Egypt – My Travelogue :~)

Very nice, thanks for sharing all this :).

My my…man, this is prolly one of the best threads here in the image gallery for a long time :k:

I agree with Faisal…you sure have gelled in the description with pics really well…kia baat hai aap ki bhai sahab! :smooth:

agli qist ke intezar main aalti-paalti mar kar bethne wala icon :rolleyes:

w:eek:w
thanx for sharing!!!
very kewl pics!!!

wow! zabardeust pics Naspeete jee!

w:eek:w..
cool pix..
keep enjoying
:slight_smile:

[thumb=A]piramedi2i.JPG[/thumb]

took 20 minutes of my precious time:hoonh:
waisey it felt great to read all tht laga jaise main bhi saath saath hi thi:D
Pics are zabardast:k: especially those two pics u took on ur way to Saqqara awesome!

Faisal : thanks Faisal bhai :~) and yes!! you are rite I’ve a strict instruction from my family specially from my little sister to capture all the moments of my trips so that they can also enjoy it laters :~)

lost soul : hey losty :~) how are you ??? hayee kaash tum mere saath travel kar sakti :smiley: neways thanks for the reply :~)

Qrius : Bhatiji thanks for your long reply :~) here goes my quick answers :~)

*** How did you felt while travelling in the ship? did you felt dizzy or any such feelings? How was the experience?**

yaar it was cool .. though I can’t remember a lot cuz I spent most of the time sleeping in that cabin .. but before getting off the ship I went to their small café and had a coffee there .. it was really good .. there was no dizziness or something .. I don’t know abt others but Alhamd o Lilah I personally don’t have such problems :~)

*How would you rate egypt’s travel tourism in terms of $ value? was it cheap..moderate or expensive?

dear!! it depends .. like .. if you have lots of money to waste .. than Egypt is the right place .. similarly if you want to travel with a tight budget .. Egypt wont close its door to you .. you can still have a time of your life there :~)

For me I always like budget traveling .. cuz it brings me close to the culture and daily life of the place I am visiting to .. plus I get so many opportunities to communicate and get close to the locals :~) hmm yeah there are some hassles too but doesn’t matter .. that’s always a part of my adventure :~)

Btw, I’ll mention my whole budget laters in this thread and I’ll also try to tell you guys abt my daily spending :~)

*How are the people? Are they friendly?

yaar jaaney sey pehley to mujhey yehi bataya gaya tha ke Egyptians are thief crocks and frauds .. but Alhamd O lilah I met soo many nice and friendly ppl there .. and never came across any thief or frauds .. But again I wud say .. it depends on individuals .. I believe being a pakistani mujhko kaun topi pehna sakta hey ;~)

*Did you do any shopping? was there anything unique that would be classified as a sovenir or unique gift from egypt?

keep reading this thread .. I’ll answer this question within my story :~)

*Any egyptian dish that you ate?

soo many of them yaar :~) like Kushri, Dahoub Basha, Kabab Hala, Egyptian Pizza etc etc .. I’ll mention them laters in here :~)

Dai_sista : yup I’ve been to all these places .. just keep checking the thread cuz soon I’ll post there pictures too.. :~) thanks for the reply :~)

Umer : yaar you shud go there .. but don’t restrict your self to just Cairo .. move around .. u’ll find the whole Egypt is full of historic and amazing sites :~) and don’t forget to chat with me before .. I’ll love to give you some tips :~)

Gamma Dilation : thanks for raising this topic yaar .. I know It looks cheap .. but its much betta than the shock I had recently .. when I saw one of my own picture posted at photosig.com by some Jose .. I don’t know who the hell is this guy but the photo was surely mine *smash gr!!! Khair Allah bhala karey is bandey ka .. he taught me a good lesson :~)

Thap : I never knew u were there :~( otherwise it wud be fun having a guppy meet in that pharaonic land :~) btw, are u in Cairo ??

Sumble : agar nahi lagata to tum apni reply main kiya likhti ??? ;~) neways thanks for the reply :~)

Khanzada : mere nawey nawey moderator .. thanks a million for your reply :~) and don’t worry I won’t let you wait for the next installment :~)

ShaRaRa : thanks for you 20 minutes sharari :~) and you are rite .. u were all there with me .. I wasn’t alone at all :~) btw, keep peeping inn whenever u have plenty of time .. cuz I’ll keep on updating this thread until I complete the whole trip :~)

Now thanks to **Pakistani Tiger, little human, SunnyBoy, punjabi kuri , Capricorn, shoaib akhter, Ums, pyari_jii_2u, Hum Hain, BrokenSky and DILJELEY ** .. for liking the picture and their replies :~) or haan It’s a nice Photo DILJELEY :k:

OK!! now I’ll go have my dinner than I’ll continue with my travelogue .. so take care :wave:

Great stuff NP
I had always been fascinated by egypt and the Valley of the Kings. Now this travel description of yours has really made me jealous :snooty:

You - LUCKY YOU :k:

Prolly I will be taking a short break in egypt this year - before I leave for Pakistan on my annual vacations

Okies lets get set to go inside Mere Ruka Tomb :~)

First of all ... let me tell you a little bit abt uncle Mereruka :~) Mereruka was the highest official vizier and overseer of priests of Teti ( the first pharaoh of the 6th Dynasty ) .. even his tomb is situated very near to the Pyramid of Teti .. which shows the love and affection between these to rulers of the Old Kingdom at Saqqara..

I remember when I was traveling from Saffaga to Cairo .. an elderly guy was sitting next to me in the bus and we both were chatting abt the Egyptian history & current affairs .. and when by mistake I turned the discussion to the Nubian history .. he started insisting me to go and take a look of Teti’s Pyramid and tomb .. cuz it was his personal belief that Teti was a Nubian.. and in the 6th Dynasty pharaohs were ruled by Nubians .. whereas my research and the books I’ve read so far wasn’t supporting such kind of personal imitations .. but, since the guy was a Nubian and he was a very polite person too .. I was just following the.. haan main haan milaing .. strategy with him .. neither I was not in a mood to get into a long argument specially when the language was a huge barrier between us :~)

Unfortunately Teti’s Tomb was closed for some reasons .. so I missed the chance .. but when I went inside Mereruka’s Tomb .. I started believing that guy :~) cuz the huge statue of Mereruka was clearly showing his Nubian face features :~) but!! even if he was a Nubian .. he wasn’t a king . he was just serving one of the most powerful pharaoh of the Old Kingdom .. and in return of his sincere services he got married with Teti’s daughter .. Princes Seshseshat :~)

Guys today the main confusion exist in the Egyptian history is because of these bicultural marriages .. jis ka jahan dil chahta tha wahan apni beti ki shaadi kar deta tha .. and why not ?? … they use to have plenty of kids those days .. family planning ka to naam-o-nishaan bhi na tha .. that’s why their history got soo mixed up *smack

Neways forget it !!! lets get back to the tomb :~) well, I liked Mereruka’s tomb because of two things .. one the huge statue of MereRuka and 2ndly because of its excellent restoration :~) this tomb is in excellent condition and luckily the Art in here is not completely destroyed like other tombs by the Tomb robbers :~)

Ok lets see the pictures :~)

[thumb=A]DSC00574.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC00576.JPG[/thumb]

This tomb have 32 chambers in total .. covering an area of 1000 square meters .. makes it the largest Old Kingdom courtier’s tomb to be found so far ..

[thumb=A]DSC00575.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC00580.JPG[/thumb]

The 17 chambers on the east side belongs to Mereruka .. including this magnificent six columned offering Hall featuring a life size statue of Mereruka .. appearing to walk right out of the wall to receive the offerings brought to him :~)

There wasn’t enough light in the tomb upar sey!!! its not allowed to use flash inside any temple or museum in Egypt *crying .. it was really difficult for me to take nice photos .. so please don’t complain if the pictures are bit darker :~)

[thumb=A]DSC00582.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC00577.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC00578.JPG[/thumb]

The rest of the chambers were reserved for his wife and Teti’s daughter “Seshseshat” Grrrrr!!! I’ll never be able to pronounce it properly *smack

[thumb=A]DSC00579.JPG[/thumb]

These holes are serving as air conditioners in the tomb .. they are also open to the lower chambers where the original Mummy was buried …

[thumb=A]DSC00581.JPG[/thumb]

The breathing mummy .. standing out side the Step Pyramid of King Zoser and the half destroyed pyramid of Teti is --> Me :~)

(Picture taken by my taxi driver - Saed Hafeny )

[thumb=A]DSC00583.JPG[/thumb]

I took this photo on my way out of Saqqara :~)

[thumb=A]DSC00584.JPG[/thumb]

Phewwwwww!!! Guys I have a lot to share .. but can’t write everything in one shot .. or abhi to 4 din ki story bhi complete nahi howi *smack ….. please bear with my slow speed :~) I’ll come back soon and share the rest of my 4th day in Egypt :~)

Good Idea PN :~) we’ll discuss this in detail .. once I visit you there in Dammam :~)

thanks for the reply :~)

very hee nice pics G ...thankyou for sharing :)

tum aaeY hoo na Shab-e-Intezaar guzri hay

oopsss :blush: shaaeD ghalat mooQaay par ghalat misraa likh diyaa hay

oye matbaal yeh hay kay kab aaO gaayyyyyy :smash:

Nashpati bhai jub bhi Dammam aayen, hum say zaroor milwana MUNNAY :smiley:

Intresting ,Thanks for sharing brother:)

Yaar pata nahi you guys are interested in my stories or not .. but main to suna ke hi rahoonga ;~)

Ok now lets talk abt the first local friend I made there in Egypt :~)

Saed Hafeny .. My Taxi Driver :~) he was in his late 30s but still holding a young heart like me :~) and within a short period of time we build up a nice friendship :~) you know ? first time when he saw me outside flamenco hotel .. he thought I am an Egyptian .. so he started speaking Arabic with me .. :~) but he was shocked! .. when I replied back in my paindu Arabic :~).. and the next thing comes out was .. “are you an Indian” ?? Grrrrrr!!! now this was enough to boil my blood *smash or main ney osi waqt osko khari khari suna deen … wo bhi apni Punjabi shuda Arabic main :~) bechara pareshaan hogaya :~) neways when I told him .. I am from Pakistan .. he rolled his eyes and said .. “Oooh! Parwaiz Musharaf” :~)

Khair main ney shukar ada kiya ke atleast Parwaiz Musharaf ki os eik harkat ney pakistan ko itna mashoor to kardiya hey ke aaj meri mushkil asaan hogai .. warna mujhey Saed ko Map nikaal kar samjhana parhta key .. yeah dekho yeah raha Pakistan :~)

As per my Egyptian experience theres no problem for westerners to move around everywhere .. cuz Egyptians are now use to with them .. but when they see a person who is neither white nor black .. to onko problem hoti hey .. ke yea kaun hey jo Hamarey jesa lagta hey .. and than they start trying to know you – but in polite way :~)

During my stay in Egypt .. I met so many locals who never been to their historic places .. even there are soo many in Cairo who never paid a single visit to GIZA, Saqqara or the museums .. I guess most of them don’t have any interest in their history .. they are busy enough with their present .. and that’s why the locals get shocked when they see a tanned guy walking around in such historic places :~)

Their first impression about me was always like .. “I am just a local Guide” .. but the camera hanging in my neck makes them ask me questions .. and by my 20th day .. I got tired of replying their same 6 questions again and again :~)

1st Question : Anta masri ?? ( r u an Egyptian ?)
My Answer : La ya Sheikh ( no dear I am not )

2nd Question : Hindi ?? ( r u Indian ?)
My Answer : La ya Mukh maafi ana Pakistani ( Grrrr!!!! You fool !!! no I am not .. I am a Pakistani )

3rd Question : Muslim ?? ( r u Muslim ?)
My Answer : Alhamd O Lilah ..

4th Question : Shughal wala saiyaha ?? ( r u working here or just a tourist ? )
seems like they can’t digest a person from Pakistan or India can spend money and travel all alone :~)

My Answer : well sometimes I answer like .. I am working here and sometimes I tell them .. I am a tourist .. depends on the situation :~)

5th Question : fee zawaj .. wala maafi ?? ( r u married or not ? )
My Answer : Nope *blush

6th Question : ibgha zawaj hina ?? ( do u want to marry here ? )
My Answer : chal hatt shareer kaheen key *blush :~)

Jokes apart!! my answer was always NO except once :~) khair I’ll tell you abt that incident laters :~)

One thing was for sure that my 3rd answer always makes them Happy .. and immediately they show their appreciation by kissing my left cheek first and than the right one :~) arghh!! main bhi apni khushi show karta agar saamney koi larki hoti … magar they were all men *smack

when Saed find out that I am a Muslim .. he shook my hand and kissed my cheeks twice *disgust .. being in Saudi Arabia I was already use to with these Arab traditions .. so I reciprocated the same way and that’s how we becomes friends :~) and I got a very good bargain on my taxi fare :~)

I stayed three days in Cairo and Saed was with me all the time :~) and I was paying him just 100 Egyptian pounds a day which is equivalent to 20$ and it wasn’t a bad deal :~)

Neways after I was done with Saqqara .. I asked Saed to take me to Memphis .. On our way to Memphis Saed stopped his taxi near a Carpet School and asked me to go inside and take a look of those Egyptian kids .. who in their early age becomes the expert carpet weavers .. Since it was free of charge I had no problems going inside :~)

This is the Nile Carpet School ...

[thumb=A]DSC00596.JPG[/thumb]

The guy standing in this picture is Hussain .. he is working here as a sales man plus guide :~) The kid in there is a three year experienced carpet weaver .. I saw his work .. it was really amazing :~)

[thumb=A]DSC00588.JPG[/thumb]

This lady is a professional Carpet weaver .. but she is a bit shy :~)

[thumb=A]DSC00589.JPG[/thumb]

Another Expert lady :~)

[thumb=A]DSC00591.JPG[/thumb]

Being a professional sales man Hussain tried his best to sale me some carpets :~) par main bhi eik number ka dheet tha .. khaali haath hi bahir aa gaya :~)

I knew I can find them cheap at other places .. shops like these will always charge you more cuz they have to pay commissions to the taxi driver too :~)

[thumb=A]DSC00592.JPG[/thumb]

Now some pictures of their display shop :~)

[thumb=A]DSC00593.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC00594.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]DSC00595.JPG[/thumb]

Phewwww!! Ok!! In the next installment I’ll take you guys to Memphis to show the Life size statue of Ramsees II .. the famous pharaoh who was against Moses (Hazrat Musa aleh salaam) :~)

So --> To be Continued ...

Awesome!

Great post Naaspeeta..

A quick question:

The hole (picture you posted) ..isn't it -- one of the 5-6 openings of mysterious shafts that lead to the shinning constellation of stars ??
....I have never been to giza or Valley of death...but i do watch discovery channel a lot... biggest fan of Dr. Bob Brier!!

P.S:NP can you post some pictures of eygptians writtings---hieroglyphs..esp engraved on walls??