic festivals according to Saudia timings.

now that would also mean that prayer times should be according to Saudia timing ???

Khushaal please before saying some one ignorant see the other thread where from the tables generated by Nasa observatory moon could not have been sighted in Peshawar and surrounding areas.

Nokundi in baluchistan is even west than NWFP, why did we not recieve any shahda from there. I am 30 now and like Umer have always been seeing NWFP seeing moon one day before the rest of the country.

This time the moon was not to be visible as far as makkah (see the other thread for details), how can someone see it in NWFP is beyond my comprehension.

Also no personal attacks please, where Umer has pretended to be knowledgeable?

Zero one, same thing was said on the other thread in response to my suggestion of islamic dateline like given by Khushaal above.

Bhai, Prayers are according to sun movement, not moon. however at places where there is erratic sun movement like Poles something like this can be decided, when will Ijtehad help us Muslims?

MKF, you expect me to be polite to a man using this kind of remarks then I am sorry I am not among those.
Now let me tell you my own story. Some time back (cant remember the exact year) while coming from Maghrab prayer, I saw people in my village standing on Railway line watching the moon, I also joined them and saw the moon with my own eyes albeit very blurred. In the night I listen to the news that moon could not be sighted therefore Eid/Ramadan would be observed next day.
Besides, I came to know that Mufti Munafiq (muneebur Rehman) just flatly refuses to accept any witness from NWFP.
If we cant do away with this RHC then at least we can change this Muneeba who has engendered this whole issue.

Relax Khushaal, People on these forums give all kinds of comments, let them be what they are, you should not become a reactive person that if he is good to me i am good to him, if he is bad to me, i am bad to him. In that case i will ask a question that what exactly are you, nothing more than a mirror. no presonality of your own. Let you be the master of yourself, not that your behavior is in control of others.

Whatever Mufti Muneeb had done in past is something else, have you read on the other thread where i gave the moonset and sunset timings for three days and tried to show that this time it was impossible for anyone to see moon on evening of 22nd October. what do you say on that? I believe this time it was not wrong. You seem to be from frontier province, can you tell me that why it happens all the time that you people watch the moon which is not visible in even western part of the countries like Gawadar & Naukandi?

Thanks for the paternal advice.
Yes I am from Frontier and I dont defend what they did this time, I have quoted my personal experience in the past. I am deadly against this damn RHC. I think PM has ordered an inquiry to tri-eid business but I am aware of the result, no one will blame Muneeb saib. They will try to put the entire blame on frontier and get the political gains from it.
If countries in America, Africa and Europe can observe Eid/Ramadan with Saudia Arabia, why cant we? If that is done and again the people from frontier deviate then they deserve to be taken to the task but any step in the presence of existing RHC composition, that would be unjust to the mullahs of frontier.
Believe me I tried but could not find those threads you are talking about. If you can kindly give me a link
As far as Naukandi/dalbandin etc are concern they are the backwaters of our country, no one listen to them and that is the reason that they dont call themselves Pakistanis, they observe everything with Iran and feel more proud to call themselves Irani than Pakistani.

Very sadly Khushal khan! Moon was only sighted in Peahawar on Tuesday evening when people of saddar area welcomed it with firing!

If the moon was sighted on Sunday as claimed by the NWFP Govt, it should have been seen by each and everyone in NWFP on Monday being the 2nd night moon. But this is not the case. But nobody saw it on Monday in NWFP.

See this link! http://www.icoproject.org/icop/shw27.html
What does it say!

People of NWFP should keep one day qaza roza as throughout the world muslims completed 30 days of ramadan but NWFP people kept only 29 rozas.

I think Muneeb has been doing a fine job over the years!

Monday 23 October 2006

Khushaal, see the reposne to other thread on the same issue, Inaccurate decision of INSA .....

I clarify, as i kept on putting latitutes and longitudes of various countries for 22nd of October, moon could not have been sighted as far as USA. Only on the western coast of USA and Hawaii the moon could have sighted

I fully agree that whole world should unite its Islamic Calendar with Saudi Arabia or whatever, unify on one calendar, it is absurd that we are having a difference of three days or two days. If someone travles from Peshawar to Islamabad now will he travel back in time

Think yourself, we are making fun of our own calendar and rendering it impractical for daily use.

Mostar 95, thanx for guiding to a very good sight

This time actually Saudi Arabia started one day earlier otherwise it was impossible to see moon in Saudi Arabia the day a sighting was claimed.

My frontier brother,

I'm not in any way here to offend people from any part of Pak. My whole thing is about using the technology to aid us in getting the accuracy of our lunar calendar, thus bringing the whole sense of unity.

It's a pretty bold statement from you to call Mufti Muneeb-ur-Rehman munafiq. I would really refrain from that word. I can't say about how good of a muslim I'm so I don't know I should agree with you on calling Mufti Muneeb-ur-Rehman munafiq.
Ironically, the Roweet-e-Hilal committee is followed by millions of Pakistanis not only in Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan but also parts of NWFP. My brother, you said that moon is sighted earlier in NWFP because of its location, let me ask you this. CALIFORNIA IS TWO HOURS BEHIND TEXAS, BUT WE DON'T HAVE THAT PROBLEM HERE?? If I take your meaning, that would mean that California should always celebrate Eid a day earlier than Texans!!

I should say that some people(remember not all) have been sighting the moon a day earlier than the mainstream of Pakistan. Any specific reasons for that. I never heard this thing from some in Islamabad or Karachi or even Quetta. Any specific reason for that?

Your whole saying doesn't do any justice about bringing a sense of unity. And yes, once again I'll say, I'm against deeply with the molvis(some, not all) and the mullas of NWFP(some, not all) whom make the Eid and Ramadan a day earlier and people laugh about unity?? Do you have any kind of answer for this early Eid and Ramadan logic?

And yea, I do respect your opinion but I disagree with it.

Umer

These people (Janab Popalzai) from NWFP keep on sleeping when our RHT continues to work throughout the year! They suddenly wake up on 28th of Shahan and decide that they are the best muslims in the world and rest of the people are kafir! The only create problem with the ramadan and shawwal chands rest of the year we do not hear from them.

In 2003, when a row broken out on Ramadan chand! A group of ulema from the same sect as of NWFP govt from Karachi and other parts of the country researched and found the stand of the RHT good and rejected the claims of few of these people from NWFP.

Interestingly our respected Muneeb comes from NWFP itself!

accha, i never knew that mufti muneeb is from NWFP.

Who are these people who give Shadas of Moon sighting, have they ever come up to media scrutiny, because i have heard numerous jokes about it as once after eid some one asked that where did you see the "chand" on roof top or you went to the hill, he replied, "in my room". Asked how come, he replied,"bhai Chand khan ko dekha tha, tumhara bhateeja'. Hadith mein hai Chand dekho, yeh tonahin kahan key Aasman per dekho, Jab bhi chand jo dekh lo, eid ho jayee gee so mein nay chand khan ko dekha aur eid ho gayee".

Why not someone from Frontier province give the details of those persons who gave shahadat of moon, which was refused by Mufti Muneeb.

First of all I never defended the celebration of Eid on Monday by the people of Frontier. So that is not the point of contention.
I highlighted two points
a. Mufti Muneeb (Munafiq) never accepts the shahadat of Pukhtuns including the MPAs of the same province.
b. There is no need of any bloody RHC, we should do away with this system and observe all Islamic festivals with KSA or through scientific means. But no one like to do that as no one is interested in unity then why the people frontier are blamed only.

Very sadly Khushal khan! Moon was only sighted in Peahawar on Tuesday evening when people of saddar area welcomed it with firing!

People of Sadar are from the same breed as that of Mufti (munafiq)

People of NWFP should keep one day qaza roza as throughout the world muslims completed 30 days of ramadan but NWFP people kept only 29 rozas.

They need not to do that, they are the custodian of Jannat, so no problem for them, hahahah

I think Muneeb has been doing a fine job over the years!

It is not only Muneeb (Munafiq) anybody playing with the sentiments of Pukhtun is doing a good job, isnt it?

So it speaks how much you know about frontier, Would you like to tell us something more about this Populzai, You know who are they and where they live?
You are seem to be quite frustrated with the people of Frontier, khair to hai na.
No one has call you kafir, but you are right they are the best Muslims on God's earth, arent they?

It's a pretty bold statement from you to call Mufti Muneeb-ur-Rehman munafiq. I would really refrain from that word. I can't say about how good of a muslim I'm so I don't know I should agree with you on calling Mufti Muneeb-ur-Rehman munafiq.
Ironically, the Roweet-e-Hilal committee is followed by millions of Pakistanis not only in Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan but also parts of NWFP. My brother, you said that moon is sighted earlier in NWFP because of its location, let me ask you this. CALIFORNIA IS TWO HOURS BEHIND TEXAS, BUT WE DON'T HAVE THAT PROBLEM HERE?? If I take your meaning, that would mean that California should always celebrate Eid a day earlier than Texans!!

Umar thanks for a much polited statement this time,
This time Eid was celebrated as under:
a. Monday- All parts of frontier less Hazara
b. Tuesday - Hazara of frontier and most parts of Sindh and Balochistan.
c. Wednesdayl- Entire Punjab, remaining parts of Sindh and Balochistan.
Moreover, there is nothing to call me bold, I have called a Munafiq a "Munafiq" thats all, you can also do that, Allah will never throw you in hell.

hmm the debate turning nasty and spiralling into internecine conflict

I think this thread has been beaten to death, we should close it now.

Moderator, can you have a look please