Earthquake in Pakistan/International Relief/After Shocks (merged threads)

Re: Earthquake in Pakistan/International Relief (merged threads)

finally canada steps up the aid package from the paltry $300,000 they offered initially to $20 million…

i hope they do more still…

Source

By the grace of Allah all roads to Muzafarabad from murree & Islamabad and roads to Balakot have been re-opened, Thanks to Allah and FWO who worked around the clock to repair the roads, which normally takes weeks in repair. :k: :jhanda:

This is a major break through, those who know these areas must be aware that how crucial this task was… indeed this is also due to your prayers and efforts of jawans and engineers :flower1:

I hope that relief goods will reach to everyone in the disastor zone soon now…

Big city like Muzafarabad has destroyed completely, and there are thousand of dead bodies under the rubble, no electricity no water It is a city of around 7,8 lakh inhabitant.. some of them are fleeing the city. May Allah help them

Some good news of survival after 50,60 hours they have rescued 40 schoolgirls some dozen little school boys and GEO showed that few minute ago they have rescued a 3 year old boy from the rubbles of Margala Tower, after some 60 hours of disastor .Sub’haan Allah :slight_smile:

Please pray for them after every prayer

Ravage- Islamabad has shaken very badly in these tremors and aftershocks but there is no damage apart from Margala towers, thankfully. Authorities have evacuated some building for inspection

Re: Thank you USA & Kuwait

good post codey, thanks :k:

Thank you Kuqait, US , canada and all other countries. The more I see scenes the more I get proud of being a pakistani. So much suffering for our fellow countrymen yet absolute courae shown by our army and civilians alike.

My personal problems are beginning to seem smaller and smaller.

agreed…i still can’t get over those images from Geo last night..ksi cheez mai dil nahi lag raha hai..

I'm glad to see that so many people around me are making effort to DO something. My inbox has been flooded with e-mails since Saturday, asking for donations, supplies, help etc.
I already donated as much as I could give and pray that the needy ones get all the help they can get (Insh'Allah)

**"At the very least, make dua for those affected; for those who will have no food for Iftar tonight; for those who will not go to sleep in their homes tonight; for those who will not have the comforting hug of their parents; for those who will not have the joy of standing for salah tonight; for those whose sufferings are so severe that they can not be expressed by words. Know that each day the fasting person has one dua which Allah subhanahu wa ta'ala will not refuse if asked ..." **

Inna lillahee wa inna illahee rajioon

Excellently put codey and shinoo.

I realize that no matter how strong of an object humans build, it will not stand a chance without the will of Allah. How come only Margala Towers came tumbling down in ISB? Was it built according to city building code?

Funguy, it wasn't built properly. They have interviewed people on Geo where they were all saying that they knew from before the earthquake that the building was not safe. Apparently, an arrest warrant has been issued for the builder.

Well to be fair, most of the building in Pakistan have not been buit strictly according to standard. But again, This earthquake was MASSIVE. We felt it in Lahore, and I thought we might not survive, The people in Islamabad must be traumatic by now, they felt 3 dozen aftershocks in 48 hrs (scale 5~6). At The scale 7.6 it is was a high intensity earthquake, Few years ago, the quake in Iran far less intense.** ( the quake of richter scale 7 is ten times more powerful than tremors of scale 6) **

So considering the magnitude, it is understandable if some building crumble, but there should be some investigation into this. But again, It is a blessing that so many people have survived in this disastor

Shocking scenes on CNN :frowning:

RIP all deceased :flower1:

canada raises donation to $20 million dollars

www.thestar.com

Canada raises aid for Pakistan to $20M

CANADIAN PRESS

Canada has upped its aid contribution to earthquake-ravaged Pakistan to $20 million.

International co-operation minister Aileen Carroll made the announcement today, saying some of the money will go to dispatching Canadian Forces aircraft containing 21 tonnes of blankets.

Canada's initial pledge to help Pakistan was $300,000, a sum that has been criticized as paltry.

The federal government has faced strong criticism for being slow to respond with relief aid in the aftermath of recent natural disasters.

Ottawa doubled its aid package to $80 million for victims of last year's Boxing Day tsunami in southeast Asia after its initial commitment was viewed as inadequate.

thank you kuwait, canada and other countries. God Bless you.

Trucks carrying food and medical supplies have begun arriving in the city worst affected by the earthquake that hit northern Pakistan and India.

Muzaffarabad, the capital of Pakistani-administered Kashmir, bore the brunt of Saturday's quake which killed at least 20,000 people.

However, there is anger among survivors over the lack of help from authorities.

Pakistani officials admit they were initially overwhelmed, but say the relief effort is gathering momentum.

Many states have responded to its call for tents, blankets and helicopters.

Map of earthquake zone
However, Pakistani Information Minister Sheikh Rashid Ahmed said more was needed.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Finally the people in the valley has recieved the much needed aid by ROAD, that's great news because you can only do limited things by air.

the roads must be opened as soon as possible. we just don't have enough air support/facilities to ferry all the goods and heavy equipment. When you think of places beyond Balakot, such as Kaghan and Narans valleys and how remote some of the villages are, it's extremely tough to think how the people in those regions would be coping with this calamity...

LOL!!

Well said!

As usual, the big brothers and the Uncle Sams have come to help when it is needed the most. I don't know why the idiotic hate mongers ignore this aspect before they cry "Kaafir".

Re: Thank you USA & Kuwait

Now the UAE has followed Kuwait and also donated $100 million to Pakistan.

**UAE donates USD 100 million for quake victims in Pakistan **](http://www.kuna.net.kw/Home/Story.aspx?Language=en&DSNO=778021)

http://www.nation.com.pk/daily/oct-2005/11/index2.php

200,000??? that is unfathomable

Allah (swt) have mercy

:frowning: