Dramas

What's a good drama worth binge watching these days? I haven't kept up with the Pakistani entertainment seen in about 3-5 years at least.
Please avoid recommendations where the heroine has no spine. Which seems like 90% of dramas these days.

Ranjha Ranjha Kardi

It's a little different than what normal Pakistani dramas have to offfer.

All trash all trash

3 Likes

Khuda Mera Bhi Hai - you want a girl with a spine? no one better than this chick
Aangan - comedy and drama all in one, full entertainment
Baaghi - based on Qandeel Baloch's life, also a badass

bisaat-e-dil
band khirkiyaan
baandi

Cheekh

Ranja ranja kardi

Baaghi even though can't bring myself to watch the last episode yet

The only dramas that I have watched more than once are Malaal and Shehr-e-Zaat. I liked Malal better though. Both are considerably old though...came out several years ago. I've only watched bits and pieces of the more current dramas; never saw them to completion.

Malal has a very fresh, modern feel to it. It's a very well-made drama that deals with the double standards society has about age especially. The story is set in New York (I believe) and it opens with Danish and Zeenia who are two unmarried best friends in their 30's. They've known each other for years and they act like spouses. Danish is set to visit Pakistan and before doing so, he lets Zeenia know that he plans to tell his mother that he wishes to marry Zeenia; an indirect proposal of sorts. Zeenia's elation is a short-lived one because Danish's mother gets him married to a girl who is much, much younger than him. When Danish returns to New York with his bride in tow, Zeenia plays the gracious hostess in the midst of a bleeding heart. In the process of moving on from Danish, Zeenia runs into a Jawad on the subway who is smitten with her from Day 1. Jawad is considerably younger than Zeenia and because of this she assumes that there are "opportunistic" motives behind his flirtatious attentions. So she spurns him repeatedly but he has the persistence of a mosquito. This drama explores the issue of compatibility versus age in relationships. Zeenia is actually an Indian actress; an earthy beauty who kind of looks like an older Priyanka Chopra. She's carried off her role with such grace. There are a couple of annoying angles and characters...but overall...a good watch (in my opinion).

2 Likes

I think you should watch the Pakistani dramas they are very good as story wise and our actors are very cool..

Cheekh

Cheekh of course...
Sb tareef kr rhey is ki....

Ji haan Sindhi aisai hi hotai hain Punjab mai.

Hawa chalti rahai gi hawa chalti rahai gi hawa chalti rahai gi.

Settled down to watch cheekh, keeps coming up on my newsfeed. It?s good so far.

Just recently started watching pk dramas after successfully avoiding them so far (except Humsafar). Who's watching Yeh dil mera? And ghalati? I like both of them so far. Alif looks good too, that will be the next one.

I hope to avoid overhyped meray paas tum ho.

For now, I m not watching any drama serial...
But planning to watch Alif as I get enough time, heard its good

watch Balaa, Ruswai, and Khuda Mera Bhi Hai

tera yahaan koi nahi

I refuse to watch 'Mere Paas Tum Ho' due to the misogynistic statements of the writer Khalil ur Rehman Qamar in recent interviews. I have heard mostly good things about 'Alif' and 'Ehd e Wafa' but not sure how the female characters are portrayed in them.

What’s the comments in mere pass tum ho?

Love Alif and especially Sajal, do watch it. Alif will never be as big as Mere pass tum ho but that says alot about the type of things we like to watch as a nation.

2 Likes