Dulha's Baree

Re: dulha's baree

I don't know about the odd number thing-honestly I have never heard of it.

My parents gave my husband a ring, watch, cash, perfume set, shaving set and some clothes. Obviously I got much more but their used to it lol

The odd number thing is to ward off the evil eye or so they say. We never gave anything to my husband and neither did he want it. But usually 7-11 outfits are given to the Dulhas. Mostly western wear but a shalwar kameez or 2 are added unless the Dulha specifies that he doesn't wear that. A shaving set is also added as someone mentioned above. Some people do give cash in lieu of Barri so teh Dulha can shop for himself.

Tabeebah, the sword thing is so cute!!!

^^^^ I think dua kare tu evil eye zidha achi tarha side peh rahye gi!! its just fazool ki rasmain..... no one in my family have followed it.... and Allah ka shukar hai... all the grooms are happy.

wisaye sari nazar dulhe ko hi lagni hai??? what about dulhan??? why not have her cloths in odd numbers as well???

shay, pleple belive in odd number things as islamically we can notice that odd numbers are the numbers that Allah SWT like more over the even, (eg, we worship 1 Allah,1 Quran,total salats are 5,) this is the logic behind giving salami, mundikhai and sadqa we make sure the amount shud be in odd figure.

At my uncle's wedding he got lodz of stuff from brides side as in 2 main Suits to be wore on wedding day and walima, shoes, wrist watch, shirts, pants, matching ties, colongues, matching socks and handkerchiefs, denim or old spice aftershave set. for dresses he chosed himself and was paid by girls side

more over larki walay also sent dresses for dulha's all siblings and for the spouces of married siblings, dress pieces for sisters and pant shirts for bro. and sarees for bhabis, my dad got pant n shirt, and my mum got beautiful saree (shoking pink) that she never wore and i have ill intentions for that hehe;)

your right about the significance of odd numbers in islam! nearly every ritual is done in odd numbers: tasbeeh in salah, washing in wudhu/ghusl, number of dates you eat and the most used numbers in the Qur'an are odd (especially 3 and 7).

i like odd numbers! in our family the girl also gets odd numbers of everything, with clothes its 11, 21, 31 etc. my mum and khala got 101 and 121 respectively!

many people also uphold the tradition of sath sohagan feeding mitai to the bride on the mehndi so why not give odd numbered things to the groom, he is also entitled to some traditions.

I have never heard of that odd number thing until now.....maybe I have never asked my Mum. Shay we gave my hubby a huge collection of clothes at the engagement - I didn't think we had to but I felt like it! For the wedding my mum gave him a good amount of slaami, with a watch, as well as getting his barat/mehndi outfits.

yeah, karachi tradition of the the grooms barri involves the wedding suits for the guy, shoes, hankercheif, tie, cufflings, silver watch, socks, shoes, even singlets all nicely girft packed,

then there is also a few evening wear kameez suits, dress pants, ties and those things,

there is also the ''pehnona'' which is the dresses/wedding style outfits for the grooms brothers, sisters, parents and immidiate family members.

this is what ive seen in all karachi waley shaddis i've been to. not too sure how it works in punjab and other areas in pakistan.

Dulhan's clothes are in odd numbers as well as the salami. I don't even think people know why it is, its just a tradition for them. I myself didn't get clothes in an odd number. Never considered it.

I thought a dulha getting a lot of presents from the girls parents was a tradition? My parents gave my husband a lot of things but we didn't really count the number of clothes so idont think it was a big deal to makesure it was odd.

hey, dont forget to get him the tape recorder, fully automatic washing machine and the suzuki fx.

Re: dulha’s baree

^:omg:

Re: dulha’s baree

I remember a few weddings I attended wayyyyyyyy back (10yrs back or even more than that) where the bhaabis of dulha and dulhan used to stand on a stage (or even a chair:D) and show the bari/gifts to the ladies :hehe: mostly the socks,vests and even i remember seeing undies stitched/pinned up on big towels :rotfl: and they showed it all from jewellery,walima jora,bari suits,shoes,purses,the beauty box and all..anyone remembers that era ? :smiley:

coming to the topic..My husband got shalwar suits,pants,dress shirts,3-4 sweaters/cardigans,shaving kit set,electric shaver in a brief case,ummm…aur kya tha…alcohol free perfumes (since husband is totally against using the alcoholic ones), cuff-links,ties,the walima suit of his choice,3-4 pairs of shoes (dad paid him to get whatever he like/fits in) a wrist watch, a gold ring (in my size ;)since he doesnt wear gold too-my parents insisted to give him one, he told to get it made in my size:P -so he got a ladies ring:hehe: ) buss..that’s all I remember.. my BIL got this all too as well.