eating MEAT for Muslims

:salam:

if u have ever gone to buy chicken u might see how scared the chickens get when the butcher puts his hand in their cage to get one chicken out, they all run away from the hand

and cows cry before getting zabah on bakra-eid and also on chand raat of bakra-eid bakraas wail the whole night with loud voices, it is said that they see knives in their dreams

and if u have ever watched the actual process of zabahing the jaanwar :eek: its sooooooooooooo :bummer: :teary2:

i do love the taste of meat and i also enjoy eating kabab n tikka n nihari etc BUT everytime i think of this i feel sooo bad for the animals plus i feel selfish n then i dont feel like eating the meat either

there r some ppl who become vegetarians for this reason but i have heard that in Islam it is not allowed to be vegetarian and Allah has sanctioned meat for us so we should eat meat unless theres a proper medical reason

could someone shed some light from a religious angle on this issue? preferably with references from fiqh

jazakallah :slight_smile:

wa salam
irem

Salaam,

They’d get scared even if the intention weren’t to slaughter them

Lolllll… I’ve heard it all now.

I’ve never heard any cows and goats crying on Chand Raat, are you sure the wailing wasn’t because they were being kept awake by the people making all the noise with music and fireworks etc.?

http://www.themodernreligion.com/misc/an/an_slaughter.htm

Plants are also alive, tell you what don’t eat them either and don’t eat eggs neither they have the potential of becoming living creatures too. I read somewhere that plants feel shock when they are cut, who knows maybe they can feel pain too.

Allah has already prohibited all that which is bad and cruel, He’s wouldn’t have allowed us to eat meat if it were a bad thing.

i am one of those who cannot stand seeing any animal being slaughtered....
i once saw chicken being slaughtered by my dad, and i cud not get myself to eat it after it was cooked....

religious angle, its HALAL so enjoy it....

Quran 5:1
* ye who believe! Fulfil your indentures. The beast of cattle is made lawful unto you (for food)....*

Quran 6:142
*And of the cattle (He produceth) some for burdens, some for food. Eat of that which Allah hath bestowed upon you, and follow not the footsteps of the devil, for lo! he is an open foe to you. *

Quran 16:5
*And the cattle hath He created, whence ye have warm clothing and uses, and whereof ye eat *

Quran 22:28
*....and mention the name of Allah on appointed days over the beast of cattle that He hath bestowed upon them. Then eat thereof and feed therewith the poor unfortunate. *

Quran 22:24
*And for every nation have We appointed a ritual, that they may mention the name of Allah over the beast of cattle that He hath given them for food; and your god is One God, therefor surrender unto Him. And give good tidings (O Muhammad) to the humble, *

Quran 36:71
*Have they not seen how We have created for them of Our handiwork the cattle, so that they are their owners, *

Quran 40:79
*Allah it is Who hath appointed for you cattle, that ye may ride on some of them, and eat of some *

enuff????

Stop following start thinking, use your judgement.
It is easy to Kill than save a life.
Eat to live…not other way

Check these Eye opening links.

IslamVeg.com

Read this artical and start analyzing…
http://www.time.com/time/covers/1101020715/story.html

Re: eating MEAT for Muslims

Errr.. what is the source for that? I’ve never seen that in Islamic sources.. sounds like a desi myth to be :hoonh:

I’ve seen a goat being zabah’d. Seeing it struggle and braying loudly reassured me what a fine, healthy, strong quality creature I was going be be having, and made the kidneys seem tastier as I munched them down a few hours later :yummy:

stop posting ridicule views of people…
and start reading what Quran says…
they r made/created for u to eat/ride/use their skin as clothing and tents…

and if we all started eating vegetables, and stopped eating/killing the animals, where wud we end up???
shortage of vegetables…
increased population of these animals…
already ur TIMES article mentions that they outnumber us 1:25 :eek: and if we stopped killing them, what wud the ratio be???
from where r we going to supply all that vegetables???
after all those animals wont plant anything, its us humans who have to labor to get that done…

so, as u said, start analyzing, and stop following those meat-fearing creeps…

Re: eating MEAT for Muslims

Hello Lisa Simpson :wave: … j/k

Eating “meat” is not “farz” or “wajib”. Its made halal to you so if you wish then you can eat it, but you don’t HAVE to eat it. If you don’t feel like eating it then eat veggies, fruits or whatever is made halal.

In simple terms, the law of the jungle is very clear. You hunt/kill to eat or to be eaten .. not for fun. As long as you take advantage of your kill, it's sustains the food chain on which this world works.

So don't feel bad.

I have zibahad a few animals myself. Usually on Bakar Eid we go to a farm and pick out a goat or two.

Mr. armughal,

‘stop posting ridicule views of people....’

If you don’t get it…

‘and start reading what Quran says....’

you don’t have to read to Quran to become vegetarian or not.(It is your stomach).

‘they r made/created for u to eat/ride/use their skin as clothing and tents....’

Don’t abuse your freedom of thought, Don’t be parasite. ( hold your Taste and delicacy of eating).

and if we all started eating vegetables, and stopped eating/killing the animals, where wud we end up????
shortage of vegetables....
increased population of these animals....
already ur TIMES article mentions that they outnumber us 1:25 and if we stopped killing them, what wud the ratio be????
from where r we going to supply all that vegetables????
after all those animals wont plant anything, its us humans who have to labor to get that done....

That’s how you analyze in 21st century.( go back to school).

so, as u said, start analyzing, and stop following those meat-fearing creeps....

Here is some Creeps list

Aaron, Henry

Bardot, Bridgette
Beck, Jeff
Bowie, David
Buddah
Bush, Kate

Chimnoy, Shri
Collins, Phil

DaVinci, Leonardo
Darwin, Charles
Davies, Ray
Day, Doris
Diogenes
Donovan
Einsten, Albert (E=mTofu2)
Elvira
Emerson, Ralph
Gabriel, Peter
Gandhi, Mohandas
Garrett, Peter
Glass, Philip

Hardin, Valerie
Harrison, George
Harrelson, Woody

Jackson, Micheal
Jesus
Jobs, Steve (Apple Anyone?)

Kellog, John

Laumann, Silken
Lesh, Phil
Lewis, Carl
Love, Mike

Madonna
Mahler, Gustav
Martin, Steve
Mathew
McCartney, Paul

Newton, Isaac (Apple Anyone?)
Nurmi, Paavo

Phoenix, River
Plato
Plotinus
Plutarch

Robbins, Anthony
Rousseau, Jean
Schweitzer, Albert
Scott, Dave
Shakespeare, William (To bean, or not to Bean?)
Shatner, William (Bean me up Scotty!)
Shaw, Geroge
Shelley, Percy
Sinclair, Upton
Socrates
Sting (Oooh, look at the Fields of Barley!)
Sweetie, This
Swedenborg, Emanuel
Thoreau, Henry
Tolstoy, Leo
Twiggy

Voltaire, Francois

Wagner, Richard
Wells, Herbert

yah i had to see a gaoat getting slaughtered in my bro's akkeka i didn't eat any meat 4 coupleof dayzzz..

Rasoolulah:saw: was told not to make things haraam on himself which ALLAH made Halal…

Armughal… thanks for the references bhai :slight_smile: Jazak ALLAH

*Originally posted by gpsy: *
Mr. armughal,

‘stop posting ridicule views of people....’

If you don’t get it…

‘and start reading what Quran says....’

you don’t have to read to Quran to become vegetarian or not.(It is your stomach).

‘they r made/created for u to eat/ride/use their skin as clothing and tents....’

Don’t abuse your freedom of thought, Don’t be parasite. ( hold your Taste and delicacy of eating).

and if we all started eating vegetables, and stopped eating/killing the animals, where wud we end up????
shortage of vegetables....
increased population of these animals....
already ur TIMES article mentions that they outnumber us 1:25 and if we stopped killing them, what wud the ratio be????
from where r we going to supply all that vegetables????
after all those animals wont plant anything, its us humans who have to labor to get that done....

That’s how you analyze in 21st century.( go back to school).

so, as u said, start analyzing, and stop following those meat-fearing creeps....

Here is some Creeps list

Aaron, Henry

Bardot, Bridgette
Beck, Jeff
Bowie, David
Buddah
Bush, Kate

Chimnoy, Shri
Collins, Phil

DaVinci, Leonardo
Darwin, Charles
Davies, Ray
Day, Doris
Diogenes
Donovan
Einsten, Albert (E=mTofu2)
Elvira
Emerson, Ralph
Gabriel, Peter
Gandhi, Mohandas
Garrett, Peter
Glass, Philip

Hardin, Valerie
Harrison, George
Harrelson, Woody

Jackson, Micheal
Jesus
Jobs, Steve (Apple Anyone?)

Kellog, John

Laumann, Silken
Lesh, Phil
Lewis, Carl
Love, Mike

Madonna
Mahler, Gustav
Martin, Steve
Mathew
McCartney, Paul

Newton, Isaac (Apple Anyone?)
Nurmi, Paavo

Phoenix, River
Plato
Plotinus
Plutarch

Robbins, Anthony
Rousseau, Jean
Schweitzer, Albert
Scott, Dave
Shakespeare, William (To bean, or not to Bean?)
Shatner, William (Bean me up Scotty!)
Shaw, Geroge
Shelley, Percy
Sinclair, Upton
Socrates
Sting (Oooh, look at the Fields of Barley!)
Sweetie, This
Swedenborg, Emanuel
Thoreau, Henry
Tolstoy, Leo
Twiggy

Voltaire, Francois

Wagner, Richard
Wells, Herbert

a measly list of few peoples to support your argument? there are billions who eat meat and their list will be , ummmm, a little bit longer than yours. :p

Re: Re: eating MEAT for Muslims

Damn you.. u sick fella :-p

I really don’t have any mercy for my food too. I have seen the zabah process many times. And doesn’t make me turn away from the meat. I just cannot eat beef( I find it gross). But chicken, lamb and goat are all fine.

ZaiN_12345

'a measly list of few peoples to support your argument? there are billions who eat meat and their list will be , ummmm, a little bit longer than yours'

Which list you want to join ?

Once when I was in Pakistan, I saw a cow being slaughtered. There were about 5 guys there who had tied it up initially. They had cut the throat about half way and the blood came gushing out, the cow started to violently shake its head and managed to throw one of the guys off who was holding it. I must say it was a sad sight. I saw the cow trying so hard to free itself and save itself to its last drop of blood, I could see its fear in its eyes and desperate movement and hear the moaning. It had so much strength that it managed to free its legs but slowly it just lost its strength and died. I felt how much it tried to save its life even though it was clear death. I never thought I would feel bad about it but I did after witnessing it. Funny thing is, here I was a grown man seeing it for the first time and I could see all the other locals (young and old) who stood by, laughing and cheering. I guess they are use to seeing it all the time.

I am not a vegetarian or anything but I can see where Irem is coming from. We are human, but Islam and Allah is supreme and he knows best for us.

Salaam

love goat and sheep meat and chicken :yummy:

*Originally posted by gpsy: *

Which list you want to join ?
i would join the list of people who follow Allah's commands over human's personal opinions:)

ZaiN_12345

"love goat and sheep meat and chicken"

You are digging you hole Mr. enjoy...

Anwaar Qureshi

'i would join the list of people who follow Allah's commands over human's personal opinions'

Bless your heart ! Try to use these words often

Compassion
Sympathy
Empathy
Concern
Kindness
Consideration
Care
You will be listed in that list

Anwaar Qureshi
^ count me in that list

ahaan.

here is a link for you my lil boy. enjoy it and try to fit your words in this article if you can.

http://www.booktrail.com/Video_HuntAmericas/Goose%20Hunting%20The%20USA%20-%20Buck%20McNeely.asp

also bear hunting is coming back in USA in some states.