Dulla Bhatti of Punjab

What do you know of the person? I’ve only gotten to know about this brave soul recently, and his struggle is quite intriguing.

Please share your knowledge.

Re: Dulla Bhatti of Punjab

yeh me to, on hasb e haal. there are many like him who sacrificed fighting against the British. dont know where do we get more info about them.

Heard stories about him too, but heard he was a man who fought Mughals, then some say he fought British i'm confused

^hmm you are right, he fought against the mughals lol against akbar to be precise

i confused him with some other character

I know “wasta ai rab da tun jawain we kabotra chithi mery dhol non puhnchawin wey kabotra” Dulla Bhati ka gana hy bara mashhor:chai:

Suna hai rajput tha aur os ke bap dadaq ko akbar ne merwaiya tha tu intiqam main Akbar ka dushman aur Robin hood ki trha ameeron yani Akbar se mehngey gifts cheen ker ghareebon ko daita tha aur aik ghareeb larki ki shadi main bhi madad ki woh tu qisey kahanion main mashhor hy ziada janney ka shoq hy is ke bary main tu yeh movie dekhu main bhi dekhti hon abhi mili UT per:wink:

I know that he was brave and that I'm from his aal ...that's all.

I heard of him from the program mentioned up there, then did a little bit of my own digging around and stumbled on a folklore about him. I’ll post it here.

This is really interesting, thanks for sharing. Dulla Bhatti reminds me of William Wallace in many ways.

Yup. It was interesting, indeed. Know of any others like him? Or other popular tales that stem from actual accounts?

I find this aspect of history very relative, and easy to connect with. It is sort of like, a hero from among your own, and you can relate to the fact because it does not sound so Grand.

Its a shame that Pakistanis know so little about our history. Dullah Bhatti sounds like a major historic character that has been ignored.

^^ think for the positive point that such person did exist and not whining on that we couldnt remember him anymore..

Also you know what negative comments are given by many Pakistani to Quaid-e-azam and Allama Iqbal.

The only thing is how it is remembered.

I agree with you to a point that many of us do not realize the treasure of history that has been handed to us. All it requires is a little bit of research, and digging into the roots. Much like the saying "Nations that do not know their history, are bound to become irrelevant".

Reality of the matter is, there are so many unsung heroes from various parts of the land known today as Pakistan. Each of them worthy of a thousand texts. But only if we put in an effort to learn about our roots, our forgotten heroes, and aspirations. Much actions is needed. Awakening requires opening of both the eyes of the heart and soul.

You're right too brother. The overwhelming majority is sufficient to make the minor negativity irrelevant.

Funny thing, Abdullah Bhatti “Dulla bhatti” is still remembered at EVERY sikh wedding, at their Lohri festival in “Dulleh di var”.

This brave son of Panjab is only forgotten by Muslim Panjabis, not Sikhs.

Typical! What has Bhatti Dullah got to do with the imperialist dreams of Alexander the great! Sure these Sikhs remember things brilliantly… they even re-mix history!

Yaaar Haad hoti hain! :2guns:

I fear to think what would happen if Sihks had to preserve history! Not all of them are that bad but come one yaar this is not a nice mix-up. Just what has laexanders battle at Gaugamela got to do with Bhatti Dulla?

UUUFFFF

you referring to the video? I dont know who mixed the video with this song. every one knows the video is alexander’s army.

The song, however, is on dullah bhatti sung by kuldeep manak (whos real name is Latif Mohammad incidently, but thats a whole other topic :wink: ) and in the song no alexander is mentioned.

Heres "Dullah di var" with trans. as sung on Lohri festival:

Sunder mundriye hoe!

Tera kaun wicahara hoe!
Dullah bhatti walla hoe!
Dullahe di dhee vyayae hoe!
Ser shakkar payee hoe!
Kudi da laal pachaka hoe!
Kudi da saalu paatta hoe!
Salu kaun samete!
Mamhe choori kutti! zamidara lutti!
Zamindaar sudhaye!
bade bhole aaye!
Ek bhola reh gaya!
Sipahee pakad ke lai gaya!
Sipahee ne mari eet!
Sanoo de de lohri te teri jeeve jodi! (Cry or howl!)
Paheenve ro te phannve pit! ”
(Rhyming: beautiful one like a ringlet one!)
Who will save you poor one (to a rescued girl)
Dullah Bhatti is here for you (He rescued the girls who were abandoned and rejected after kidnap!)
The Duallah married off his daughter (the rescued girls were adopted by him as his daughters)
He gave a measure (sher about a kilo)of sugar!
The girl is wearing bridal red dress!
But her shawl is torn (poor and soiled-girl has been raped?)!
Who will stitch her shawl(repair her reputation)?!

Here is another version sung on different sikh festivals:

Sundar munderiye
Tera kaun vichaara
Dulla bhatti waala
Dulle ne dhii vehaayi
Ser shakkar paayi
Kudi da saalu paata
Kudi da jeeve chacha
Kudi de maame aaye
Gin gin paule laaye
Ikk paula khus geya
Te zimiindaar russ geya
Aayiin aayiin chachi
Tera putt chadhu ga haathi
Haathi de kann vich jaun
Ni tere putt hon ge nau
Nau(h)aan di kamaayi
Ni tere dar dar chadh di aayi

Also, did you know Akbar's son Jahangir (later emporer Jahangir), who was a weekling was breast fed by Duleh Bhatti's mother Ladhi!

Thanks for that, most interesting facts indeed. :k:

nice tune :music:

dulla bhatti was a real man.i love him