Places to See So Far:

• Jumeria Beach
  • Desert Safari
  • Boat Ride
  • Open Top Bus
  • Wonder Bus
  • Wild Wadi (Water park)
  • Cable car ride

**Places to shop: **(Require extra help here!)

• Burjuman

Places to Eat:

Please list

• (none) so far

Re: Dubai Help: Shopping & Places to See

Places to See So Far:

• Al Mamzar Park cum beach is good and very cheap too. AED.30/- ticket per car. Next to the beach, it has hut types rooms available on cheap rates per night. Has seperate swimming pool (mixed), volleyball court, etc.

• Jet skiis for AED.90 or more per ride available next to Al Garhoud bridge. There is a small road leading you to the spot. There are no sign baords for the location.

• Dubai Museum in Bur Dubai. It is very small but interesting for tourists.

• Khorfakkan beach. The one to reach through the mountains. You'd also find big desert lizards there.

• Jabel Hafith in Al Ain is a must see. Also Al Ain Zoo.

Places to shop:

• Deira City Centre. There's nothing you would not find there. Especially Carrefoure in Deira City Centre has everything you may need. Burjuman is very small.

• Now there is a new mall "Ibn-e-Batutta" mall but no comments on that one yet.

• For cheap shopping for electronics especially if you are looking for bargaining is Deira bazar. But in this warm weather, you would prefer to spend a few extra dirhams at City Centre, Carrefour to avoid the heat and bargaining. There promotions on mobile phones should not be missed.

• Meena bazar in Bur Dubai but it is expensive as compared to Deira market.

• Naif Souk is almost combined with Deira bazar and is good for bargaining for clothes.

• Karama market is good for ready made fashionable western clothes but prices are much higher. You would prefer to spend a few extra dirhams and buy branded clothes.

• LuLu Centre has several branches in all the areas. They run promotions on mobile phones.

Places to Eat:

• Pak Ghazi - a decades old resturant with excellent Pakistani food. They have two branches. In Deira and Sharjah. Both located in conjusted areas. Parking is hard to find.

• Karachi Darbar has many branches in almost all the areas all over the city. Most branches have good food.

• Daily resturant, Bur Dubai - good food.

• Food court in Deira City Centre has almost all the fast food outlets. Also Arabic and sea food. You can get a plate of Lobster for AED.65/- from one of the seafood outlets.

• Riqqa road is also full of many fast food outlets.

• Pak Ghazi's Deira branch is 7 minutes drive from Riqqa road when there is no traffic. Puri halwa is a must try from there.

Note: It is expensive to travel by cabs. If you have an international driver's license, it is adviseable to hire a fully insured car if you have someone to guide you through the routes. The rate for a small car start from AED.100-120 or more per day.

thanks MysteriousGirl. I am using these maps to locate the places u have mentioned

Just a few more questions:

• Is it cheaper to use the public transport? if so, where is the bus station located? We will be staying in a hotel close to Bur Dubai/Burjuman shopping centre.

• where about is the safari desert? can u point it out on the map?

• I think Daily restuarant will be close to where we will be staying.

• Are camel rides available on the beach?

• where can I find the open air tour bus?

• Would you say it is fairly cheap for eating out/shopping/site seeing? (just so that i take more than enough money to last me a week)

Can’t think of anything else at the moment…

'Naif Souk' are u referring to the area close to the spice/gold souk?

It is way cheaper to use the bus system and it is very fast. I found everyone is really helpful to tell you which bus routes to use to get to Burj ul Arab and City Centre. There are a lot of pakistani/indians in Dubai and almost everyone knows English. Beware of the bus-drivers. I asked the bus-driver how much it is to ride the bus and he told me 1.50 dirham but everyone else was paying 1!! Make sure you don't give your fare to the bus driver, but you put it in the box. So keep lots of change with you when riding to avoid getting ripped off by the driver.

Also, the hotel we were staying at had a shuttle bus with drop-offs at Deira City Centre and Souk, but remember that a lot of things close for the afternoon and open around 5pm to 1am.

• Is it cheaper to use the public transport?

• Yes, I think it is much cheaper as compared to taxis.

• if so, where is the bus station located?

• Bus stations are located at manyl point within the city. You may not have trouble locating them. These are on almost every road.

We will be staying in a hotel close to Bur Dubai/Burjuman shopping centre.

*Meena Bazar would be closed to you. Daily Resturant also. There are some eating outlets in Meena Bazar also.

• where about is the safari desert? can u point it out on the map?

*I do not see maps in the link you have given. But desert safari are provided by many tours and adventure companies. You can get the tlephone numbers by dialing the local directory inquiry services on 181 or even from your hotel. Many hotels can book you with these companies for a day's adventure in the desert. I'll have to check about the rates. Not sure about that one.

• I think Daily restuarant will be close to where we will be staying.

*Yes

• Are camel rides available on the beach?

• No, maybe in Mina Seyahi but not on normal beaches. But I dont think even in Mina sehyahi. Camel rides may be available in the deserts but not on beaches.

• where can I find the open air tour bus?

• You can check from your hotel. Usually that is arranged by the hotel but just recently some new company has introduced this too. I think the name is "Dubai Tours" but I'll have to check that too. But you can spot these yellow/red colored open tourist buses on the road. And I think it also advertises their toll-free number on the bus in large fonts.

• Would you say it is fairly cheap for eating out/shopping/site seeing? (just so that i take more than enough money to last me a week)

• I would say that the food is very cheap as compared with the food prices in european countries. Most people come to shop in the place because they find it cheap especially gold. About sight seeing, would not know much but if you hire a car, you can do your own sight seeing.

great! thanks!

Thanks MG for the detailed replies.

What is the best place to buy gold gifts for the ladies (Gold Souk?), is the gold price about the same in every place?

'Naif Souk' are u referring to the area close to the spice/gold souk?

• No, Naif Souk is not closed to the Gold/spice souk. It is near Nasr Square. At the Other end of it is Deira Souk. But Gold souk is quite a distance. Gold Souk is in the same area as Spice souk.

The best place to buy gold would be Gold Souk but you have to be very careful. A lot of bargain goes on there. You have to be careful. The gold price is the same but many charge you heavily for the making. You have to be very good in bargaining.

What about Food Places - are they 100% halal?

Yes! 100% Halal. Don't forget to visit Ibrahimi resturant for a night buffet.

I didn't really find the buffet at the hotel I stayed at very good.

It seemed like they were catering mostly to Australians/Europeans with their breakfast of phikkey scrambeled eggs and sausages and halal bacon and french fries. and the same stuff for lunch/dinner. Such a disapointment, so I preferred to eat from the starbucks in CityCentre.

If that is near the Burjuman centre…then i’ll definately go out there in the evening!

Yes! Thats the one.

Is meena Bzaar part of the bur-dubai old souk?

Wild Wadi was a blast!

In places to eat at, there is a new restaurant by the name of Dum Pukht, owned supposedly by the manager of pc lahore. serves good food and the roti feels just like home-made. also Dawat is recommended, if someone hasn't already mentioned that.

on a related note, there was a stark contrast b/w how 14th aug and 15th aug were celebrated here. time to think, eh?

there are also a couple of other good places here but those are not being discussed :p

also, the paid beach/jumairah beach park is open ONLY for ladies and children on Saturdays-nobody told us that!

i actually quite like the city, bohat saaf suthra aur systematic hai.

^ thanks

I have visited Dubai around 3 times ...and I really like the lifestyle. Wonder if you managed to visit Dubai Marina ..they have a restauarant called "Rupee Room" . They have a buffet during the day. It has really nice food and I thought it was worth mentioning

^ No didn't get to see this part of Dubai, Is it just a plot of buildings/apartments with sea view?

nahi ...i think this is what everybody assumes at the outset ...this is the newest part of Dubai ...when i visited last year this is when the apartments were in construction ...Dubai Marina (AL murjan and Co) is complete and it has its own complex. Many arabs, pple like Asha Bhosle and Salman Khan own apartments there. I know pple shy away from staying in apartments over hotels but these apartments are like penthouses ...and i bet from your experience in Dubai everything that is say 3star in any other part of the world is equivalent to being a 5 star in dubai?! We stayed there and on our return since then ( I have been back twice) we styed in the same marina. Except that now that they are busy completing the other towers and the palm etc.
Where abouts did you stay? And were you pleasantly surprised by Dubai and what it has to offer? Everybody that knows me can understand how much me and my friends loved the lifestyle out on an overall basis, whether you want to take your children, your family or just relax with friends; do you not feel it caters for everyone? But of course still maintaining its traditional roots.