Dr Aafia Siddiqui sentenced 86 years.

Re: Dr Aafia Siddiqui sentenced 86 years.

well, while i agree the amreeki nut should have been put behind bars as well, i find it hard to find sympathy for someone who mixes voluntarily with these kinds of elements, and then gets set up in conspiracies.

TLK, stop being a beejamalao :emmy:

Queerio stop advertising life1 all over the phorum. :p

This sentence is just outrageous.

She moved back to Pakistan back in '02 from US and there she disappeared.

Was she sold out? Possibly? who knows?

86+37 = ?

I meant how do they come up with these numbers? why not 85 or 87? Do they have some kind of weird calculation methods? :smack:

Re: Dr Aafia Siddiqui sentenced 76 years.

[quote="“wine, post:49, topic:229571"”]

Justice is served, :k:

No.

Sigh.

american dream should be rephrased as nigrs dream

we have no right to feel sad. It is we who handed her over!

I hope so you read this:
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/all-views/454457-dr-aafia-siddiqui-sentenced-86-years-2.html#post7753313

Well if not then read it.. maybe you wont because why you care.. she is Pakistani.

what an emotional response. I think not everyone was willing to hand her over anyway! Maybe some.. So if you want to judge the whole nation due to few people then I think your way of assumption is based on only emotional talks.

I dont know man how you came to the conclusion that my post is emotional. I think it is more factual. Our agencies kidnapped her and handed her over to US forces. Our govt elected by us let this all happen in the 1st place. It does not matter if every Pakistanis agreed to it or not. Our govt and agencies represent us. Same applies to other countries who we love to criticize. Not all Americans wanted to invade Iraq or Afghanistan, not all Americans support drone attacks, not all Americans want to support Israel but they all get the blame and face the music.

Good work dude !!

who all should we blamed for ?

Is It Pakistani Intelligence Who is Behind Kidnap?

Or American Policy (Who Got Double Standards)

Or We Should Be Sad On Our Manhood … Which Could Not Help To Save Or Help This Poor Lady !!

Well Inshallah… Let Me Google Up More Details About Her Then Will Write More On Her !!

The news is sad

yet one cannot do anything, but to bow down against this so called justice!!!!

Pakistan labeled as a prostitute is an insult to prostitutes around the world. Such a shame these punks couldn’t save 1 woman.

by Yvonne Ridley:
Obfuscation, is an awkward word but it essentially sums up the behaviour of all of the Pakistan government ministers, diplomats and politicians who have had a hand in the case of Dr Aafia Siddiqui.

Now they’re scrambling over each others backs like a bucket of frogs clawing their way to the top in a bid to speak to the media to feign shock at the silly sentence dished out by New York judge Richard Berman a few days ago.

And on top of all of this over-acting that other major obfuscator America has said Pakistan will have to sign two international treaties dealing with the exchange of prisoners to enable the return from the US of Aafia.

Poppycock!

Why don’t these spineless chumps in Islamabad grow a backbone and their gin-soaked counterparts in the US State Department to get stuffed.

Exactly what difference would it make if Pakistan were a signatory to the Council of Europe Treaty and the OAS Treaty? Please don’t tell me US Administration would abide by these? Of course they wouldn’t. The USA has continually violated and ignored the Geneva Conventions and still a serial offender by keeping open Guantanamo Bay and other secret detention centres.

And in Aafia’s case it has also thrown the Vienna Conventions out of the window.

The shameless, outgoing US Ambassador Anne Patterson based in Pakistan lied to the world from her barbed wire bunker in islamabad when she claimed Dr Aafia Siddiqui was given full consular access at all times - I can prove Aafia wasn’t.

According to some new documentation I’ve seen which includes log sheets collated by the FBI, I can prove that at no time from July 18 2008 on the day Aafia was shot by US soldiers in Ghazni, Afghanistan through to August 5 was she was taken to court in New York was she ever offered consular services. And nor was she told of her rights to have access to these services.

In between all of this, let’s remember she was on a life support machine in Bagram, under heavy sedation. OK she might not have been alert enough to have her rights read to her, but that did still not prevent her from being interrogated by the FBI. And according to the recordings the agents made, never once did any of those agents inform Aafia of her rights.

And when she arrived in America, not only did Hossein Haqqani, the Pakistan Ambassador based in Washington fail to do his job or demand that the US allow him to do his job by providing consular services to Aafia, the US officials again deliberately did not tell Aafia her rights.

Flouting the Vienna Conventions is a serious matter and the US is guilty - so when the US starts to tell Pakistan it needs to sign two international treaties, I say “pot, kettle and black”!

America threw out the Vienna Conventions when dealing with Aafia - and this single, reckless arrogant action alone has now opened the door for every country in the world to do the same to every US citizen who falls into difficulty overseas.

Now is the time for the United States to start leading by example and show some humanity by releasing Dr Aafia Siddiqui immediately - only by righting the initial wrongs in the first place can the US move forward from this disgraceful episode.

The US stands guilty of violating the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations by failing to afford a Pakistani citizen - in this case Aafia - the right to consular access.

Another reason to declare her trial a mis-trial. Judge Richard Berman is the one who should be charged. Ignorance of the law is no excuse Your Honour and at the moment you stand guilty as a law breaker not a law maker for dragging Aafia through an illegal trial, the process of which was flawed from beginning to end. it all happened on Judge Berman’s watch.

The Pakistan Government now needs to demand the repatriation of Aafia with immediate effect. The US needs to shut up, back down and show some humility by returning the Daughter of Pakistan.

And with a bit of luck innocent US citizens travelling abroad will not get caught up in the fall out of this violation of international law and human rights.
http://www.informationclearinghouse.info/article26457.htm

hi cricketplaya, still living in the evil west?

there is some saying... that something or the other has X number of lives... i'm wondering how many cricketplaya has? getting banned and unbanned has become a weekly event.. lol

[mod] Stay on the topic and please don't pass remarks about fellow members, be it cricketplaya or anyone else. I see this happening in other threads too. Phir na kehna maine warn nahin kiya. [/mod]

^ eh? :konfused:

someone is sensitive!

There is nothing to argue here. Even if you didn't mean what you said, others will follow and make inappropriate comments about other members. As I said, I've seen this happening in other threads too so just a nikki c warning.. chalo hun poetry phorum da chakkar laa k ao chacha ghalib.

mashallah more propaganda out of decadent Montreal. rehna bhee west mein, gaaliyaan bhi west ko denee. mashallah. just another day in the life of hypocrite mullahs I suppose.

how about shedding a crocodile tear or two for the countless atrocities committed against women in Pakistan?

Beyond Aafia

http://blog.dawn.com/2010/09/28/beyond-aafia/

by Sana Saleem on 09 28th, 2010 | Comments (30)

For seven years now, Aafia Siddiqui’s case has remained shrouded in mystery, the ghost of Bargram has haunted Pakistan ever since. From her disappearance in Karachi to her arrest at the Bagram Air Base in Afghanistan and throughout her trial, Siddiqui’s case has been most peculiar. On September 23, 2010 Siddiqui was sentenced to 86 years of imprisonment by a US Federal Court in New York, after being convicted of firing at US troops at Bagram during custody.

Over the years, Siddiqui’s case has been used by religious and political parties for point scoring and to gain public sympathy. Soon after the verdict, the Pakistan government said it would write a petition Washington to secure her repatriation on humanitarian grounds. It can not be denied that the charges appear dubious, keeping in mind that her alleged association with al Qaeda has been on the forefront, with a considerable number of media outlets dubbing her as “Lady al Qaeda” even before her trial began. It is then strange that she was tried in court for “firing at US soldiers” instead of her alleged links and contacts with the al Qaeda. Although this does make the accusations of her links to terrorist networks murky, but is not sufficient to prove her innocence. As expected, the sentence has caused uproar and anger in Pakistan, provoking protests from religious and political parties. Yet another protest has been planned for September 28 by one of the leading political parties in Karachi, the MQM. It is tragic that even secular parties like the MQM have hopped on to the bandwagon. Ironically, religious parties like Jamaat-i-Islami who have for years supported laws like the Hudood Ordinance, have now become the upholders of women’s rights.

That said and done, one can not deny that Siddiqui has possibly become emotionally unstable and, there have been rumours that Siddiqui was being kept in a secret prison. Needless to say her story is that of tragedy, pain and agony.

However she is not alone. Hundreds of women in Pakistan face severe torture, abuse and are raped in police custody. In July 2008, a 17-year-old girl was abducted by police officials in Faisalabad, and kept in private custody for 16 days, where she was raped and tortured to confess her involvement in the murder of her fiance. But it did not end there; her elder sister was also brought into police custody in order to pressurize her younger sister to confess to the alleged crime. The details, according to the Asian Human Rights Report, are extremely disturbing and very graphic. While in police custody, she was twice raped by a sub inspector, however no action has been taken by the government to prosecute the sub inspector.

Several human rights organisations have reported incidents of people being tortured while in police custody, using methods such as “beating with batons and whips, burning with cigarettes, whipping soles of the feet, prolonged isolation, electric shock, denial of food or sleep ….”

**While we raise our concerns of the torture and abuse in jails in the US, our silence on abuse in jails within our country is nothing short of hypocrisy. It is only fair that the government, political and religious parties and most importantly, the people raise their voice against injustices within our country just as much as we do against those committed abroad. Siddiqui’s case has received immense media attention, while thousands of stories of sexual abuse, rape and torture within our own country remain unheard. **After all, the ghosts of our prisoners should haunt us just as much as the ghosts of Bargram, Guantanamo and Abu Ghraib do.