Dr. Abdus Salam: Beyond Physics

today marks** Dr. Abdus Salam’s 10th death anniversary**.

It should be a moment of deep reflection for all of us. He would have been as great a man as he was even if he did not won the Nobel Award in physics. But we would have conveniently forgotten him. That he did win the Nobel Award is a source of cosmetic and hollow pride for many Pakistanis. Cosmetic and hollow because it is also a source of visible unease. Even when we acknowledge that he was a great scientist (after all, the Nobel Committee thought so), we are uncomfortable acknowledging that he was a great man whose significance goes beyond his science.

Picture:

As a brutally honest editorial in today’s **daily times **points out, “we are scared of honoring Dr. Salam.” We must not be.

The Daily Times editorial](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/) says all that needs to be said; it is worth reading, worth thinking about, and worth quoting in full:

Click here To read the editorial:
http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2006\11\22\story_22-11-2006_pg3_1

Re: Dr. Abdus Salam: Beyond Physics

Subhan Allah :D

pakiguy, where'd u get that picture? is that a portrait? can you put up a larger one?

Is mai hasna kaha tha ?? :frusty2:

He wasn’t a Pakistani :mad: I don’t know why he was hell bent on claiming that he was a muslim.. yaar qadianis ko kab aql aayegi? He was a non-muslim and govt. should remove him from our history.

^I don't think we have the right to decide who is and who is not a muslim.

if anyone wants to be called muslim, it's between that person and Allah
we should rather worry about ourselves

What do you mean by ‘he wasnt a pakistani’? Are you implying that everyone who is a non-muslim cant be a Pakistani? As for you wanting him to get aqal, Dr. Salaam probably had more aqal then you can think of. Grow up.

Right.

And what's that that differentiates between a Hindu and a Muslim?
Don't go in depth, tell me the primary things 8)

It's not always about having right to call someone a non-muslim. We are on the other hand also instructed very strictly to differentiate between right and wrong. That's what Deen is all about.

Besides everything else all great Muslims departed gracefully, not to mention Mirza Ghulam died in toilet. I think that's not a place Allah SWT would choose for His loved ones.

Some things are very clear.

Beshak Allah unki makkaari unkay munh per maarta hai.
Beshak Allah behtar sun'nay aur jaan'nay wala hai.

Yes and Albert Einstein too. lol

Remember dude, it is Islamic Republic of Pakistan not Secularistan! Pakistan is for muslims and slowly everyone will convert to the best religion of the world.

So the Islamic republic of Pakistan is no place for minorites? Whatever happened to there is no compulsion in Islam? Sharam Karo, Dr. Salaam brought your 'Islamic Republic of Pakistan' recognition with his outstanding ability which no other proud citizen of Islamic Republic of Pakistan could ever think of bringing! Unless you are planning on winning a nobel prize, you shouldnt be talking like that! Live and let live! They are human beings so stop preaching the message of hatred!

P.S. this nation didnt come into being as the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, that happened a long time after the founder of this nation's death, so it eventually became 'the Islamic Republic of Pakistan', after being the Dominion of Pakistan for 9 years, and with that argument it can changed into something else too. However, that is not the point, I am sure our standards and moralities will also be judged by how well we treat our minorities, remember that my friend.

I hope this does justice:

"Believers, Jews, Christians, and Sabaeans -- whoever believes in God and the Last Day and does what is right -- shall be rewarded by their Lord; they have nothing to fear or to regret." Qur'an 2:62

BTW Abdus Salaam was a great scientist for Pakistan and the muslim world.

Minorities have equal share in Pakistan. Religion is not a requisite. Im quite sure that in the annals he will be always be cited as Dr. Abdus Salam of Pakistan. Not as Dr. Abdus Salam the Murtad!!.

Other translations of the Surah AL-BAQARA verse number 62.
(002.062)
YUSUFALI: Those who believe (in the Qur'an), and those who follow the Jewish (scriptures), and the Christians and the Sabians,- any who believe in Allah and the Last Day, and work righteousness, shall have their reward with their Lord; on them shall be no fear, nor shall they grieve.

PICKTHAL: Lo! Those who believe (in that which is revealed unto thee, Muhammad), and those who are Jews, and Christians, and Sabaeans - whoever believeth in Allah and the Last Day and doeth right - surely their reward is with their Lord, and there shall no fear come upon them neither shall they grieve.

SHAKIR: Surely those who believe, and those who are Jews, and the f Christians, and the Sabians, whoever believes in Allah and the Last day and does good, they shall have their reward from their Lord, and there is no fear for them, nor shall they grieve.

The verse does the justice indeed :D

Allah:swt: and Rasool:saw: gave us the guidance of whole nine yards about Imaan and who is Kaafir based on such criteria. Any one who denies** ANY of the following** by tongue and/or actions that:

1- Allah:swt: is one

2- Muhammad:saw: is the last prophet and apostle of Allah

3- All other prophets of Allah before Muhammad:saw: uptil Syedana Isa:as:

4- All the Books revealed to the prophets

5- Angels

6- Destiny that Whatever happens, happens but with the permission of Allah

7- Day of Judgement

is a kaafir and if one doubts about judgment and all that indeed one has certainly doubted about the perfect guidance of Allah & His Rasool..

Having said that, Dr. Abdus Salaam being Ahmadi believed that Ghulam Ahmed Qadiyani was a prophet which denies the second article of faith above.

totally agree with Anwar Qureshi. But that doesnt mean he is not a pakistani...does it?

Some of the Pakistanis will never see beyond their nose! They see things only in the Islamic and Muslims perspective! They do not believe in mankind!

No way.
Never!!

We strongly believe in the Islamic perspective.

Trust me it's the best out there. Why dont you give it a try?

Anwar, who gives a rats rear if he was an ahmedi or not, why does that pop up every time he is being discussed? The fact of the matter is, he was a brilliant pakistani and a great human being who has done something we cant even think of.