Eating green chillies healthy?

so I occasionally eat a raw green chilli with dinner … may be once in three days kind of thing …

is it dangerous? some tell me its a good thing , others warn me that it will give me ulcers if i keep doing that …

any idea, any one ?

Re: Eating green chillies healthy?

i eat raw green chilies too :) its better than red chili powder.

:hayaa:

WHY?!?!?! Why would you do that to yourself??

And yes, eating chillies could be burning away the lining of your stomach!!!

My mom eats them sometimes. She hasn't gotten any ulcer God forbid. She has been eating them since 25 years maybe. They have antioxidants & can actually lower your cholesterol level as well. Anything eaten moderately is okay. All these foods exist for a reason.

^ even fried chicken and french fries and beef burgers ;)

Lol Sara. When I say food I actually mean all the vegetables, seafood, chicken, beef, mutton, lentils & all other types of food. Not what we make out of them. Is she was to eat chillies 5 times a day then THAT is dangerous for health.

This reminds me its been ages since I had any french fries.

Unless you have ulcer eating any kind of chilli is not going to do anything to you. If you have ulcer eating anything will be problematic for you. Even eating green chili is not going to aggravate your ulcer but it is like putting chili on your open wound which will hurt more.

No fries for u. shadi ke baad. chalo shabash.

Awww! This might sound odd but I just had that older sister moment I guess. I don't have any older sisters so thanks for making me feel what you just made me feel :) Three more months & then :D

Aww :hugz: I dont have any sisters :frowning: so i got no advice. :frowning:

after shadi, eat all u want..just dont be surprised if aunties ask if ur pregnant :@:

Green chillies have vitamin C and a lot of it. They also help clear stuffy noses. So if you eat a couple a day, you could keep the doctor away :snooty:

I think too many over a prolonged period of time could cause issues with blood pressure.

Neverrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr :barbie:

My dad suffers from serious heart/blood pressure related problems and he used to have fresh chillies cut up alongside his meals, the doctor completely has discouraged this practice.

As with anything, moderation is the key.

Nikki:smack:

This heart magazine recommends chilli for high blood pressure:
Diet and High Blood Pressure

:hmmm: My dad’s consultant says not too, so I don’t know.

I will check with my dad who is also a physician and a heart patient as well :snooty:

That would be insighful Nikki.

Personally, I guess a few chillies would not hurt, hence why I said moderation is key. Too many over a prolonged time surely cannot be good for you though.

The dilemma of modern day 'eater', to eat or not to eat!:D

One day, a research comes out that egss are bad for you, so drop that egg right down. Another research discovers that it does you a world of good. In one study we are told that fresh fruits are good for us. Another would warn against it. One scientific study approves this or that, another would advise strongly against it.

My great grand father was a hakim, and my nana too. Whenever someone suffered from haiza they would give him seeds of green chillies in some concoction:) And I have heard it from buzurgs in our family that if you eat green chillies in the monsoon(yani barsat ka mausam) you won't have haiza..Agay Allah behter janta hai.

And of course as various people have pointed out, excess of anything is bad.

What are the benefits of eating chili?