Earthquake in Pakistan/International Relief/After Shocks (merged threads)

Re: Earthquake in pakistan

He said…it’s only 34 hrs…& we took time to know the extent of damage as all access routes to remote areas are in shatters…you are misqiouting him here…i saw the interview…there are some ground realities too…u can’t just ask for random things from different governments…

US is giving zakaat to pakistan so balah of iraqis insurgent tali ja sakay...i could not stop my laugh when ptv news reader said "america nay AIK LAKH DOLLARS ki HUNGAMI IMDAD dainay ka paisala kiya hai"...our greatest ehdi gave more then 1 crore within a minute...

people from karachi r tyring to contribute but they r not sure how to do...government should make proper channel to receive aid,money and spreading information how to give aid

in karachi,many phathans and some other hotels r closed as many of them went to their villages

What a Joke

US has offered $ 100,000 for the earthquake relief efforts.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH :rotfl:

Pakistan offered 1 million officially for Katrina.

Mods please dont move it to the Jokes forum. thankyou

Re: What a Joke

I expect the death toll to rise to 50,000. that will make it 2 dollars for every person died, 120 rupees. Anyone know how much a kafan is for these days?

$ 100,000 is really very generous and commendable :clap:

Another breaking news. Pakistan requested for choppers last night. US choppers has started from Afghanistan but have yet to reach Pakistan. From what I have read, Afghans walked to Kashmir in a lesser time in 1948.

hahahaha..yes thts a fact..i hope they will contribute more 1 dollar to make it 1 lakh and 1 dollar like we pakis have tradition of giving 101 rupees and the like...haha

hell to america and its people

The death toll could very well be way above 20,000 mark...The number of villages from Islamabad to Muzafarabad to Srinagar are quite densely populated. Even the after shocks are in 5-6 on the richter scale. The loss is huge.

These are all mountain ranges with very treacherous roads. Reaching out to these areas is difficult to say the least. The rescue operation is beyond any third world country's capacity. May god help those who are going through this.

World Bank President Paul Wolfowitz said on Sunday that it was ready to provide $20 million to Pakistan to deal with the strongest earthquake that hit the south Asian region in a century, and which killed some 19,400 people and injured more than 42,000.

Hurricane Andrew did a damage of 20 billion $$.....Hurricane Katrinas damage is still being assesed...Tsunami in Indian Ocean also had estimates of more then dozens of billion of Dollars...Manny Ramirez from Red Sox has an early contract for 20 million dollars....
I don't know couple of million of dollars from here & there,would help much or not....Pakistan urgently needs 100-500 million $$ here...

My instinct is telling the death toll would be (God forbid) around 60 K, and injured would be around 10K…I pray it does not happen, but we need to face the reality… I pray for all of them…They are our brothers and sisters… we need to pray for them… we need to help them in real…
Forget about foreign aids, I guess Pakistanis themselves are enough if every Pakistani abroad will be sending 1000 Dollars each, then we really will not need any help from others…
Currently Pakistan needs Doctors, and rescuers, blankets and beds…

It's a blessing in disguise. Who wants their stupid money on the cost of the blood and tears of the people of Iraq and Afghanistan?

We shouldn't be relying upon them anyways .. may Allah give Pakistanis and Muslims as whole courage and strength to help each other and overcome this adversity.

Pakistans tragedy is massive...around 20,000-30,000 dead...i m glad people across the control line in Indian held Kashmir didn't had to suffer that much....Bill Clinton/G Bush senior went to Colombo to gather funds for Tsunami ....Pakistan needs these kinds of efforts now...destruction is massive...

Now is the time for Pakistanies and Indians to come together and show the kashmiries they care. Show the world it's about the people not the land.

the non provision of helicopters already available on site is whats most criminal. we needed those to save lives, and whatever the reason they have for not providing them shows how weak they are as allies.

Survivors found in Pakistan quake

Relatives and friends of those missing are hoping for a miracle
Rescue workers have pulled out four survivors from the rubble of an apartment block in Pakistan which collapsed in Saturday’s earthquake.
At least 25 bodies have been recovered from the debris of the Margala Towers in the capital, Islamabad.

Rescue workers say that 60 people are feared to be still trapped in the rubble of the building.

At least 18,000 people have died in the 7.6-magnitude quake that hit Pakistan, India and Afghanistan.

‘Shocked’

A British rescue team joined Pakistani rescue workers who had heard voices from within the rubble of the collapsed apartment block.

The BBC’s Mike Woolridge says the diggers and bulldozers fell silent for nearly two hours and rescuers finally brought out a young man and a woman even as a large expectant crowd gathered outside the apartment block.

A doctor who treated the survivors said they were shocked and exhausted.

“They did not talk much, but I feel they are out of danger,” Dr Rizwan Naseer told the Associated Press.

Two others have been pulled out alive on Sunday from the rubble, a local official, Farasat Ali, told the BBC.

Screams

Dr Naseer said rescuers had seen more bodies and efforts were being made to pull them out from the rubble of the 10-storey apartment block.

British rescue workers say it is a race against time

“We heard screams of people last night but we have not heard anything today,” a rescue worker, Liquat Ali Khan told Reuters.

British rescue workers said it was a race against time to rescue around 60 people in the ruins of the apartment block.

But other voices have been heard, and rescuers are now focussing on an area where it is thought two children might still be alive.

Relatives and friends of those missing are waiting near the debris in the hope of a miracle.

“It is terrible. I am waiting for a miracle. My brother and his entire family are in there,” Brigadier Adul Jahsor said.

^-- Ravage, victim are spread is huge and hilly areas...and just helicopters can’t do much, they need ground help through vehicle and cranes… they need to clear the road ways first…

Let’s wait and see when they’re finally done with their ‘assessment’ of the damage to provide sufficient support. Here’s China’s assessment:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_asiapacific/view/172547/1/.html

This is what i am qouting from BBC's Website:
EU: $3.6m
Australia: $380,000
UK: $177,000 and 60-strong team
US: $100,000
China: 49 rescuers, dogs, 17 tons of equipment
Japan: 50 rescue workers
Russia: 30 rescuers, sniffer dogs, special equipment
Germany: $60,000

I think 60 Pakistani families living in USA can easily provode with 60,000$$....Comeon Germany it doesn't suit you...Wake up world...