Re: Eating Jhattka...
Good for those who avoid ahle-kitaab's food, but it doesn't mean those who consume it are sinning or wrong. There's a difference of opinion and we should learn to respect each other.
There is a difference between "Slaughtering" and "Jhatka"
JHATKA is never permissible and it is Muttafiq Alyeh.
The difference is slaughtering of an animal by a person from Ahl-e-Kitaab who does not slaughter it according to the earliest Divine instructions (The very reason it was made halal to eat)... I would not eat a slaughtered animal by Ahl-e-kitaab if it is not according to the laws given to them, but I will never call it haram either for those following the ruling of it being halal.
As for Jhatka, that is kullun Haram. Animal has to be slaughtered not stunned by breaking the neck or spine.
Sadiyah:"Good for those who avoid ahle-kitaab's food, but it doesn't mean those who consume it are sinning or wrong. There's a difference of opinion and we should learn to respect each other".
You know what, they are sinning because majority of dishes in restaurants and homes are made with cooking wine which is used as a intergral part of many dishes. Muslims who think they are eating Ahlekitab foods do not inquire with waiter about cooking wine, majority of clam chowder does contain bacon or pork. They do not want to go in details because they are addicted to these foods for long time and use ahlekitab card to justify their Nafs. Majority of gravies and sauces are made from dripping from meat recipes including pork when they briol, grill or baked. Many Itaian dishes contains spaghetti sauce which is made from Harm cheese, wine. Even at supermarket shelves Barilla's Green and black olive oil spaghetti sauce contains wine. Burger King veggi patty is made with wine. Allah ask us to eat their foods if they are tayub. So we have to find their tayub foods such as apple sauce. Some Muslims use it as a blank check which is wrong. Such as supermarket meat which is not slaughetered according Bible instructions or church regulations but it is based on USDA regulations except religious slaughtering which exclude christians but its regualtion are for Muslims and Jews. We are educating Muslims through our web site www.muslimconsumergroup.com and Halal food book "A Comprehensive List of Halal Food Products in US and Canadian Supermarkets" since long time. Many Muslims gained lot of knowledge through these efforts and many Muslims still use the ahlekitab card.
^ "justyfying Nafs" part actually clicked a lot.
Its not surprising that those who eat only zabihah meat adopt an unhealthy holier than thou attitude in these discussions. Anyway, the topic was meat, so lets stick to meats, and not add more variables to the discussion, like cooking wine etc. These are all whole different topics, which are also extensively discussed by scholars. To the best of my knowledge, no one condones eating clam chowder that contains bacon or pork, so thats irrelevant. No matter how you slaughter a pig, it will remain haraam. End of story.
Secondly, the issue of stunning is important. What I know is that in big slaughter houses, they stun the animal using a stun gun. Presumably that lessens the pain of the animal when the machine dismembers the neck. The blood is then drained as per FDA regulations.
The real important issue is whether muslims can only consume meats on which the name of Allah is taken at the time of slaughter; or is there an exception for meats slaughtered by "People of the Book". That is the core issue which is debated endlessly. The rest is just froth. A large number of muslim scholars and imams agree that name of Allah must be taken at the time of slaugter to make it zabihah and halal. Some scholars rule that meats from People of the Book is specifically permitted in the Quran, so for that take name of Allah before consumption. It will not be zabihah but will be halal. Wallah O Aalim.
Re: Eating Jhattka…
That statement is by far too generalized and un-true.
I eat only Zabiha and I already said:I would not eat a slaughtered animal by Ahl-e-kitaab if it is not according to the laws given to them, but I will never call it haram either for those following the ruling of it being halal.
From the link Sadiyah posted:
**Al-Bukhaari (2057) narrated from ‘Aa’ishah (may Allaah be pleased with her) that some people said, “O Messenger of Allaah, some people bring meat to us and we do not know whether they mentioned the name of Allaah over it or not.” The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Say the name of Allaah over it and eat it.” **
Note:
The ‘people’ are unknown…They could be Mushrikeen, Yahud, Nasara, Migdolians, Magians, Parsis or whatever…
No mention of Zabiha or method of slaughtering is made…
Nothing was asked whether it was skewered with pork or anything…(Fire, in Islam BTW, cleanses Najis from quite a few things…)
“Just say the name of Allah :swt: over it and eat it.”
So, no mention of what people, no mention of method, no mention of cooking method, just simply say the name of Allah over it and eat it…
Good Point Lajawab. But munkireen-e-hadith like Anwar Qureshi won’t eat such meat.
o jee bas bhi kardo ab…
Jisko khana hai khao, nahi khana tu bhindi, teendey kareley kha lo :k:
nahi tu anda kha lo :k:
thread close kardo
Anwar Qureshi is munkire-hadith, thats news to me.
Do we know if “zabihah” (but not taking Allah’s name) was a “norm” in that society or were there other methods of “slaughtering” used in that era? My thought is that the method used in “zabihah” was dominant in the society. Also, what do we know about the timing of this hadith in relation to the verses in Quran?
Originally Posted by Lajawab
From the link Sadiyah posted:
Al-Bukhaari (2057) narrated from ‘Aa’ishah (may Allaah be pleased with her) that some people said, “O Messenger of Allaah, some people bring meat to us and we do not know whether they mentioned the name of Allaah over it or not.” The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Say the name of Allaah over it and eat it.”
This hadith is about new Muslims and many Muslims think it is about Ahlekitab. When new Muslim learning the Islam (not the Jews beacuse they already know how to slaughter) they do not know the rules of Zabiha and may not mentioned the name of Allah. But since they are Muslims and their neat is known, probably they do not pronounce the name of Allah while slaughtering. Zabiha is not practice by Kuffar because how could they say so many names of their gods at the time of slaughtering.
iss ko kehtaY haiN “Thaa kar kay lagnaa” .. ![]()
The hadith in question has a context.. and if you read first few posts, you will find what context I am talking about… that is the time of hadeeth vs the time of revelation. Sharaab was not haraam for a long time, you know that too.
But again, people who reject hadith as fairy-tales are munkir-e-hadeeth such as… well you know ![]()