Dubai

Re: Dubai

Well summarized, Aisha. You will find Pakistanis and Indians alike in every level of society in Dubai. From multi-millionaire down to poor labourer. The sheer number of Indians in this country is higher than that of Pakistanis though. And that is also evenly spread, ie you have more "poor" Indians than "poor" Pakistanis, but you also have more "rich" Indians than "rich" Pakistanis.

moinulatiq, you prob find rich and poor pakis in dubai in a similar ratio to the rich and poor pakis you find in pakistan itself..

exactly umer bhai thankyou, indians are more thats the only thing and coolguy i agree

I have worked and lived in Middle East for quiet sometime and I think you are way off in your conclusion. The majority of working class in Middle East is from India and Indians are well respected for their honesty and humbleness. Most Pakistanis there belong to labour-class and they earn money the hardest way possible on Earth. Labour laws are not well defined in the Middle East and the sponsors exploit that to their full benefits.

I can't say a thing about honesty of Indians as this might be your personal opinion but I have maintained that a corrupt muslim is much better than a non-muslim and Arabs too know and respect that. Some poor Pakistanis are corrupt out of desperation and although the world sees them the way they are, I understand their plight and know why they are the way they are!

dubai?..devout muslim country?

hehehe

dude you cry about "musharraf's liberalization" in one thread and then you refer to dubai or UAe as a devout muslim country

ahahahahah

I guess you dont know much about dubai at all

I was there for a week only :) But then its a country which allows foreigners and allows them to be the way they like to be and at the same time the muslims there are very devout- non muslims aren't citizen anyways hence it qualifies to be muslim country- how bout that?:)

errrr no it allows foriegners and locals, muslims and non muslims to do what they want, so clubs, booze, all that is a-okay.

its way way way more liberal than Pakistan, somethign you were crying about just a whiel back i.e. the liberalization of Pakistan ;)

yeah and locals are 'very' devout...is this the first time u left Pakistan btw?

so you have a choice

U were wrong then, or

you are wrong now

Take your pick :D

Sir jee, vekho- I have always stood by what I said and would always do, Inshallah. I know for sure that Dubai is way more liberal than Pakistan but only for non-musilims- who dont count anyway. My cabbie(sory to quote him so many times..) told me that muslims in Dubai are as pure and pious as they are in Pakistan for example. Sheikh didn't want to re-create Hejaz in Dubai cuz he could not afford to :) I still believe liberalizing Pakistan would be disastrous cuz we are better off a conservative islamic nation- my 2 cents, Pir Sahib :)

You have people telling you stuff about Dubai from personal experience, and the only way you counter them is by telling them what your "taxi driver" told you?

And inshallah you will always be a parah likha Jahil .....

hahha...2 funny

dude..dubai clubs and beaches and all are packed with muslims, please dont believe in everything your encyclopedia taxi-ania told u

moin ul atiq..... we have seen it with our own eyes...... ive been to many bars and clubs in dubai and have witnessed it firsthand...why are u so adamant that this taxi driver is right? He is probably only talking about his own social circle

Janaab how can I believe ya? you are Mr. Fraudia who drives on highway 420. :D Pataa nahin, maybe I didn't have enuf exposure.. if its happening, here's my question- are the muslims clerics sleeping in Dubai? What the heck are they doing?

really?? thats aweful if muslims are participating in non-islamic acts themselves

The muslim clerics are not the rulers of the UAE. They are kept in their limits.

As if they don’t do that in Pakistan or any other country for that matter. :rolleyes:

This has got to be one of the funniest threads yet… what I’m really wondering is this… if Moin has four brothers living in Dubai, what have they got to say about it? Why is he quoting a cabbie who went he went around the city with, and not his brothers who’re his family and should be a far more credible source.

Moin… there’re many of us here who’ve either lived in the Middle East or still do. You’re far better trusting our collective opinions rather than one person who’s notions are quite obviously subjective and limited to his own social circle.

I lived in the Emirates for fourteen years but I haven’t been back in a decade except for a short week long conference and a transit stop a couple of years ago. While the country has progressed in terms of its infrastructure, unfortunately, the living conditions for expatriate laborers are still despicable. Even the Human Rights Watch has described them as “less than human” in its recent report.

Subconsciously, the Emiratis are still slave to the Whites like they have been for multiple decades ; Pakistanis are still often referred to as “Hindis” (they cannot and sometimes will deliberately not differentiate among south asians), and no matter whether you have property there and a residential visa (note that this isn’t the same thing as “citizenship”), you will always be treated as second or third class citizen.

I’ve personally been doing some extensive research about the quality of life in the Emirates… I was contemplating moving there next year, but still can’t make up my mind since I keep hearing conflicting accounts and many negativities.

As far as the Indians v.s. Pakistanis debate goes, like Aisha said, Indians outnumber Pakistanis by a huge margin. One estimate that I read somewhere said that Indians make up 58% of Dubai’s population !! At the time when I was there, most of the affluent merchant and trader population were Indians, so it’s only logical to assume that they would have done well for themselves over the last decade when the economy was booming.

but the taxi wala said .....