Durood

Salam and Eid Mubarak,

For those of you that are adept in the Arabic language, please tell me if the wording/structure of the following durood is correct:

Allahumma salli wa sallim wa barik aala sayyidina Muhammadin wa aala aalihi wa sahbihi wa sallim.

I’ve heard that abundant and regular recitation of durood resolves problems and brings about many blessings. And I know that durood should ideally be recited solely for the love of the Prophet SAWS and not for worldly reasons. However, I was curious to know about people’s **personal experiences **with abundant durood recitation because that, too, can serve as motivation. Not lookin’ for a chiding lecture on intentions. Not lookin’ for a list of ahadith and other references about the benefits and virtues of durood because I can easily google that myself. I’m interested in hearing inspirational personal experiences with durood.

Jazak Allah

Re: Durood

I have experienced of finding lost things by reciting durood. Does this count inspirational personal experience?

95 views and no further responses? :(

I have heard of Durood as being the trigger to Allah (SWT)'s mercy. Once in a Jum'uah lecture, the Imam spoke of a man who was driving and how his car swung out of control due to a tyre burst. The man's first response was to recite Durood aloud and attributable to Allah (SWT)'s mercy, it came to a halt, bringing no harm to the man or the car.

Peace

I think I already replied in this thread. Is it duplicate thread :konfused:

I don’t think so. I haven’t come across any threads about inspiring durood accounts. Now if you have any such experiences or know of other people that have, then baraa-e-meherbaani do share them. We all can use some motivation.

*darood-e-Ibrahimi

اللَّهُمَّ صَلِّ علي مُحَمَّدٍ وَعَلي آلِ مُحَمَّدٍ کَماَ صَلَّيتَ عَلي اِبْرَاھِيمَ وَعَلي آلِ اِبْرَاھِيمَ اِنَّکَ حَمِيدُ مَجِيد, اللَّهُمَّ بَارِک عَلي مُحَمَّدٍ وَّ عَلي آلِ مُحَمَّدٍ کَمَا بَارَکتَ عَلي اِبرَا ھِيمَ وَعَلي آلِ اِبرَاھِيمَ اِنّکَ حَمِيدُ مَّجِيد

:confused:

:hinna:

No one else?

Walaikumussalam warahamtullah

I have experianced it..Alhamdulilah it really makes you feel out of worries..i was advised by two friends of mine during my hardship..they were like keep recitung astaghfar and darood...so i found it like a medicine...pain killer :)Walilahil Hamd
I remember i met an aunty during umrah she told me how much she has been blessed with just because she recites darood alot..Allah knows best..she was telling me her peaceful life..
May Allah make us among those who Love and His beloved prophet sallal laho alaihi wasallam and may we obey Allah and His messenger sallal laho alaihi wasallam until we return to Allah subhan wa ta'alla Ameen ya Rehman

I never recommend anything unless I have personally seen benefits of it. I dont want to delve into details but we faced such a tragic incident in our life which changed everything and my familys life was changed forever. We all started reciting durood in abudance, tasbeeh after tasbeeh, for two reasons, better worldly life and peace of mind. In two years we were alhumdullilah given so much by Allah that now it seems like a dream :) very grateful alhumdullilah.

People say your taqdeer cant be altered, but we dont know what is our taqdeer so always be sure that Allah want best for us and He can change anything anytime. Even now whenever I want something, I read different duas but durood is my favourite du to read. :)

This is not related but, surahs from Quran are also very powerful. For girls, my personal experience, my menstrual cycle was all over the place and I would go months without having periods. I started reading surah Maryam, because pregnant women read it too, so I thought to give it a try. I'm honestly telling you this, my periods became like clockwork after that and I recited for 3 months. Just to check lol I stopped afterwards nd my periods stopped too. So this is my believe that the surah was the reason for this change because I didn't do anything else.

Thank you for sharing; I appreciate it. Which durood did you recite?

Dua can change taqdeer but only if Allah haswritten that stipulation in the book. At least that's what I understood from the explanation of a mufti on the matter. So let's say that Allah had written in His book that you will get into an accident on such n such a day and that it will render you permanently paralyzed, thus changing the course of your life. But at the same time Allah may have written down the stipulation/condition that if you make dua for safety, then that life-altering accident will be averted from you. The mufti said that people 'think' that their dua alone changed their taqdeer, but what they don't understand is that Allah had already written down that their dua could change their taqdeer.

So, going by mufti's explanation, this would then mean that if Allah had not especially written down the dua stipulation for you, then you would definitely have gotten into that accident even if you did make dua. Sooo, this must mean that in order to 'change' taqdeer.....our dua will only stand a chance if Allah has written that our dua on such and such a day for such n such a matter will avert what was originally written. In that case changing of taqdeer depends more on what's written than on dua. That said, my understanding then is that we can make loads of dua for a matter but it won't change anything unless a stipulation was pre-written. The mufti even said that prophets were stopped by Allah from making duas for things that were not decreed.

My question to you now is this: I have heard from several sources that durood is very powerful. But unless Allah has written down the stipulation that your dua will change an aspect of your life, then even durood can't and won't change what's already written....correct?

^Anyone have any thoughts/knowledge about the above question?

I recited durood Ibrahimi. Its miraculous mashallah :)

That is that exact same definition I've understood, from tv thou, dr Zakir Naik answered someones question saying, you making dua is written too, if you made no effort (towards whatever iit is you want) and made no dua then thats what written. Allah knows what dua you are going to make, Allah knows if he will accept it, so your future is written but you are the one making those choices, Allah didn't want you to have an accident, maybe ur eyes werent on the road so you crashed. If you gave sadqa before going on that journey, that was written because Allah knows what you are going to give sadqa and increase your chances of staying safe.

I dont know if above is making sense but I see it simply as, we have free will in this world, so we cant put anything on Allah, otherwise why some people end up with horrible partners, i know someone who is a good person, been thru a lot in life but she got married to this guy who literally ruined her life, Allah did not make them get married to cause them pain, they chose to get married and for example if they had waited and did lot of dua, maybe they wouldn't have gotten married and found better partners. Allah knew they wont do any of that and will get married, that was their qadr (written in luh mehfuz).

About dua, I always say to myself that even one dua made sincerely goes up to Allah but for our peace of mind, we keep reciting durood or surahs, because man is a restless creature, we want to keep making dua for whatever we want untill we get it. I will not stop asking for something and making humanly efforts to get it, just by saying that Allah wont change my qadr anyway, that's a state of mayusi that we should stay away from. Best dua is saying Allah give me whats best for me, whilst I'm making efforts towards what I really want.

Sorry if I didn't answer your question properly. Bottomline: Durood is powerful and in my times of hardship I read it more then normal amount and Allah has blessed me so much. Sometimes when things dont work out, I find peace in thinking that I did all I could and Allah saw how I prayed, those prayers will manifest in some shape or form.

I know of people who came very, very, very close to getting married and they didn't. A friend of mine was jilted on her wedding day. There are cases where the baraat has gone back. I know of people who faced sooo many obstacles but ended up marrying each other in spite of them. My cousin rejected a rishta. Three years later she received rishta from the same guy and married him after receiving a green signal from istikhara. It was a disaster; the guy had two previously failed marriages. Keeping these examples in mind, perhaps marriage is predetermined the same way as our rizq and time of birth and death has been predetermined. At least that's what I've heard some folks say. In surah Ya Sin, Allah says that He has created all pairs from the earth, from ourselves, and from that which we do not know. So, does this imply that mates are predestined by Allah? What about the Muslim that marries a Hindu woman who takes no interest in converting and practicing Islam....would Allah destine a marriage that is essentially invalid? There are girls who try sooo hard to find rishta, but nothing happens. There are girls who put no effort and rishta comes and things happen. Even when one puts forth their best effort, the other person may reject you. Sometimes it happens that the the person you're engaged to be married to has a change of heart and ends things. It's said that Allah is muqallibul quloob or 'controller of the hearts.' How much of our actions and decisions are due to free-will and what percent is due to predestination....we will never know. I think that Qadar is a subject that even the muftis and ulema don't have complete knowledge about because you can counter their argument with various examples. It's said that Rasool SAWS told us not to think about destiny and the soul because complete knowledge of these two intricate things is only with Allah.

Peace Tempe5t

There are some problems with the way you are expressing the understanding of free will and predestination here. And it is quite clear what they are ... You have also not included in the concept of qaza and the idea of disastrous events is also not correctly understood by your post.

The pervading absolute is that Allah (SWT) Knows what we will do ... whether we get close to marriage and don't, whether a Muslim will marry a Hindu - and so on that you described above.

It is our responsibility to seek rishte and marry in accordance with the qaza of Allah (SWT) - That is in accordance with the best traditions, rules and guidelines and those methods that are undertaken and sanctioned by the Prophet (SAW), his companions (RA), the Salaf and the Awliya ...

Then that is not to say a marriage will work ... however, we can optimise our chances to keep a marriage longer by observing the rights of the spouse. And even then that is no guarantee to keep a marriage. If Allah (SWT) can make the Muslims lose battles in a war then He can also be in control of making the marriage and at the same time predestine for it a short existence and end it in some way - either through divorce or widowhood.

It is not for us to say that a marriage was not meant to be if it didn't last 6 months. Rather we should look to see what we could have done to make it last. If we find that it would not have lasted and a given couple just are not compatible - even then one cannot say that marriage was not meant to be ... Yes, if the marriage included evil, or was made on a false premise then that is clearly taken from the shari'ah and we know those marriages are wrong. But Allah (SWT) will allow those to take place to grant us free will. So if it is established that the shari'ah and Islamic guidelines were followed but the marriage had to end ... then we should accept that as a test from Allah (SWT). It does not infer the marriage was wrong to begin with ... it just means that Allah (SWT) had that written in to the destiny that so and so will get married and divorce after a while.

We are not held accountable for what is going to happen ... but if we do things that are against Islamic law then we will be held accountable for that.

Thank you, Psyah. Do you think that Allah has created a flip-side to everything so that we don't become complacent in a single mindset. Let me explain. We are told that we should exert effort. But I have read that a hadith states that even laziness is destined. We are told to purify our hearts. But it is said that Allah controls the hearts too. We are told that Allah tests most those that He loves. But suffering could also be a punishment given to a person in this world. There's a flip-side to everything, so that we can never be 100% certain what the divine reality is and I now wonder if Allah intended for it to be this way, for us to remain unsure, to remain in the middle so that we don't become too hopeful, nor too fearful, nor too resigned, nor too exhausted.

Peace Tempe5t

It is actually far simpler than that.

Allah (SWT) grants us our desires and the fruits of our efforts, but He has always known what those efforts and desires would be. To say otherwise is to accuse Allah (SWT) of being without knowledge.

Our efforts are of two types du'a and following the nizam (natural order) of Allah to logically follow a path to get us to our destination. If we want to go to a different country we usually fly there on plane. That plane had to be designed, tested, you had to go to the airport, go through customs, sit in the plane, someone - the pilot had to use the controls and it had to use the runway and the air had to flow over the aerofoil of the wings in order for it to go airborne. This is merely utilisation of the nizam of Allah. It is inherent in the air to allow things to travel in it ... It is the qadr of Allah put into air. So our efforts exploit the forces ... Physics is just another word for qadr. But we should follow qaza too ... That is His Divine Sanction. We need to follow the rules and guidance in order to stay in khair and not fall into shar ...

Falling in to evil is not the same as falling into hardship. Often evil may have no hardship at all. Often the good may be very hard indeed. Hardship comes to us for only two reasons in this Earthly life. As a wake up call or as a way to increase us in spiritual rank. The wake up call is to teach us the harms of oir own actions and the increase in spiritual rank is to test us for patience. The very best humans will be able to take calamities and love Allah through them realising that He gave those calamities to them and they have the ability to view anything given by Him as a gift - in the truest sense anything in this life is for our benefit ... But like a bitter medicine it is sometimes hard to swallow.

Islam teaches us optimism in the purest way ... Whatever happens and becomes past tense was always meant to be and is destined ... However, if we find that in whatever happens we didn't do what the situation needed us to do then for sure we are accountable for that. The laziest person could at least ask Allah for something ... But some people have not been blessed with the ability to even do du'a ... That means their choices gradually leads them further away from even wanting to ask Allah.

Suffering in this world cannot be a punishment as such nor pleasure in this world is a blessing per se ... But if after suffering we turn to Allah in guilt or help and if in pleasure we turn to Allah in thanks then both of these have been good for us. If however, suffering leads us to be absent from Allah or pleasure makes us sinful then the same things can be harmful for our souls.

Within the limits as prescribed for you strive and be as determind as ability enables you to be.

Have gratitude in your heart if your efforts then fail, because that was destiny.

Basically this means to be lazy is wrong ... We should try hard ... But not take any short cuts and not at any cost ... We don't set out to achieve things if those methods are haram, but within the limits we strive hard ... No cheating allowed. If after that we don't actually achieve what our aim was then we breathe a sigh of relief then we can say it was qadr ... And be happy in that state that Allah Himself intervened in our plans. What better pleasure is there that Allah (SWT) enforces His plans despite your greatest efforts?

Jazak Allah for these reminders; I needed them.

I've read Allah knows already what dua we will make before we even raise our hands. Allah is the one who placed the desire in our hearts to make dua for a certain thing. But what I want to know is that why does Allah inspire us to make dua for a particular desire that He does not intend to grant us?

Maulana Rumi gave an anecdote ... (Paraphrasing)

A man was in deep need of Allah (SWT) and was supplicating to Him (reciting many du'a) then a cynic walked past him and saw him then each day he would walk past he saw this man doing du'a. And then one day the cynic stopped.

"hey, how long have you been asking Allah (SWT) like this?"
"for many moons" the man replied.
"why are you wasting your time asking what is not going to be granted to you?" asked the cynic.

This brought the man in to a confused state. So he stopped supplicating and withdrew his arms. He fell into a sleep like state and dreamed.

Al-Khidr came to him in his dream.

"Why did you stop your du'a?" He asked him.
"I was made to realise my supplication was futile as it was not being accepted"
So Al-Khidr said, "Don't you get it? The state of supplication was the answer ... When people spend their lives preoccupied in the world, you were spending your time with your heart and mind towards Him. You were at the doorstep of Grace in your state of supplication"

So you see Allah (SWT) Loves to grant du'a as encouragement but also Loves to hold back granting du'a ... Because His slaves are closer to Him in the state of need. If we learn that each time something happens we turn to Allah (SWT) even when nothing seems to be answered that is when we know we are in His Divine Protection, because each time despite not getting what we wish for we turn back to Him ... And this is what we are Created for. Remember no du'a is lost ... It will be counted among the deeds of worship.

Lemme ask you this then...Do you not find that view to be idealistic? There are people who will spend months and even years making dua for a specific thing. Allah meri shadi falan banday se karvaa de. Allah mujhay falan bana de...falan jagah naukri dilaa de. They'll wake up for tahaujjad and make that dua. They'll make it during sujjood, during rain, while fasting. That particular dua/wish becomes their zidd. And in the process, they don't consider other options...cuz it is only that particular person/job/goal that they want. They become so consumed by that desire and making dua for it that they end up wasting months and even years of their life and it's not granted to them. Is it not impractical, harmful even?

There are many folks that advise against asking Allah persistently for a particular thing; instead they say it's better to say, "Allah give it to me if it's good for me. Do what is best for me." The counter argument is that Allah is closer to us than our jugular vein and He knows what's in our hearts, you can't lie to Him. He knows that your neutrality is an 'act' and that you'd much rather receive the specific thing you want, so when your creator knows you well just ask Him for exactly what you want. I've mixer feelings about this. I do believe that on should ask Allah for whatever their heart desires, but at the same time I know there's a danger in getting emotionally attached to a dua and to not have it fulflled.

There's a saying that is said to be hadith qudsi but I haven't confirmed. You may have heard it too:

Aye ibn-e-Adam

aik teri chahat hai aur aik meri chahat hai
Par hoga wohi...jo MERI chahat hai
Agar tu ne supard kar dia khud ko...jo MERI chahat hai
To main bakhsh doon ga tujhay jo teri chahat hai

Agar tu ne apni chahat ki zid ki
To main tujhe thakaa doon ga teri khwaish main
Phir hoga wohi jo MERI chahat hai

I've heard sufis advise people of detaching from their desires when they make dua, to not obsess over them. They say that when you make your dua and became 'careless and carefree' about it and leave outcome to Allah, woh cheez amooman qadmon main aa kar girti hai. And when you obsess over a dua, it runs away from you as will anything you chase. There may be some truth to this.