Dr. Shaista

Re: Dr. Shaista

I don't know who she is nor I watch any Pakistani shows, but I'm sure she is qualified enough to know what she is talking about.. they don't just random pick a girl to discuss health issues, you gotta have something to offer and if she's been on air for years then there goes your claim outa window.. and I gather by the amount of hatred or jealousy towards her that she must be quite pretty!

I would tolerate it if she actually spoke about health issues - every time she is on, she is interviewing some actress or model.

She's actually not pretty, to me at least. She has that characteristic "I dyed my hair brown" and pale look. And annoying voice.

And she doesn't even ask them any good questions either. At least ask these people some good questions.

oh so she is a doctor who interviews other celebs?

That's weird

Hahahaha!!!

You made me so curious that I had to Youtube her and I second each and every word you uttered..

She's what we call in Hindi, gawaar n gaaonti , in fact uneducated villages are far better than her!

don't know much about her show, but the couple of times I've caught it, I've found her utterly annoying - same goes for NKS.

I just have huge issues with people who go to Med School just for the heck of it, only to abandon their professions later on for something that is totally unrelated to what they trained for. I just find it to be a great injustice to those people who were just as qualified to get into Med School but lost their seats to these folks to whom the profession might not mean as much. I know that a person's priorities in life change over time, but somehow I just strongly feel about this issue.

why do they do it? obviously because being a doctor is considered super prestigious in our society. the only way someone in another profession can measure up to an average doctor is by being outstanding in their field. which is obviously unfair...

I dont have a big problem with daaktar Shaista Wahidi. she might be a horrible host but she is harmless. she hosts a very bad chat show that doesnt impact my life.

but the guy who does piss me off is daaktar Shahid Mossad. this jackass has no training as a real journalist/analyst and he does not practise as a doctor. and yet he uses the daaktar title extensively. it's splashed all over his God awful circus show. in fact, there are doubts about his medical training as well. everything in this guy's background is shady... everything he's doing right now is shady.

this dumbass is supposedly a doctor. in fact, he claims to be a surgeon though the news is that he never completed the required training. in fact, when he was in england he was getting welfare payments from the UK govt. WTF!!!! what kinda doctor gets welfare?

and now, he doesn't work as a doctor. he works as a journalist!!! and he has no training for this either. and yet he has millions of naive viewers who listen to this prophet of gloom and doom whose only goal in life is to spread pessimism in Pakistan and make big bucks. and he uses the doctor thing all the time.

the previous generation of lifafa journalists had Nazir Naji... Nazir Naji has passed the torch to the likes of Hassan Nisaar and Shahid Mossad...

I get really pissed off whenever there is talk of the govt censoring the media. I don't want even the likes of Naji, Hassan Nisaar, Shahid Mossad censored. but I will say that if someone does deserve to get censored it is these "journalists" who're always for sale and bring disrepute to a noble profession that has some wonderful, brave and honest people like Talat Hussain, Nusrat Javed, etc.

I know I went off-topic... sorry had to get the rant in and get it off my chest. I HATE "daaktar" Shahid Mossad... this jackass needs to be exposed for being the moron that he is - daaktar or no daaktar. (and yes, once I was also naive/stupid enough to believe that this jackass was an honest man.)

@PCG

i totally agree with the part that you are spending a mint of the Govt's funds to study medicine and there are girls do not practise. But that;s not for the majority of ppl here :)

i have seen ALOT of girls who are specialising even after they are married.

My khala got married in her 4th year of MBBS. She had a son in final year. she went through so much stress but now she's Mashallah the head of radiology dept and my khalu was equally supportive through out her career and he's a consultant oncologist :)

My mother in law is also a doctor. She had paralysis 3 years back but she didn't give up. She's still working. Even with her right arm and hand paralysed she still diagnoses, she still works and is an oncologist too. :) Writes prescriptions with left hands. MashAllah. (May Allah bless her with health and a long life !)

and lol my hubby to be is in UK doing MRCS-Opth. and me well i am still in my 4th year but I DEFINITELY plan to pursue my career ahead InshAllah and specialise from UK but later come back to Pak to serve here :D

In pak med education is REALLY very competitive and good. There are alot of Carribean Uni and their degrees are not even recognised by GMC (general medical council) of the UK. And the graduate of those unis cannot appear for PLAB or practise there. While all our degrees are recognised and alot of ppl have cleared USMLE's and PLAB.

ive seen pakistani doctors in my distant relatives who went to US after their mbbs and are working there and now they own their own private jets and mansions

But i totally agree, those who just take medicine as a status symbol to get prestige and good rishtas are not needed here. But one more thing...medicine is not just like simple bachelors k ro ro ker pass ker liya. BA ho gayi larki. Instead it is QUITE quite tough

those who are not interested don't go ahead any way. Two supplementaries and you are detained. max 4 chances and then you are not allowed to practise or take admission into mbbs again . Being a third world country, Pakistan definitely has alot of room for improvement but it's getting better day by day ! :)

hope that clears the misunderstandings about medical education in pakistan

I'm a doctor. Cz i said so.

haha i agree PCG!

OMG! Someone that shares the exact same sentiments as I do abt Dr. Shahid Masood! He's by far the most annoying person on the screen! He has an aire of artificial intelligence and actually blvs people listen to him because he repeats the words "meray mutabiq" 200 times in ONE 30 min show. Someone called him "Mr. Masood" and he blew his fuse! He forced the caller to add "dr" to his name..

Jump-off Burj Dubai Dr. Shahid Masood <----- meray mutabiq!

Back to Dr. Wahidi, sorry to say she's neither intelligent nor a good host.. her show is very similar to the NKS.

:rotfl: :rotfl:

I honestly don't know about indian doctors but all the pakistani doctors I know of from Agha khan, Dow and King Edward in US have passed the steps in one go and that is talking from my very own personal experience.

I know a bunch of people who had to take it multiple times, and even then, ended up in family medicine residencies (low level of competition) or less competetive internal medicine residencies.

I had a huge crush on her until the day i found out she is married.

I was devastated :bummer:

Anyway, i dont see much issue in she conducting a TV show. People do change career directions. And sometimes, they are quite succesful. Bill Gates enrolled in Harvard to get a law degree.
However, i agree that a non-practising doctor should not be called a doctor.

OK. so here is a LOT of generalising. just only it happened to a fraction of people you know , including your cousin who didnt quit it by choice but due to her husband's pressure, doesnt mean that every girl acquires medicine degree for this purpose or parents want to send their daughters to a medical school to get a good rishta. I dont know why do people have to relate getting rishtas to the factors that donot apply on them ? there are a lot of other factors for doctors that are not practicing after marriage.

about not practicing: how do you define practicing? doing a hospital job and 'helping' patients? I am also against being called a DOCTOR with one's name (even for the practicing ones since no other profession has the label attached to the name like they do to the doctors but that is just for a recognition that there is a doctor amongst the community so that people know to contact him/her in need of time. There must be people who use it for show maaring and there are more people who think they use for show maaring but again you cant generalise it. I am sure that shaista or any non practicing doctor can still be helpful to anyone in time of need more than a layman since the learning never goes wasted !

you need to know the details about the health system and its situation here in pakistan before assuming that the health care crisis is because dr shaista and people(girls) like her chose not to practice or switch fields or places instead. The health institutes and hospitals are not running low on doctors because there is a shortage of doctors out there; it is because there are very limited paid seats as compared to the doctors working at govt hospitals and 60% of them are completing their residencies as 'honorary'/unpaid trainees, not to mention that the paid ones get less than 20K a month for heavy duty hours, and that too after a lot of effort to the health ministry and offices to aquirs their payslips every month ! And if you think that people go into this field to HELP others, then can you please suggest a way for them to make their living by other means ? they have a family to run and they need to be paid appropriately for the effort they put in. THIS makes doctors opt to leave pakistan for their careers.

Anyways I think this is more of a matetr of personal dislike. If you dont like someone generally, you can point out 10000 thing that he/she is doing wrong and vice versa. you dont like her looks, hair colour, her voice and you think she is copying nadia khan, so you can find and make up other point that YOU THINK are bad about her. You can express your views ofcourse but please dont generalise and apply everythingyou think about her to every non practicing doctor in pakistan , and that too when you have the least idea about the system here.

peace !

and so you think all pakistani doctors are not competitive enough? wow !

that’s just a way of taking things easy and open mindedly rather than aik insaan kay peechay hee parr jao keh uss ne kisi se poochay baghair koi aur kaam kyun shuroo karr diya !

I agree with the last part though

ok for once I agree with pcg. There are limited number of seats in Med schools. If people keep wasting degrees like this it can be bad for any country. Give someone else a chance to really use the seat. Someone who will help ppl when they get sick or someone who's family can really use the money. Govt pays for education in govt colleges and our country isn't rich enough to waste degrees like this. She should've graduated in media or communication if she just wanted to interview celebrities.

I think the people who have actually lived and worked and practiced in Pakistan have more authority and knowledge on this topic than those who have never lived or studied in pakistan.