Re: Dubai
One estimate that I read somewhere said that Indians make up 58% of Dubai’s population !!
Having lived in Dubai for almost a year now, I would say that the percentage is most likely higher than that.
One estimate that I read somewhere said that Indians make up 58% of Dubai’s population !!
Having lived in Dubai for almost a year now, I would say that the percentage is most likely higher than that.
i heard a news report, Indian expatriate community is 1.2 million, pakistani is 700k, HOWEVER this does not count people like me who are US citazens of Pakistani decent, the UK ones etc....i think the total population of UAE is 3.5 million...which means desis are over 50%.
Most interesting a recent study on languages in the UAE said English is #1, then Arabic then Urdu then malayalam then Hindi.
who’s above the clerics to decide their limits I am wondering :halo:
Assalam-o-alaikum bhai jaan,
I have read your posts- they are to the point and I am glad you help fellow pakistani brothers and sisters.. tuada wada shukriya.. I am glad you pointed out mistakes in my postings like an elder brother.. All my brothers were super busy when I visited them.. plus, they have lot of kids.. and they are busy with them all the time.. eldest of the four has 7 kids and he is very pareshan all the time..
Plus, I asked them these questions, they get upset as to why I am so interested about the stats and stuff.. some people from Pakistan are very serous.. esp..
Khair, the cabbie had a very different view than yours, bhaijaan- he was telling me otherwise.. I am shocked to learn what you and Umer sir have written.. I was under the impression that atleas in Dubai we’ve surpassed them in acheivements.. The cabbie was also a Punjabi and made me comfortable.. we ate together and he told me a lot about Dubai’s histories.. and showed me around.
Arrey hum Pakistani itney Tarraqi-pasand hain but why can’t we leave Indians behind? I guess its their population.. whatever we do, we will behind them in numbers.. they have large families and lot of kids, and since India 's not a nice place to live, they go and populate other countries.. :halo: Ab gal samajh aayee mere.. actually the reason they cud have (I still doubt though) are gotten affluent in DUbai is because of their networking.. I have seen that all Indians have very good network and understanding.. especally south indians like gujjarati and madrasi people.. good for em..
Arabs are slaves to the goras? hain? I saw a lot of goras working there though.. Why do Arabs refer us as Hindis too though? We look so different than Indians.. ? We have more central asian look.. No citizenship for muslims at all? why? why would they allow non-muslms and let em prosper and no citizenship for their muslims brothers??
anyway, the cabbie said he and his family are getting citizenship… I donno.. sometimes I am very confus:confused:ed..
They don’t do that in Pakistan in my knowledge.. I think our country is still okay with regards to respecting Islam. A lot of countries are still worse than ourse.
moin pai, dont lose heart - here’s some excellent news from today’s Dawn to cheer you up.
http://dawn.com/2007/05/17/top14.htm
Former Pakistani Army-man wins Dubai punctuality award.
Eldest of [my] four [brothers] has 7 kids
[Indians] have large families and lot of kids...they go and populate other countries
Your brother has 7 kids and you're complaining Indians have large families?
No citizenship for muslims at all? why? why would they allow non-muslms and let em prosper and no citizenship for their muslims brothers??
Doesnt matter muslim or not. No citizenship.
the cabbie said he and his family are getting citizenship...
You were lied to. You believed it.
I donno.. sometimes I am very confused..
I think it's more than being confused. It's ignorance.
I think moin is being sarcastic...
I have lived in the middle east for 12 years. Arabs treat pakistanis as $h!t.
If Indians have large families, we’ll have problems.. large families are good for us. I still am not sure- why would Arabs not treat us like brothers:confused:
^^ because they don't consider us brothers, they treat us like $h!t....
they are racist towards us, our people, our customs and traditions....
Really?? No, Why would they treat us like that though? We’ve been loyal to them and we are muslims.. dont they ever think of Ummah.. I am really outraged.. I was in Dubai for a couple of days.. like just 60 hours.. Please explain why they treat us like that?
Ummah bhi koi cheez hoti hai ![]()
^ coz tum chappar chappar bahut karte ho doosro ke khilaaf :p
i agree dubai is very liberal, far more than pakistan. and am sorry to say but the matter is not if ur paki or indian they will treat u well. the matter is if u have money they will treat u well. i myself have experimented and seen many times that in high fancy shops they see ur clothing and ur self and thats the way they behave, even in goverment sector when we go for different things like car registration etc etc they see if u have money and thats how they will act.
As I see it, there are two issues with it, one not so disturbing, the other quite.
Obviously the gentlemen is basing his opinion on a short chat with a taxi driver during a very short visit. It is not a very informed opinion...and that is not a problem...many of you have answered him, based on your stays and experiences. I think it would help him get a complete picture. This is how we learn and grow. This really does not bother me...what bothers me is the attitude of intollence, xenophobia and close mindedness towards persons of other nationalities and religion...namely Hindus or Indians. Do not get me wrong, being proud of ones own heritage is noble, I my self am very pround of my Pakistani roots and heritage...the problem happens when this pride leads to exclusiveness and arrogance. Goodness is not the property of one nation, there are good and noble people in all nations and religions....not exclusivley to Pakistani, and if you read the post, it gives an impression that it is only Pakistanis and not just any Pakistani, just the Panjabi...may be we can take the argument further and say not just any Panjabi, but the Panjabis of a particular caste, and why should we stop there...because certainly not all members of a particular caste are good, so let it make it more exclusive to a particular family, and then why stop there.... Look with all the violence around us, do we really need these kinds of sentiments...there has to be a voice of tolerance, sanity.
If I were a Hindu or an Indian (which I am not) I would have felt really insulted by the Post. I would not have felt included. I hope there is room for all in this forum.
As I see it, there are two issues with it, one not so disturbing, the other quite.
Obviously the gentlemen is basing his opinion on a short chat with a taxi driver during a very short visit. It is not a very informed opinion...and that is not a problem...many of you have answered him, based on your stays and experiences. I think it would help him get a complete picture. This is how we learn and grow. This really does not bother me...what bothers me is the attitude of intollence, xenophobia and close mindedness towards persons of other nationalities and religion...namely Hindus or Indians. Do not get me wrong, being proud of ones own heritage is noble, I my self am very pround of my Pakistani roots and heritage...the problem happens when this pride leads to exclusiveness and arrogance. Goodness is not the property of one nation, there are good and noble people in all nations and religions....not exclusivley to Pakistani, and if you read the post, it gives an impression that it is only Pakistanis and not just any Pakistani, just the Panjabi...may be we can take the argument further and say not just any Panjabi, but the Panjabis of a particular caste, and why should we stop there...because certainly not all members of a particular caste are good, so let it make it more exclusive to a particular family, and then why stop there.... Look with all the violence around us, do we really need these kinds of sentiments...there has to be a voice of tolerance, sanity.
If I were a Hindu or an Indian (which I am not) I would have felt really insulted by the Post. I would not have felt included. I hope there is room for all in this forum.
very well said ^ thats my point that it doesnt matter for them if we are hindu or pakistani. money is what matters to them.
WTH? Did you even read what she said. Saadia takes issue with moin.ul.atiq's own superiority complex. She does not agree with you. And because you didnt read her post, you cant agree with her.
Your "money is what matters" argument is idealistic. You ignore the issue of racial subordination entirely. Why are South Asians working menial, low wage jobs in Dubai? Why are South Asian professionals paid less than their Arab or Gora counterparts? Why does a UK trained Desi CA not get promoted when a UK trained Gora CA does?
Sure money helps - but not enough to offset the great hierarchy of race. You can have a million dollars and dress in the finest clothing but you will be treated worse than an Arab or Gora with the same designer suit and bank balance. Line up a bunch of millionaires from the US, India, Germany, France, Saudi Arabia, Lebanon, Pakistan, Japan, China ...then ask an Arab to spit on two of them. He'll pick the South Asians.
WTH? Did you even read what she said. Saadia takes issue with moin.ul.atiq's own superiority complex. She does not agree with you. And because you didnt read her post, you cant agree with her.
Your "money is what matters" argument is idealistic. You ignore the issue of racial subordination entirely. Why are South Asians working menial, low wage jobs in Dubai? Why are South Asian professionals paid less than their Arab or Gora counterparts? Why does a UK trained Desi CA not get promoted when a UK trained Gora CA does?
These are indeed bitter reality! My freind from Jeddah told me the arabs called goras "khawaja" there and whatever Khawaja says that are the final words and everyone has to comply them.
Sure money helps - but not enough to offset the great hierarchy of race. You can have a million dollars and dress in the finest clothing but you will be treated worse than an Arab or Gora with the same designer suit and bank balance. Line up a bunch of millionaires from the US, India, Germany, France, Saudi Arabia, Lebanon, Pakistan, Japan, China ...then ask an Arab to spit on two of them. He'll pick the South Asians.
i dont agree with u unfortunatly. south asians in my opinion are more successful than goras here. sure some organisations prefer goras but its their choice and its not only the south asians but the nationals who were also treated in the same way hence the emiratisation scheme. so u cannot say that all south asians have meager jobs in dubai and they only prefer other nationalities, infact if u want to know something interesting emirates airlines prefers asian air hostesses. as for what she said i was agreeing with what wrote and WTF yes i read what she wrote. as far as i can say money does offset everything u have to be here to realize this.
Dear Moin.. if you dont mind but could I remind you to be a little more sensitive in how you say things.. you may be offending our Indian community here on GS and GS as far as I know encourages tolerance and respect of each other beliefs and religions… thank you…
yes Dubai has an enticing veneer- its mammoth high tech constructions…very cosmopolitan communty.. however the reality is that whilst this veneer is projected to the global community.. one mustnt forget that there is a community of REAL people and a life that wouldnt share your sentiments…its nice to bear this in mind…