Early marriage is necessary

There was this 17-year-old brother that came to my husband weeping. He wanted to live a good halal life, and wanted to go overseas to study. He prayed five-times a day, stayed away from women, and even prayed tahajjud from time to time. His hormones were very high. He wanted desperately to get married. He had one major sin he committed time and again: masturbation. He’d stay away from that sin, and after two weeks he’s be distraught again. His parents agreed to marry him off, because the kid so badly wanted to stop sinning. The parents were poor and the boy had no money. Fasting wasn’t working either.

I told a sister about a single man that has memorized the Qur’an and wants to go overseas and study. She became excited until she found out he was only 17. After talking to her (with her brother present), she agreed to marry him. It’s been a year now, and mashallah, his depression is over. His sinning ended. The brother thanks me all the time whenever we talk. He’s so grateful to have a wife and that the sinning stopped. He told me that he actually became suicidal over his sinning.

There are so many single men. They do commit haraam, but I don’t think women can fully understand a man’s need for sex. Sometimes if you eliminate a man’s need for sex, it makes getting into the deen much easier.

There is a lot of psychological and health benefits from a good marriage. Being young, single and not going into haraam harms men. Having a lot of single men marauding around has not been good for Muslim countries. It’s not only for the sake of single young men, but society that’s damaged by single men, that single men need to get married.

Even the God-fearing single brothers really struggle with avoiding haram acts before their married. Thats why to prevent sins, young men are advised to marry young. When a man gets married, it becomes easier for him to focus on his deen without distractions.
Struggling with ones desires isnt just confined to impious brothers.

I lived in the Muslim world and will move back after my education. When I came back to America, I noticed a decrease in sexual assaults, not an increase. College-related assaults were 0 this year, and about 2 last year at my university. When you look at data from a decade ago, the numbers are much higher. Porn viewership by Muslims is higher than from non-Muslims. In Muslim magazines, they decided to post stories about girls being sexually abused by family and religious scholars (England).

This particular point, I don’t even get why you dispute it. There is so much literature in scientific journals on what happens to the body at high-levels of testosterone. They even injected women with male sex hormones to see what happens.

Think of it this way, what happens when people get hungry? The more a person starves, the more liberal a person becomes in eating objectionable material. People become cannibals. A lack of food turns people into animals. It’s the same with sex. A lack of sex can turn men into animals.

In many Muslim countries, even when the dowries are low, men still can’t marry. The unemployment is very high. It wasn’t too long ago I was in San’aa and women were begging on the streets.

While sex is increasing among Americans, they same isn’t true for sex crimes. Here is an article: http://www.usatoday.com/news/nation/2005-08-24-sex-crimes-cover_x.htm

If the united states got ride of statutory rape cases and cases involving underage girls sending their naked pictures to their boyfriends, sex crimes would be even lower.

It’s just not true, at least in America, that sex crimes are increasing. In Muslim countries, things are just getting worse.

One just has to come to a country like Egypt or even Pakistan to see that the men who pester women on the street are the unmarried, frustrated brothers. Groping of women etc is a serious issue that effects many egyptian women, and its mainly cos Egyptain men marry pretty late - society is negatively effected by too many single men.

Incest does happen in ultra-conservative Muslim societies. Because a single man is full of hormones and has no outlet, he’ll force himself on a relative.

Again, people fail to understand the male sex drive. They’ll be guys watching girls on TV, internet, etc. If they can’t get that, they’ll turn on family. If they can’t get that, they’ll turn on their own gender.

The most important thing is to get our Muslim men married. A lot of these men also act out and have harsh hearts. Considering they are full of testosterone, and don’t have a halal way to alleviate it, they’ve become irritable.

I have family and friends that live in Egypt, Pakistan and Saudia Arabia - many have spoken about issues to do with homosexuality, incest, pornagraphy, rape etc becoming an increasing issue amongst the Muslims, because due to cultural reasons (or financial reasons) men marry late.

What’s odd is, some of the threads, when they speak of early marriage (meaning under 18), the attention is focused on girls. The people that really need to get married early are men.

Early marriage is sunnah. The Prophet advised men to marry young. And young does not mean 24, 25 etc. it means around 15-17. Most of the Sahabah married at that age. In fact one Sahabi called Jabir bin Abdullah married a widow when he was 15/16.

Society and family members can help support their sons financially for early marriage. The prophet said that food for two is enough for three, food for three is enough for four etc.

and children bring their own rizq

Re: Early marriage is necessary

Married and older men in those countries (and others) also stare A LOT..

Bit simplistic and naive to paint marriage as some easy answer and Islam says the husband must be able to provide for the basic needs of his wife.. The sahaba always provided housing of some sort (the girls never moved in with inlaws).. You're conveniently not mentioning a lot of things..

How many married men ride their bikes around the streets and pester young girls?
Why is it that rape cases involve more unmarried men than married men?

Yes the husband must provide her her basic needs. Now define what you mean by basic? Will a one room flat do? Will only 3 simple meals a day do like it was in the prophet's time

and back in the sahabah's time everyone used to help out a new groom build a simple house and provide furniture and food

that is why parents and society should contribute financially to young marriages until the guy is stable enough to stand in their own feet

if this means less zina, homosexuality, incest, rape and molestations then so be it

are you married, sara abeeha bhai sahab

:) seriously? Crimes are not due to their sexual frustration, they're due to poor Iman in the first place. These countries also have high rates of corruption, white collar crime, gang membership, and mob mentality is that also due to lack of sex? And honestly men are getting married in their 20's in these countries and they're still committing sin. And masturbation isn't haraam.

Necessary for who and necessary for what. People should marry when they are sufficient to meet each others needs, find someone compatible and not reliant on parents. What if something happened to parents and they have no other source of income. Should they then be reliant on the state? Do you want to create an even worse image of us in the West? All of this just to prevent zina?? There is fasting, meditation, reading Quran and using that excess energy in exhausting exercise (boxing etc)?

There are other ways to prevent it. I always thought masturbation was makrooh rather than definitely haraam. Doesn't opinion on this vary? How do you know guys in married relationships won't masturbate if the wife doesn't have sex with them? Or would you advocate marital rape if the wife is not yielding? What if the married guy still likes to pass glances at young girls and especially likes to pick on young girls of other races? It is education, understanding religion properly that helps.

I agree lot of guys are repressed sexually and some of my female friends tell me of crazy stuff they faced on chat from guys who were very repressed. They should get married for sure but first make themselves worthy and ready for it. Girls don't oppose young marriage as some guys so its the guys you need to work on. Marriage would only work if the girl is still allowed to study, opportunity to work and not just expected to be at home. Marriage is a big responsibility. Not everyone is ready at that age.

Looks like from your article that the only reason to get married is to prevent guys from Zina.
guys should marry and marry young no matter if they are mentally and emotionally immature, doesn't earn on their own, haven't finished education etc, but still they should marry just because they need someone in bed with them?? This sounds ridiculous.
why do you forget that Islam has not put any specific age to get married and have not even made the marriage thing farz.
yes may be Islam promotes early marriages but the reason it is not made compulsory to marry young speaks for itself.
the circumstances for everyone is different and there is a wide gap between the ummah at the time of Prophet SAW and the ummah of today.
then people were simple, not materialistic, there were less egos between people, less jealousy, people were genuinely concerned for each others well being. they were not demanding. so in those days it was practical for the young boy to get married and supported by his parents, older siblings and uncles and aunts. the girls who marry into were also not demanding. they could do with a simple 3 times meals, clothes to cover themselves and a shelter that was just sufficient to a bare level. also in early times the boys started to earn pretty young. even in 1960s/70s my parents tell that men started to earn at the age of 17-18 and they got quite stable till they hit their mid-twenties. also the men and women of early times were more mature mentally and emotionally due to the kind of upbringing they had that they were able to handle the sensitive relationship of marriage quite well even at the early age.

do you think all this is prevalent now? people have changed. circumstances have changed. today with rising inflation do you think it is feasible to put the extra burden on your parents to support you, your wife and your kids for a time frame of lets say 7-10 years till you begin to earn?
and even if your parents are wealthy and can support you up to that time, it will have other social implications.
lets suppose one son is 16-17 years and gotten married and parents are supporting him and the DIL and other sons are older and married and supporting their families themselves, would this kind of set-up wont create ill feelings in them that why parents are supporting one son and wife and not us or we have to build our lives ourselves whereas our brother and his wife are enjoying on our parents money. as i said people have become more jealous, less tolerant and it gets difficult.

A bit too much. A 15-16 year old guy from today cannot be compared to the Prophets time.

I do not think people should marry before they are able to take care of themselves and a 15-16 year old today is probably not able to do so.

i appreciate the op's intentions behind starting.the thread and I would agree with her to tge word. she just pointed out at one illness or sin or crime whatever you called prevailed in the society. that people may agree with it or not is another thing.

Agree with OP. Unfortunately priorities have changed . Women stare at men's pockets and men stair at their boobs .

We all know it but no one wants to change.

married men are more frustrated

Who says they're 'mostly unmarried' apart from you??

You started a thread on how women should accept their husband taking another wife 'because it's his God-given right' so even in your own words you're admitting marriage doesn't stop men lusting after women..

And no it wasn't just '3 simple meals' in the Prophet's time.. 'Basic needs' has ALWAYS meant shelter with the bare minimum of a room with privacy, cooking area and toilet/wash room as well as being able to feed and clothe her..

why the cooking area? Isn’t it the rule that the wife is not supposed to cook for the houshold or husband islamically? So why is a kitchen part of bare minimum?? :konfused:

17 is too late. You have to save them earlier, 14 is the eye of the storm in terms of horniness.

i concur...it is for both chics and boyses.

Why not get an early start and get them married as kids just like in rural India?

Virginity is an important part of Indian culture, and parents want to ensure their daughters do not have pre-marital sex, and child marriage is an easy way to fix this.”
Child marriage in India - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Buttsb, if we're going to do it, let's do it right.
OP, bring forth your horny teenagers, we'll find them a good home.

If this initiative can save us from all kinds of atrocious desi romance, I'd say *Bismillah keejeeyay! *

She might want to cook for herself..

The world doesn’t have to revolve around hubby and inlaws..

Or people should just do away with religion, sleep with whoever they want, marry if they feel like it; just use protection and delay having kids until they have enough money. I mean you did give the example of the United States. Besides consensual zina has got to be lower level sin than rape.