Dulha's Baree

the girl gets all the goodies- clothes, makeup, shoes, jewelry.. but what does the guy get? does he get 7 outfits (or any odd number) as well?

Re: dulha's baree

Poeple in Pakistan do give to the Dulha as well, a watch, some a ring, and some clothes too, 7-11 something like that. Colonge etc is also added at times. In Karachi the tradition is that the bride's family pays for the Dulha's barat clothes.

well eastern is right.........guy get a gold ring..............watch....gold chain or bracelet..........perfume and the girl side pay for his wedding sherwani..............

yeah, i know about the shaadi traditions.. i want to know what to give for the baree.. how many clothes.. how many shalwar kamizs, pants, shirts, what else goes into it.

gold stuff for muslim dulha???........ i think gold isn't allowed!
and wats with the odd number?? never heard about it? what if they are even number of juras!

i dont think dulha gets anything, i think baree is only for girl..
dulha gets the girl ;)

well yea gold is not allowed for muslim boys but still the girl's family have to give to the dulha........and yea i never heard that also have to give clothes to the dulha.......i thought only have to buy him the wedding sherwani..............for my sister wedding ............my mom gave my jeeju a watch, gold ring, perfume and 1 wedding sherwani........and yea salami and thats all

i don't know why people believe in this odd number thing.. even for salamis, most guests add one dollar, baree/jahez are given in odd numbers. i think giving dulha a few clothes can be a nice trend.. the girl gets to wear all her new jahez/baree clothes to dawats and looks all pretty being the newly married.. bechara larka shouldn't have to wear his old clothes. usko bhi tou kuch milna chahiye.

oh really is there any trend of giving odd number......... i never heard of it so dont know why its like that...........yea thats right becharai dulhe ko bhi kuch milna chahiye but yea i have notice one thing than when a couple go for a dawat than people will stare at the girl and from head to toe........lol thats funny.........they just want to see if her clothes are nice and if she have lots of jewellery.........one of my singaporian friend who got married to a pakki......she told me that when she went to pakistan for the 1st time than her mother in law will force her to wear all those heavy jewellery and clothes and than the mother in law told her that if she doesnt wear than people will think that she doesnt have any........poor she ..........

In our family, since it's hard to shop for guys, they get cash.

^^haha yeah, lots of show-shaa.

in our family, guys get a suitcase full of things. I dont think they get several pairs of outfits, just one suit, one shalwar kameez, one sleeping suit, shoes to go with the suit and shalwar kameez, a watch, and cologne.

^^^..... same in our family....... my cousin's hubby got a whole lot of things. even a set of hair burshs and combs.... and a toothbrush! :P ....... socks matching to the suits, and some basic colors. a whole set of handkerchiefs. plus set of cuflings, and other accessories for tie and shirt collars.
we gave him a sleeping suit... and a teddy bear, and that funy looking sleeping hat........ and then we made fun of him! :P

but ya.... there is dulha's baree for sure!! shaadi uss bichare ki bhi horahi hai............

shay9164........are you pathan...........

^nope.

haha subbo, that sounds so funny.

In our family we pay for the grooms walimah suit and his mehndi clothes. he also gets a silver wedding ring, watch, 7 suits from each side, and get this...a sword which has been passed down for generations, to represent our rajput heritage.

...and later on, if the couple have a son archers fire arrows and 1kg laddu are sent to all the relatives. 7 days later on the aqeeqah, you get the whole bend baja thing going on and a big feast in our haveli (which looks like a small fortress) in the village.

The dulha gets the dulhan...that should be enough :D

that sounds like so much fun!

on my nikka, my hubbie got ALOT of things..lol its a thing in my moms side that you should pamper the guy as much as the girl. my got a ring, watch, alot ofclothes. sunglasses. perfume. hair products. etc etc etc.. and it was all brandeddd!! i was quite jealous :P

^the odd number tradition is followed to the tee by the sikhs and hindu punjabis.

@ shay- usually the groom gets some dress shirts/pants/shalwar kurtas/khussas, etc.
most ppl give a watch for the grooms salami and/or cash.
wedding rings are becoming more and more common as well.