Egypt – My Travelogue :~)

*Originally posted by phajjaa nanbai: *
oye matbaal yeh hay kay kab aaO gaayyyyyy :smash :

shab-e-tanhaai main jab meri yaad aaye ..
jis shab subah bohot dair talak na aaye ..
samajh lena meri jaan .. ke main aaney wala hoon ;)

and hopefully that loong shub will come rite after Eid vacations :~)

so sit tight and get ready for a Guppy meet in eastern province :~)

or haan aap sey bhi muqa-laat hogi kibla Long Ranger sahib ;)

thanks for the replies Mehroo and GuL-e-Tasbeeh :~)

*Originally posted by Jerablade: *
Awesome!

Great post Naaspeeta..

A quick question:

The hole (picture you posted) ..isn't it -- one of the 5-6 openings of mysterious shafts that lead to the shinning constellation of stars ??
....I have never been to giza or Valley of death...but i do watch discovery channel a lot... biggest fan of Dr. Bob Brier!!

P.S:NP can you post some pictures of eygptians writtings---hieroglyphs..esp engraved on walls??

Thanks JeraBlabe :~)

Dear the hole you are talking abt was found in the Middle Kingdom memorials .. whereas the one I posted is related to just a 2nd grade tomb of 6th Dynasty Old Kingdom .. the concept is almost same but the construction strategy was totally different .. there are soo many stories related to these holes .. that’s why it’s a bit confusing :~)

Btw, I read Bob Brier too .. specially his book “The Egyptian Mummies” helped me a lot when I was walking totally confused in the Egyptian Museum :~)

Ne ways I’ll post those writing as well … just stay tuned :~)

Wow...amazing seems like a very nice place to go to...and thanx for writing out some details aswell. Havn't read everything yet but will do later. My friend went last year...and that was on a cruise...some places do look similar. Anyway great pictures :)

gr8 pikz:k:

awesome pics :k:…was a pleasure to see them…u r a great photographer…i felt like i went there too reading and seeing the pics :slight_smile:
thanx for sharing them :0

OK now lets goto Memphis :~)

Memphis is located twelve miles and a half on the south of Cairo ... It was found in the 4th millennium B.C... by a man named Menes .. a native of Thini .. Memphis was the ancient capital of Egypt ... In Egyptian it was called “Mennophir” … which meant “the good place” .. One of the main attractions here is a huge limestone statue of Ramesses II .. which is over 10 metres high.. even without the lower legs .. (Ramsees II is known to us as “The Feraon who fought against Hazrat Musa aleh Salam” ) … :~)

[thumb=A]DSC00597.JPG[/thumb]

what is often not realized is that … this statue was once one of a pair (the other being of pink Aswan Granite statue ) which once stood in the temple of Ptah. .. The fallen statues were discovered at the end of the 19th Century.. The granite statue was well preserved .. but the limestone one had fallen on its face .. leaving some of the back exposed above ground .. Centuries of wind and water erosion had severely damaged this part of the statue ... The ground under the statue was cleared .. revealing the perfectly preserved statue front ... The statue lay this way for many years … facing the ground .. until a team of British engineers managed to turn it over.

[thumb=A]DSC00598.JPG[/thumb]

These two statues were a great attraction to visitors .. but in the 1950's they were separated… the granite statue was moved into Cairo to the open area in front of the railway station .. which is now known as Ramesses Square …. The limestone statue .. left at Memphis was enclosed in a concrete building to protect it from the elements …. with a viewing areas at ground level and higher … the building has protected the statue well … but it does make if difficult to get a really good view of what is really a most impressive sculpture …:~(

[thumb=A]DSC00599.JPG[/thumb]

wese Shakal sey yeah kitna masoom lagta hey .. par that eik number ka khabees *hoonh

[thumb=A]DSC00601.JPG[/thumb]

This is one of the interesting Statues I saw at Memphis .. zaalimoon ney is bicharey ka sab kuch toor kar .. isko kaheen moonh dikhaney ke kaabil hi nahi chora :~(

[thumb=A]DSC00600.JPG[/thumb]

near the remains of Memphis stands the alabaster sphinx ... the Alabaster Sphinx was carved in honor of an unknown Pharaoh most likely during the 18th dynasty … between 1700 and 1400 BC ... although there was not an inscription … the facial features suggest that it was in honor of Hatshepsut or Amenhotep II or Amenhotep III … btw, amenhotep III is thought to be the builder of the Luxor Temple .. or haan!! this is much smaller than the one in GIZA :~)

[thumb=A]DSC00608.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC00605.JPG[/thumb]

This is another Statue of Ramsees II ..:~)

[thumb=A]DSC00606.JPG[/thumb]

To be Continued … :~)

*Originally posted by NaasPeeta: *
These are some pictures of Saqqara historical findings :~)

[thumb=A]Dsc00568.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]Dsc00565.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]Dsc00569.JPG[/thumb]

This is Mere Ruka Tomb ..Under the half destroyed pyramid of Mere Ruka :~)

[thumb=A]Dsc00572.JPG[/thumb]

OK!! its enough for now .. I'll take you guys inside this tomb and further in my next post ... so stay tuned :~)

To be Continued ........

Naaspetay putter, yaar tu kinna travel karda hai ?? Kaddey tu travel agent tay nahin ?? Aur yaar yeh kown-kown se wierd places jaanda hai tu ? Yaar saadey Punjab ton bhool naa jaaein tay.. cuz East or West Punjab is the best !!!!!!

Beautiful! :k: Loved the second part and the often really funny descriptions! Lolz @ bicharay ko kahin mounh dikhane ke qaabil na chora! :hehe:

Tum cha gae yar.

Tell ya what, you have just sold me a trip to Egypt yar…(i hope i can afford it!) can you tell me what exactly was your per day expense (lodging, travel, accomodation) in terms of US$?

Mashallah , nice pic's :)

Wowwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, :love: cool pics :k::k::k:

as usual, sirf pics daikhein.. parha kuch bhi nahi … :wink: :d:D

exactly wht i did.

mulz : kuchi uncle don't you worry .. main jithey vi jawan rawanga pure punjabi ee .. tey thanks for towadi reply :~)

Khanzada : khan bhai yeah tumhari tasveer ko kiya hogaya hey ??? aisey lag raha hey jese kisi ney zoom inn press kar diya hoo :~)

neways my total expenditures in Egypt for 20 days was not more than 1500$ .. it goes high because I made some mistakes which I'll mention laters in this thread .. so if you exclude them .. than It won't be much .. another thing u shud keep in mind .. is that I was traveling offseason .. and things are cheaper in off seasons :~)

Or haan this idea is only for budget travelers :~) so forget about all luxuries ;~)

Vivacious & Punjabi kuriunparh honey ka yehi nuksaan hota hey ;~)

Thanks Sumi, Jaan Lewaa, Jerzkuri and Dai_sista for peeping inn :~)

Soon I’ll come back with more pictures :~)

These are such beautiful pictures. What work do u do, to travel so much? Lucky :).

yehi to rona hey ke → I don’t do nothing :bummer:

and thanks for the reply :~)

By the Time I came out of Memphis .. it was already 2:00pm and the checkout time at Flamenco Hotel was 3:00pm .. I asked Saed to take me back to the Hotel so I can check for the availability of a room for another two days .. On our way back Saed took me to a Papyrus shop :~)

Now what is papyrus ?? well, Papyrus was the main writing surface used by the Egyptians and it was invented very early on in Egypt's history ... surprisingly some examples of papyrus have survived from the 1st Dynasty (3100-2890 B.C.E.) and it was used continuously until the 11th century C.E. :~) isn’t it interesting ??

Oh yes!! papyrus was also used in the ancient civilizations of Kush, Greece and Rome .. so we can’t call it only Egyptian property :~)

[thumb=A]DSC00613.JPG[/thumb]

When I went inside the shop .. Saed’s Friend the owner of the shop started explaining me how they make papyrus .. and it wasn’t specially for me .. they do it for everyone .. just to give an idea to their customers that how difficult it is to make a papyrus :~)

[thumb=A]DSC00614.JPG[/thumb]

As per the historic books .. Papyrus was made from a reed like plant that grew in the marshes of the river Nile.. the plant grew to a height of about 10 feet .. when harvested .. the hard outer fibers were peeled away and the core was sliced into strips .. the strips were soaked in water ... this removed most of the sugar content ... after soaking .. the strips were pounded and the water drained away ... the strips were then placed side by side .. overlapping slightly .. a second set of strips was then placed at right angles to the first … again overlapping slightly .. they were again pounded and left to dry under a heavy weight ... enough sugar remained in the strips to seal them together :~)
Finally .. the surface was polished to a smooth finish by rubbing with a stone or block of wood … the surface was then ready for writing with paint or ink :~)

[thumb=A]DSC00615.JPG[/thumb]

Well, some of the papyrus art was amazing .. I liked them a lot .. so purchased 3 of them for just 150EP equals to 30$ .. and this was my first shopping in Egypt :~)

To be COntinued ... :~)

thanks once again pita bread uncle for answering all my questions :)

yeah, don't worry about the part where you wrote that you are not sure if people are reading the commentary as well..yes, i am reading and looking at everything. It was funny to read the questions that people asked you.

I loved the part on memphis and ramzes..brought back a lot of memories from five years ago..i am missing my ancient civilizations class..my teacher..and all the students :( it was such a fun class..it was also interesting to learn the meaning of memphis..

keep sharing..keeping fingers crossed

if you have pics of mummies..do share them..and did you took any pics of any chambers where they used to keep jewellery and belongings for after life?

:eek: Wow…some more pictures! This is interesting…i wanna go to Egypte too! Seems like it u visited the main places …and yeah the conversion bit was funny! Keep it up man..i wanna know more! :slight_smile:

Thanks for the reply Qrius and Sumi :~) neways now lets start with the next installment :~)

First of all!! These are the three papyruses I brought from that shop :~)

The Key of life :~)

[thumb=A]papyrus1.JPG[/thumb]

A pharaoh with his loving daughter :~)

[thumb=A]papyrus3.JPG[/thumb]

Now this is a sketch of my favorite pharaoh Akhnatoon .. (as per the history .. Akhnatoon was the only pharaoh who use to believe in one God!! )

[thumb=A]papyrus2.JPG[/thumb]

It was quarter to 3:00pm when I came out of this shop .. I was a bit worried about the checkout time at hotel .. so I spoke to Saed and told him the situation .. that I got room at flamenco for just one day .. and today I have to look for another place to stay .. Saed said .. he have a friend working in flamenco so lets talk to him first on phone .. he called up the guy and gave me the good news that their quests are arriving in the night and I can checkout late without any extra charges :~)

Wow what a relief!!! actually my main concern was time .. and I knew if I had to go back to hotel for checkout .. there'll be no time left for GIZA .. or phir kal ka sara din GIZA hi ki nazar hojata .. jabke my plan for tomorrow was to goto Citadel and Old Cairo .. :~) neways I said thanks to Saed and asked him to drive to GIZA :~)

GIZA was just a few miles away from Memphis .. so it wasn't a long ride .. and on our way we brought 3 Falafil sandwiches .. and I eat two of them .. cuz subha sey paidal ghoom ghoom kar mera stomach bhi mere dimagh ki tarhaan khaali hogaya tha :~(

Neways I took this photo on the way to GIZA :~)

[thumb=A]Dsc00617.JPG[/thumb]

well, the pyramids of Giza .. are perhaps the only true rival to the Great Sphinx .. when one thinks about ancient Egypt and its architecture ... the valley of Giza with its wonderful monuments .. is truly a marvel of architectural prowess .. the three Pyramids .. consist of The Great Pyramid of "Khufu" The Pyramid of "Kafhre" and the pyramid of "Menkaura" .. each Pyramid is also a tomb to a these three Great kings of Egypt :~)

btw, contrary to the common belief .. only the Great Pyramid of Khufu (Cheops) .. not all three Great Pyramids .. is on top of the list of Wonders :~) and this monument was built by the Egyptian pharaoh Khufu of the Fourth Dynasty around the year 2560 BC to serve as a tomb when he dies :~)

The Great Pyramid of Khufu (Cheops) ..

[thumb=A]Dsc00621.JPG[/thumb]

All three pyramids were built during the 3rd and 4th dynasty .. and were monumental undertakings of the king and the kings sons .. The Pyramid of Khufu has a base which covers roughly a nine acre area "roughly 392,040 square feet" .. the pyramid of Menkaura .. unlike the other pyramids .. had one tier of its base covered in granite .. whereas the pyramid of Khafre .. had a two tier base encased in granite .. :~)

The Great Pyramid of Khafre ...

[thumb=A]Dsc00620.JPG[/thumb]

Unfortunately like many of the great Kings of the Old Kingdom of Egypt .. the Pyramid of Menkaura, Khufu and Kafhre were not finished in the time of the end of the Kings reign .. in the case of Menkaura .. the king died before its construction was completed .. neways the monuments of Giza and the entire Giza valley stand as a marvelous reminder of the skill executed in the creation of the pyramids .. and are truly fabulous to see :~)

I took this picture from Panorama .. a place from where you can clearly see all the nine pyramids of GIZA :~)

[thumb=A]Dsc00640.JPG[/thumb]

GIZA doesn't have just three pyramids .. its has nine pyramids in total .. the Three huge ones belongs to the Father (khufu) , Son (Khafre) and Grandson (Menkaura) and the rest of 6 small pyramids belongs to the daughters of the family :~)

[thumb=A]Dsc00637.JPG[/thumb]

There are plenty of websites available on net showing the complete history of GIZA and the several theories proposed by the different archeologist about the construction of these huge monuments :~) so check them out if you've build some interest :~)

This was the way to Panorama :~)

[thumb=A]Dsc00648.JPG[/thumb]