E-Mail Rights

Now, I don’t really understand the concept other than that there must be some insecurity and fear involved.

But what is up with people who supervise, with or without permission, their partner’s e-mail? Be it a spouse, or a bf/gf, or finacee or whatever.

Now, does your luv bug really have the right to be snooping through your e-mails?

I guess the same applies to snail mail, and any office transactions etc, although I don’t see people snooping around in those areas much. Its mostly e-mail.

Why not just go to a spy company and get a tag put on your partner, so that you can bloody know every footstep they take in the day and also while you’re at it, why not hook them up to a lie dectector every night and quiz them on whether they’re really in love with you or not?

:mad:

Re: E-Mail Rights

You seem upset. Who has made the grave mistake of going through your e-mails to keep an eye on you?

both of us check each other's inboxes whenever needed.....
but Allah forbid ...its never for trust issues/insecurities

if u r not comfy , don't tell your password...! simple!

sheesh larki tumharay nakhray toba...if you don't want him checking your email just tell him .. why are you so insecure?

^ Koi hai hi nahi jisse mein bholoon. :hoonh:

I’m speaking in a general sense, not for myself. I’ve noted it amongst desis.

Within the family we know everybodies passwords. There is nothing to hide from the family. They can read my e-mails whenever they want. They don't as they respect my privacy. So that is great.

My SO has full access to my e-mails, my logins on various forums and basically everything save for my bankaccount. The same goes for me i have access to it all. But only check when she asks me to.

/\

same here

except for the SO wala part :D

what's a SO?

significant other

pyaricgudia, first of all i am heart broken that you already have a boyfriend. intizaar to kya hota. but seriously... please dump this loser if he wants to read your email all the time to see if you are cheating. i dont think he trusts you.

but if a gal "monitors" my email.... thats hot. makes me feel that she cares enuff to see if i am doubling. so you want my password?. ;)

PCG why shouldnt we all be able to exchange passwords with our significant others? Its not about snooping. I mean theres nothing wrong in it, unless they have something to hide :p

But seriously couples who have each other's passwords, dont go around checking each others emails every single day. They have the passwords, and thats enough. Its outmost trust as far as Im concerned. Nothing to do with being insecure.

Well, if you take your significant other’s password, I assume you will be checking their male. I mean, please, what kind of emergency are we talking about that you need to give your SO your password? Right…“Hi honey, I forgot my algebra homework, but its on my email - can you print it out and fax it to me?”

:rolleyes:

So, since giving your password means that your SO will be checking up on your e-mail…like why do that? You want to see what’s going on in their lives … then what are discussions for?

Therefore, checking your SO’s email is solely for insecurity. And insecurity only.

lolly - quiet.

arent u upset coz NO BODY cares to chek ur mails ??? y u reflect everythin around ? and since this issue dont even involve u, y u so arsed to discuss it ?

i have my brother's, sister's, frienz, and some gul who offered me her and some HACKED INTO pswds. so, wats the deal ?

^ Chup.

I imagine this to be quite a tricky issue with partners. We often don’t wish ANYONE other than the recipient to be reading our emails as we can tend to talk about things which we wouldn’t with anyone else (eg. with a friend). I don’t mean its private in the sense that we’d hide it from your other half but possibly you don’t want them to see you talk in that particular ‘manner’, if that makes sense. I can’t find the right words to explain it :bummer:

^ Well it doesn't have to be even that. I just don't see the necessity for it, or a cause.

If you do something, it must have a cause.

If you give out your password to SO, its because of insecurity
If you don't give out your password, then its either something that never crossed your mind, or you thought it was superfluous - in both cases you are secure that you're not cheating.

My emails are filled with business-y kind of stuff or academic stuff - why would I want to waste my time and someone else's time by sharing that kind of stuff in detail? I could mention if I got some email that I'm excited about - but otherwise, its like saying what you wore each day of your life - who really cares...?

Unless there is something to care about...and insecurity never makes for a good relationship.

If my husband ever ordered me to give him my password, I'd hit him.

/\

You dont need a reason to hit your husband :rolleyes:

Why wont you look for a guy who DOESNT ORDER ? :slight_smile:
Or do you assume he will be a jerk already? :o
If there are things on your mind you should discuss it with a guy BEFORE marriage.
Write it all down and when you meet a guy, discuss it with him.

There is no need to get all worked up about such stuff :smiley:

Sometimes its just curiosity, you want to see whos sending and saying what to your partner. You may not wish to ask them direct as it seems so trivial. But again that boils down to insecurity I suppose. But in today’s world does everyone REALLY know people as well as we think we do?

PCG, you’re definately not the kind of woman a husband would want to upset :rolleyes:

Actually with me its the exact opposite. My e-mails consist of the most personal stuff i can think of. My personal dealings with my family. My personal dealings with my friends. This is the stuff she normally does not see or get to see. I gave her my password so she would see it all. I personally hide nothing from her and she has seen my absolute worst side. It is a simple matter of trust. Considering 90% of all my interactions of personal significance occur via e-mail i am basically saying i hide nothing from you and you can see it all.

Now if you ask your SO to give you their password and they do not. Then there are serious trust issues.