Dr. Taxi

This is quite depressing and disgusting. Professionals coming to Canada should think 1000 times what they want to do. They can earn money gracefully in their own country rather than driving taxis. After all money is not every thing. Think of how much money the government is being wasting on these professionals who land in a foreign country driving taxis or doing labor jobs disgracing Pakistan and its education system.In my 17 years living, I have never heard that qualified doctor in USA or Canada driving taxis!

http://blog.dawn.com/2010/04/30/dr-taxi/

Dr. Taxi

**Canada**:  Some say it’s not a country, it’s winter. In some parts of it, for about eight months of the year, the dog **** is too frozen to worry about. But what worries me most is that my fellow Pakistani taxi drivers are on the road all year round. The time has gone when Sikhs used to dominate the taxi business here; now it’s the Pakistanis who rule. From Yellowknife, a city near Arctic Circle, to the eastern cities, I can’t recall a single major city where I haven’t come across Pakistani taxi drivers.

Many of these drivers are those who jumped to the north of the border after 9/11. But a majority of them are highly qualified professionals who migrated to Canada during the past decade for a “better future for their children”. They include doctors, engineers , lawyers, professors, students, journalists and retired civil or military officers.
I also have some friends in the taxi business and many of you might not agree with me on how I see their lives. A majority of these skilled professionals came to Canada on the point systems, also known as the skilled category. Then, there is a large number of those who came here to study and ended up driving cabs. These skilled immigrants wait up to five years to obtain resident visas. However, the moment they land here, their degrees become worthless and the immediate need for survival changes their priorities. There can be no denying the fact that most of these professionals do not get a job even if they have the requisite skills and qualifications. And many of them with a Canadian Masters degree or even a PhD can be seen driving cabs.
The stated reason: No Canadian experience. So, what is Canadian experience? For most employers, it means exactly what it says — you do not have work experience in Canada. But it can also mean that an employer does not know how to evaluate the work you did outside of Canada with how it is done in Canada. It can also mean that an employer doesn’t think you’ll fit into their corporate culture. Or, it can even mean that the employer is discriminating against you. “If you are a person of color, you are seen differently,” an immigrant worker, who knows several skilled migrants engaging in “precarious” temporary employment, told me.
While employment in different fields requires fulfilling some kind of criteria, it seems rather unfair that employers insist on Canadian experience as opposed to thoroughly evaluating and examining a prospective employee. This is also why several skilled immigrants end up driving cabs instead of doing what they have been trained to do. Once, on a -35 degree Celsius cold winter day in Saskatchewan, a taxi driver pulled over near me and greeted me saying: “In Pakistan people call me “Dr. Iftikhar”, but here I am “driver Ifti”. Seeing a Pakistani doctor driving a taxi in freezing prairies was certainly not pleasant for me. Although, this was not the first time I came across a case like this: my first roommate in Canada who was a university professor in Pakistan was forced to work as a cab driver here.
One of the North America’s largest Pakistani communities, of nearly 350,000 people, lives in Ontario. Most of these people live in Toronto and on its outskirts, in Mississauga and Brampton. In Toronto, the Thorncliffe Park Drive area is the hub of Pakistanis and is also called the “Taxi Capital”. Interestingly enough, residents of this area also have one of the highest average years of education attained in the whole country.
Then, there are those who arrive in Canada with almost no command on the English language and they do not bother to work on their linguistic limitations while blaming Canada for not giving them enough opportunities. I know many who could have achieved so much more but couldn’t wait. They wanted to own big houses and drive lush cars and they wanted it fast. Their families hosted parties that got started and never ended. Their real reason for taking this course was mainly greed: earn quick cash by driving cabs and not worry about paying taxes.
But then again, despite the employment downside, Canada offers several social and educational benefits for newcomers, but certain regulated procedures are to be followed in order to gain from them. People who do not choose to follow these procedures are therefore sure to miss out on the system’s positives. I remember translating for an agricultural university professional at a clinic who was injured doing a cash job under the table right after he landed in Canada and therefore had trouble claiming workplace injury benefits. This would not have been a problem had he followed the proper procedures, such as paying taxes out of his income. I wish people immigrating to Canada would use some of the years waiting to obtain their visas to understand the Canadian system and keep the patience they developed while waiting for their visas after landing in order to tailor their skills. Recertification might take many years in Canada but please do not give up. It’s never too late.
Also, mostly, the newcomers are misled by some of our own Pakistani real estate agents. These agents put the newcomers under the burden of heavy mortgages which leads them into driving cabs and working overtime shifts at McDonalds, coffee shops, and sometimes under-paying biryani houses owned by our own desi folks.
Working odd hours is not easy. And when working means driving, it is even harder. It leaves the taxi drivers with no choice but to adopt an unhealthy lifestyle. They also get very little time to spend with their children and many of them often have troubled relationships with the members of their families. Health risks are also of much concern: A physician told me that South Asian cab drivers were increasingly suffering from heart diseases. Worst of all, I recall community radio stations collecting funds for the funerals of taxi drivers who died in horrific car crashes.
Much has changed in the past decade or so. There was a time when people in Canada referred to Pakistan as an agricultural country and the Pakistanis here as doctors and engineers. But this perception has now been replaced by the image of taxi drivers. Every time I joke to my Ukrainian immigrant friend Lonny that his country is famous for producing prostitutes, he shouts back “and your country is good for taxi drivers”. Well, both work on street and it’s not easy.
Mohsin Abbas is a freelance journalist based in Canada. He blogs at www.mohsinabbas.info

Re: Dr. Taxi

pakistanis are not much into taxi driving.there could be few.
its actually the indians that dominate this profession abroad.
a friend of mine went to armenia last year and he told that all the taxi drivers on airport were indians.

^ so author is lying?

^ The biggest export of India is Indians...

Driving taxi is not a big issue, but complaining about lack of opportunities in Pakistan while driving the cab is.

You should read article thoroughly. For your information, read the following excerpt. It is quite disgracing for Pakistani professionals. The author is Dawn’s freelance journalist stationed at Canada.

You should not be worried about Indian professionals whether they do "choorha" jobs in Canada, let the Indian people worry about that problem. 

Once again professional Pakistanis coming to Canada should think 1000 times before driving taxis here insulting and down grading the country and its education system. They can earn handsome amount of money gracefully at home. By driving taxis here, they have wasted their precious times in going to professional schools and huge amount of government money spent on professional education. Please think seriously.

This has some truth.

Not in the sense of if docotr in canada is driving taxi but the immigration system in canada has no sense at all.

They bring people with skill on point system without having that job provided to the person.

It is very disorganized system.

The locals do not like outsiders to hold good jobs and canadian govt. plays no proper role to accommodate these skilled workers, professionals.

Canada does not have an organized system to offer exams or tests to foreigners wanna-be canadians worldwide.

In a way it is a method by which skilled people come to enjoy the country's basic living standard but are not able to continue their career.

At least in US, there are proper methods and these skilled people ARE able to find ways to pursue their career and help the new home country and themselves.

Besides canada is so cold and largely covered by ice or cold weather, there are limited areas where a human can live and work. Hence shortage of desired jobs. Locals do not want to share those jobs with foreigners.

The population is low, the medical system is largely govt. based. Private job/practice for physician requires money if the person even passes the exam.

It seems the whole reason they have immigration open is to make people work odd jobs or work in remote areas where they may not even survive long.

More importantly: It is not a huge problem for Pakistani physicians since they do not have strong desire to go to Canada anyway. The point system does not include medical doctors also. It includes physiotherapists or perhaps dental technicians.

The writer just wanted to write something. :)

^^

So you are saying the author is lying. How come Dr. Iftekhar has become driver Ifti? Though your earlier post make sense. The point system in Canada sucks. Professionals should not be happy if they qualify point system and ultimately driving taxis. To preserve self esteem and self respect stick to your country and live gracefully. door ke dhol suhanay lagtay hain.:)

[quote="Captain1, post:113, topic:219659"]

^ so author is lying?/QUOTE
@lonerangeram
what difference would it make if i say yes or no??lol
all i said is indians are dominating the cab business throught the world and thats something indians are proud of and i too thing indians deserve better life than what they have in India.
Indian cabbies are everywhere.Australia,Uk,France,USA,Turkey,Grecce,Armenia,Afghanistan,Russia,Gulf States,Srilanka,Somalia,Singapur,Malaysia.
so whats the big deal.I dont know why for some truth is so hard to swallow.

My two cents:

Having lived in Canada myself, all I can say is:

1) Low journalistic standards.

2) The guy is exaggerating things.

3) Hardly any credibility of this piece (check out the guy's blog, and you'l know what I am saying. See posts in his blog and when it got created; first post April27, 2010).

4) "Educated professionals" from Punjab University may not be equated to "educated professionals" in Canada. So that weakens his whole argument (not that I have anything against Pakistani education, but facts are facts).

Why do we have to look at Indians everytime to see ourselves? Why do we have to express joy at someone's misery? Why can't we look at our issues and try to solve them instead of saying 'hey our neighbor is not doing any better so lets forget and not solve the issue'. Why do you insist on burying your head in the sand?

Immigrants usually fill the physically demanding (jaano maal ka khatra) jobs like driving taxi cabs and working as private security guards.

In English speaking countries, such jobs are dominated by the immigrants from subcontinent.
In French speaking countries, similar jobs are dominated by Muslims and non-Muslims form North Africa.

There is nothing wrong with doing such jobs if one cannot find a job based on their educational background.

I have met Pakistanis who are perfectly happy with such jobs because they give more flexibility and pay well. You set your own hours and in some cases more money than even IT professionals from Pak/India.

Not sure what the fuss is all about. As long as people are working on these jobs without any force or coercion, it is OK.

woh kiay kehtay hain. "Mian bevi razi to kiay keray ga Qazi".

I agree to an extent but what do you mean by "coercion"? Nobody anywhere in the world does a job because of force or coercion except for brick-bhatta type places. A doctor driving a cab is most likely not because he wants/likes it but due to economic/industrial (indirect) coercion.

Having lived in Canada myself, and having driven a taxi here for two years and interacting with all kinds of taxi drivers in Oakville-Mississauga-Brampton-Toronto, all i can say is: Mr. Abbas is right on the money.

i know few people in NY who are qualified doctors from Pakistan but driving cabs...

bahi sahab.. idher kharcha bohat hai ... , wine ki achi bottle hi..100$ hia .. bohat problem hai idher !

Here's the thing. If you come to Canada, you need to cough up the money, redo your exams and go to school again. It DOES happen. There ARE people out there who immigrated here and went to school all over again. They are fully licensed practicing individuals now.

Also, just cause your khandaan may live in Mississauga doesn't mean you have to. The laws out West are more flexible and less rigid than Ontario.

It comes down to whether you want to put in the work and dedication it requires. You have to work your butt off and it's a lot easier said than done, especially when you are a new immigrant. We know a woman who was a practicing Dr. in Islamabad .... moved here, got married, had a newborn baby and was admitted into Med School (after writing some exams). It meant she had to relocate, and it's a sacrifice she made for her career and family, but she did it and she's a fully qualified doctor now.

Errr... have you been to NYC, Chicago and Houston?

Obviously not. This discussion was about Armenia wasn’t it? :konfused:

By Coercion simply meant that nobody forced them to leave Pakistan to settle in Canada. This is not like there are slave ships leaving Karachi filled with doctors and engineers chained to the belly of these ships.

People apply for immigration and if they qualify, they wait for few years and then only then they come to Canada.

However that's besides the point. I am quoting a response on this blog by someone who actually lives in Canada. Enjoy!

misha says:**
May 3, 2010 at 7:23
Well in my opinion we are in a state mainly for the choices we make. No one else to be blamed but ourselves. Living in Canada with an MBA from Pakistan and well spoken in English I just got my way through after an initial struggle with the 1st job as they needed “Canadian experience” and I asked them where can I buy it from as I just landed in Canada and so on and my 1st job at American Express bank came through that way and after that on my resume Ive had no issues getting into any other place. Few of them want some more skills and others take me for what I am worth and I am ok with that.

Now my husband has a different story as he’s a dentist from back home. Most of his friends are still giving exams after 5 yrs and are working part time at mcdonalds etc but THATS my point THEY CHOSE THAT THEMSELVES! they do have goals to achieve and this is just a transitory period so they want to make some money but also focus on their primary goals that are their exams. Medical field is tough to get in here they all know because once there you earn like crazy, its prestigious, well respected and recession free so its worth the wait. They had a choice to sit in their home countries and practice but they saw its worth here so decided to give it a shot. I don’t at all feel bad for anybody here because that’s the choice they made themselves, nobody made them leave their country at gun point. They wanted a better live and migrated. Everything cant be laid out all perfectly for any one. One has to work hard. Plus driving a cab is like a jack pot for the uneducated class from back home. Ive seen them having paid off houses etc here whereas in Pakistan they were hand to mouth. As for the educated class this is just a stop gap arrangement and they know it very well. They can go to US or any where else yet write in billion exams because that’s how it is. Few years of roughing out can give a fruitful future. How can they fail them in exams if they did everything right. Cant be the laws are strict here and they think its not worth it then why did they come here in 1st place. their choice really!

So you meant that nobody coerced them into immigration, okay. But you DO know why they are leaving, correct? People should really calculate their risks and know their options when migrating to a different country. People should look at all aspects on what is important for them. There are people who are fortunate who got job in Canada as soon as they landed and there are unfortunate ones who waited months/years to get a decent job.