The discussion on Maulana Maududi reminded me of Dr. Israr Ahmad. He is a very well known scholar in Pakistan, as many people here will testify.
One very curious incident about Dr. Israr Ahmad, which I remembered just now is what I am about to share. If this is incorrect, please feel free to correct me.
We all know shias around the world mourn the death of Hazrat Husain (Razi Allah) on 10th of Muharram each year. There are plenty of sunni scholars who say that such prolonged and visual display of grief is against the principles of Islam. Dr. Israr is one of them. In order to drive home his point, he actually arranged the wedding of his son, right on 10th Muharram… which is an unthinkable thing amongst shia muslims.
While I am not a shia, nor do I think that the sort of mourning practised by shias is something which I will ever understand, I do think that we should be careful of their emotions and should not deliberately provoke them or mock them, as this issue is very close to their heart and emotions. The action by Dr. Israr was just that. As a very well-known religious leader in Pakistan, he deliberately set the wedding of his son right on the day when shias are highly emotional with grief. I always found the whole thing kinda hard to explain. Why would someone go out of their way to provoke the emotions of other muslims in their time of mourning?
Do any of you remember the whole thing? Was it Dr. Israr or am I confusing him with someone else?
You are absolutely right .. it was him and even people like me who actually listen to what he says were shocked and besides the fact that I find him correct most of the time, I myself still think that was one act that was unnecessary.. His point (which was partially in a good direction but still one that may not fly given the circumstances) was that Muharam 10th was supposed to be a day of happiness in Islamic history as Taura was given on this day and jews used to fast as a sign of happiness on that day.. And later Rasoolulah:saw: himself asked muslims to fast atleast two days in a row including this day…
Now that the greater martyrderm of Hadhrat Hussain happened in 63rd hijra did not void the above fact too…
Still, it was one unnecessary act from his side being a human bieng… and hey, u think was it a sinful act?
We all know shias around the world mourn the death of Hazrat Husain (Razi Allah) on 10th of Muharram each year. There are plenty of sunni scholars who say that such prolonged and visual display of grief is against the principles of Islam.
And what principles of Islam does it goes against...?????
he deliberately set the wedding of his son right on the day when shias are highly emotional with grief. I always found the whole thing kinda hard to explain. Why would someone go out of their way to provoke the emotions of other muslims in their time of mourning?
Imam Hussain A.S. the grandson of Holy Prophet Mohammad P.B.U.H. The leader of Jawanan-e-Janat... Imam Hussain... who sacrificed not only his own life...but his family... other members of family of Prophet Mohammad P.B.U.H.... he was killed this day along with 3 days of thirst and hunger along with his six month old son.... He saved Islam from the hands of Yazeed... by not giving him the alligance.... Imagine.. what happened to Islam after the death of Prophet Mohammad P.B.U.H. and how many hardships did ahleybait went through to defend it...
**the incident after which yazeed army took the rida from the heads of the ladies of the family of Prophet Mohammad P.B.U.H... the ladies who taught the world on how to observe hijab...the family that serves as an example for us to follow.... the ladies of the family of Prophet Mohammad P.B.U.H. were arrested by yazeed army...... I think its an insult for us muslims.. that the family of Prophet Mohammad P.B.U.H. was killed this day and then rida was taken from the heads of the ladies of the family of Prophet Mohammad P.B.U.H. and they were taken in the markets of koofa and shaam without rida.... If not for the love of Ahleybait but for the love of Prophet Mohammad for love of Islam and being a so called scholar in Islam... even not to mourn..but for the respect of the incident he could have arranged for a memorial session where people can pay their respect....
World Trade Center was blown by some terrorist a few years back and even today we have memorial services to pay respect to the big loss...
We celebrate defence day in Pakistan in the memories of the soldiers lossed in the duty to defend our country...
and what kinda so called an scholar would celebrate such a loss to the family of Prophet Mohammad P.B.U.H.... ahleybait who sacrificed their lives in the way of Allah to defend Islam by having marriages.... rather than having some sort of memorial service if not to mourn but atleast for a sign of respect.**
Mubarak ho Faisal bhai:) aap nay aik aur shia sunni phaDDay kee bunyaad daal dee :)!!! where we should work to have harmony among these two.. our own words ignite the feelings in ourselves
I am not an scholar … to judge whats sin and whats not… All i did was represented my opionions to this act of his… by quoting some incidents of that day… Why do you take talking about the sacrifices of Imam Hussain A.S. as shia sunni phadda… Personally I think no matter if its shia or sunni… if not mourn they should atleast respect the day in the love of Islam and Prophet Mohammad P.B.U.H.
We all agree what happened on September 11 was not right and pay respect for the loss every year
We respect the brave soldiers we lost in duty on defence day
Why not respect these members of family of Prophet Mohammad P.B.U.H. for their sacrifices to defend Islam…
Why do you have to take my views as a thread for a phadda…
^^
sorry i did not.. but i fear there will be many who will and i am suspecting that..
as for the great shahadat of hadhrat HussaiN , it is part of our great history.. and both shia and sunni must be proud of it.. yes respect the day i say.. mourning is something which is a issue… i wont go in that either as i myself is not a scholar..
Houston ka Don... may be you did not read the first post carefully. I am not talking about the shia belief nor do I wish to read yet another time the whole story of Karbala (we have read it plenty of times in this forum). I am talking about insensitivity shown towards a group of muslims by a learned scholar. Kindly stay focussed on the topic.
Mourning with grief is different to roaming the streets with a horse. Dressing up the whole occassion is beyond my understanding and certainly beating oneself is against islamic teaching. Islam urges people to refrain them selves from such actions. What could be greater cause of grieving then Hazrat Muhammed (PBUH) death? Nothing, yet i read through history and cannot find one example where Hazrat Ali or Hazrat Fatima did any of the activities conducted by shias. I am not intending to offend any one's belief i am just saying that i donot think that "matum" and "zuljina" thing is following islamic teachings.But these are totally my opnions
Now coming to the main point of forum i personally think that Israr Ahmed arranged the wedding on the day because islam teaches us not to mourn in such fashion and he might have thought that by doing so he is breaking this fashion. And i again say that these are just my thoughts on the subject, would like it if any one can justify this way of mourning to me. And where does it say that you cannot have wedding on 10th of muharrem, the grief isn't limited to one day if you have love and honour for Ahle bait then the grief is forever in your heart.
Faisal , yes it was him. I personally nothing wrong with what he did. Islam does not allow you to mourn in a fashion that has been adopted by the shias. It is such a big taboo in our culture to say anything about it. I think he just wanted to show the world that there is nothing wrong if you get married on tenth of Muharram.
Madhanee sahib, we are talking about weddings in Pakistan not US.
*Originally posted by Madhanee: *
...Shias revere Imam Hussian, and it is only common courtesy that someone can afford to them, not to have celebratory events during the 10 days of Muharram. ....
I agree, unless he regards them as non-Muslim too which I am not aware of.
There is one simple point that you guys(changez, Madhanee) keep onmissing. There is no where in Islam it is allowed to mourn like the shias do. Its a biddat. It has nothing to do with Islam. Question is Why cannot you get married in those ten days?
Its hurt the feelings of Shias, maybe they need to learn that there mourning is unislamic to begin with. If it is unsilamic then, there is no reason to postpone your wedding plans. If you like to discuss the legality of Shias mourning we can open another thread.
Madhanee, dont go on heresays... Dr Israr never called for ban on cricket. He is a very learned man. He is not your typical maulvi that you like to pile on.
What is that supposed to mean. We all know what happened in Karbalaa was very tragic and all Muslims respect Prophet Muhammad:saw: and his nawasa. However, not all Muslims agree on hitting themselves with knives and zanjeers to show their sense of grief.
Why would you specifically pick the 10th of Muharram unless you were attempting to incite sectarian hatred? Maybe in Dr Israr's eyes there's nothing wrong with it, but he's still got 364 other days to choose from if he'd prefer to avoid controversy. If that's the actions of a scholar in a country suffering from sectarian violence then something's definitely wrong.