Drowning PML(Q)

Group led by Fatyana takes on Faisal Hayat: 8 MNAs boycott meeting

** By Ahmed Hassan**
ISLAMABAD, April 17: Eight members of a dissident group in the Pakistan Muslim League-Q walked out of a parliamentary party meeting in protest against former minister Faisal Saleh Hayat being in the chair.

The dissidents had gathered at the residence of Riaz Fatyana on Tuesday and decided to form a group of ‘likeminded’ lawmakers from the four provinces in the National Assembly and to play their role of the ‘real’ opposition.

MNA Chaudhry Wajahat Hussain had earlier dismissed reports about formation of the group and announced that the issue would be settled in Thursday’s parliamentary party meeting.

PML-Q chief Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain is abroad for medial check-up.

The group led by Mr Fatyana and Kashmala Tariq objected to Mr Hayat presiding over the meeting. Mr Hayat had been appointed the PML-Q parliamentary leader by Chaudhry Shujaat.

Sources said Ms Tariq exchanged harsh words with Mr Hayat.

Talking to newsmen after the walkout, she said her group comprised more than 30 lawmakers who rejected Mr Hayat as the parliamentary party leader. She said the number of dissidents would increase if the party leadership ignored their protest.

She said the group would elect its own parliamentary leader soon.

The MNAs who walked out of the meeting included Nasrullah Bijarani, Noman Langrial and Israr Tareen. Ms Tariq said eight MNAs had walked out.

Mr Hayat said: “The party leaders have picked me for the position of parliamentary leader and I am chairing the meeting in that capacity.”

Ms Tariq and her supporters demanded that the former PPP Patriots minister present a party notification about his appointment.

She told newsmen that the main grievance of her group was that the party had ignored the smaller provinces and given the posts of the leader of the opposition, parliamentary leader and chief whip to lawmakers from Punjab. She alleged that a ‘gang of four’ — former PPP Patriots members Riaz Pirzada, Mr Hayat, Sheikh Waqas and Raza Hayat Harraj — had been imposed on the party.

She claimed that her group also had the support of 26 members of the Punjab assembly.

Mr Fatyana said the party leadership had abandoned the role of opposition, which was evident from the fact that the opposition had only two items on the agenda for the private members’ day on Tuesday.

http://www.dawn.com/2008/04/18/nat1.htm

Is this the end of PML(Q) as we know it?..share your thoughts. share your predictions…share your sheer joy! I know you want to.

Re: Drowning PML(Q)

Lotas always end up in the same destination, the toilet!

Q League are even going to vote for the restoration of judges bill, in the NA

Such lotas :cb:

I don't get it. Do you guys achieve ejaculations by using words like lota/drown/dead/death when mentioning the previous administration? I didn't know that was part of demo(n)ocracy. Maybe its part of the paindo production that people can't let go of. Maybe its both.

Aww there there! :( I feel the sorrow and bitterness right through your words, my past-loving friend.

Maybe it's just that you forget that PML(Q) was just a rubber stamp party formed to legalize an illegal ruler. That's why people use the terms they used when describing a party of such undignified morals.

Don't worry when PPP/PML(N)/MQM (err cross that one out....)/ANP and others follow the ways of PML(Q) i won't turn a blind eye, unlike Musharraf supporters, whose conscience is active only after Feb. 18, but before that all was kosher as long as he gave the orders.

Absolutely kosher. A military discipline was definitely needed to enforce economic laws among other things. Pakistan is in no condition for democracy, and opportunistic rich monopolies jumped on the democracy wagon to sieze power. Calling someone a lota will not help eradicate extremism, illiteracy and poverty, which are the main issues in pakistan right now.

if ur new to pak politics, you should know the biggest enterprise of Pakistan (its Military) interfere into civil governments either when civil rules get too strong or simply when the Golden Egg chicken is going bankcrupt. They need to keep Pakistan in a state where it doesn't get too democratical and at the same time financially capable of supporting the white elephant (our military).

na jeenay deingay na hi marne deingay. The crookes like NS, Zardari, Altaf, Chaudhries were all created by our beloved military. So this game shall continue as long as Pakistan survives. Corrupt politicians bhi khoosh tou military bhi khoosh. The game of kaalay angrez = elites will continue with new faces added every decade.

No you don't.

Smooth bro! you win either way. Did you try to read your post before hitting the "submit" button?

You start with saying "if ur new to pak politics, you should know ........"

But then you conveniently forget the follow:

Only a newbie would blame military for all the ills.

Only a newbie would forget that ZAB threatened leg-break-googly to anyone going to Dhaka after 1971.

Only a newbie would forget that ZAB was known to heap physical abuse on his opponents.

Only a newbie would forget that ZAB maintained Dulai torture camp.

Only a newbie would forget that ZAB was the first leader to order air-strikes in Balochistan.

Only a newbie would forget how in 1999 politicians were ready to kill each other or try to kill planeload of people to get rid of one general.

Only a newbie would ignore that even in 2008,PPP jialas are ready to abused their opponent leader right in the middle of Sindh Assembly.

Sorry for repetition, but there are so many Pakistanis with so little memory, even about the recent past. Generals are no angels, but at least they keep the order in the country to the best level they can.
And only a newbie would not know that Military comes in when civilians create anarchy because they can't work together (period). No conspiracy theories please.

It was an unnatural party w/o a political base & its sole purpose was to shore up the dictatorship by providing it the cover of legitimacy. End result, it will disappear with due time like many versions of Muslim Leagues that came before it…

Pro-Musharraf party begins to crumble
Web posted at: 4/20/2008 3:1:12
Source ::: Internews

KARACHI • The pro-Musharraf former ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Q, is passing through worst crisis as cracks are appearing among its ranks day by day and its leaders are either establishing forward blocs within the party or joining hands with its rivals PML-N or the PPP.

The political analysts say party was part of the ruling junta and when it suffered a crushing defeat in the Feb 18 general elections, its members start jettisoning the drowning PML-Q ship immediately, either through forming forward blocs or leaving the party for their political survival.

A perception has emerged among the political analysts after formation of the forward blocs of the PML-Q leaders three days back while several others including MNAs and MPAs in all the four provinces have already left the party and joined either of the two main parties.

When contacted, political analyst, Aamir Ahmed Khan, said that whenever a political party loses legitimacy, the process of its disintegration starts and the same is happening with the PML-Q.

He observed that it has been a tradition in Pakistani politics that a part of Muslim League always is created for establishing a government in the name of democracy and when that regime loses power, the same very PML faction, which had entered the corridors of power, starts disintegrating and eventually the party divides into numerous factions. Forward blocs appear within the party and cracks occur in its ranks and the PML-Q is experiencing the same fate these days.

He said “now a days whatever PML-Q facing is a natural process which always happened to such parties which lose their political legitimacy among the masses and eventually such a group of opportunists disappears from political scenario”.

Khan was of view that a lot of efforts had been done to do the same with the largest party in the country, PPP, by creating factions and groups within its ranks.

Alhamdulilallah. Everything going to plan.

PPP is the chosen pary, and thankfully everything is being put in place to remove PLM (N) dictating to PPP as the govt moves forward. The plan has been to use baychari PML (N) initially and move forward with forward blocks and new party creations to support the PPP as PML (N) has the rug pulled from underneath it.

PPP cannot be seen to be doing business directly with PML (Q), but with the clever tactics of king makers, PPP will be rid of PML (N) with the support of the creations that are taking place.

Children will of-course not understand this. Just sit back and enjoy the show. :)

What a wishful thinking!:D

right...but through this ,the gaining party will be pml(n) in the long run..
nawaz sharif has played his cards very intelligently....
and he said while campaigning before elections that we are not preparing for these elections but for the elections after these...
he knows the sentiments of people more than any other party and has dealt intelligently with the issue of judges....
and i think that ppp will suffer at the end....

I agree, PML (N) has played their cards smartly, and they are eyeing the next elections, PML(N) is enjoying the both sides of the democracy, they are with the ruling coalition with their firms stand on certian issues, and they are kind of opposition to PPP...

on the other hand, PML(Q), after the removal of uniform is standing naked in front of the nation and is trying to cover themselves by creating issues in the party.

Kashmala Tariq, to me is a opportunist, She Enjoyed the company of Gen. Mush for five years and now suddenly she is sorry for that and he remembered that there are people (in some part of the world also known as humans) and principal and all that#$%@*....

Actually you do not understand the super intelligence of Aalsi....this is exactly the grand plan...PPP will safeguard the unpopular dictator...will become unpopular in the process...and PML N will come to power...this is exactly what the dictator wants...sit back and enjoy the show...PPP is the chosen party now instead of PML Q to face public wrath/insults by siding with the illegal dictator...the only worry now is if PPP does not play the grand script written by the illegal dictator...for that the illegal dictator is already checking flight schedules out of the country...

PML(Q) may be drowning, but guess who has drowned. Imran Khan yes. He opposed the government, but he did not run in the election. The opposition won the election and took over the government. Now he cannot talk against Musharraf, because the new government is in place now. He cannot talk against PPP or PMLN, because he has been supporting them against Musharraf. In pakistan where politics is driven by the ANTI-votes, he stands nowhere now. This is really the end of his politics, as he has no issues anymore to talk about.

yeah...and they haven't learnt any thing yet....
how they reacted on the issues of sherafgan and arbab is really stupid...
straightaway the blamed pmln and ppp for these incidents....
and these things are increasing their hatred in the general public....
the arbab fame shoe has been auctioned and the auction has reached 20lacs. still they are not learning.....