Anyone ever made a dosa at home? I tried one last evening and it came out looking like a poori ![]()
Can anyone tell me how to make a thin nice looking dosa?
Anyone ever made a dosa at home? I tried one last evening and it came out looking like a poori ![]()
Can anyone tell me how to make a thin nice looking dosa?
Re: Dosa ...
Lol!! I guess the trick is the consistency of the batter, how good your griddle is, and how fast you can pour it in the center with a ladle the with the back of it, spread it in a circle, the flip as soon as the corners lift up and a few random bubbles form on the surface...
Re: Dosa …
Nikki , thanks for that … now the problem is when i was trying to flatten it with the back of the spoon , it wasnt smoothing up …like it would form holes more then smoothing it ![]()
I tried applying very little pressure to the spoon , still didnt work … made the batter a bit thinner … but eventually i wasnt getting that smooth , thin , leveled dosa …
do you know how to make the batter? please could you share the recipe .. many thanks
I have never made dose in my life :(... Sorry to have misled you into believing that I do....
Nikki ![]()
Maybe queerina can help you...
Yeah i am sure he will .. I am waiting for him to come in any moment and help me out :@:
ok since dosa is my nick too I know thing or two about making dosas ![]()
first thing is are you making batter yourself or you got ready made batter, generally ready made batter are a bit thick and you have to add 1/4 cup of water to get the consistency right.
The pan or tawa should be hot not sizzling hot, I generally add 3-4 drops of oil, spread oil with a paper napkin on tawa, and then pour about 1/4-1/3 cups of batter, and then spread it around to get the thin layer, the batter will start bubbling and wills will form, that is an indication that your tawa/pan is hot enough. Then I add like few drops of oil on the dosa and around its side, and once you see medium brown colour through the holes in the dosa, then try to lift i carefull and flip it, some pp don’t cook the other side I do because we like our sodas crispy.
You have to spread the dosa batter quite thin and wait for the brown colour to peer through.
here are couple of videos, (sorry for the nango-pango-uncle in his undergarments cooking up the storm :))
[http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=56UFhVUEbhM
i](http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=56UFhVUEbhM)n this video the dosa method is shown at 2:20 incase you get confused with the aloo prep in the beginning
have the tavaa at high...it must be very hot...you must sprinkle water before you put batter on the skillet. ok? chaleN jaldi se banaayeN Dosa aur vo bhii masala Dosa...bahot baRaa saa banaaiyegaa kiuN k maiN bahot bhookaa huN :D
Dosaaaa , thanks so much buddy .. lol at the nangay pangay uncle
I will now try the dosa and see if it works …
Khalil, you food monster … sirf dosa kai khaab sai guzara farmain bi ![]()
lo ji, ek to ToTke bataao phir khaane ko bhii kuchh na mile…what the world has come to!!! vaise, aap baiThiye taKht pe, maiN banaataa huN Dosa aapke liye ![]()
yaaaay , now you are talking Khalil ... chalo sabash , go make some baray sai dosa's for us :@:
ok BOSS, BILL kaise pay kareNgii? cash, credit or debit? tip included? ![]()
as your bill, i will return the khali bartun ![]()
**are nahiiN…i forgot today is JUM’E-RAAT and Jume’raat ke din langar baTtaa hai…aaj FREE-DAY hai…eat ALL u can for FREE!
wud you BAN me for derailing ur thread? :D**
I can .. but just because you gave me so much to eat ( in my dreams ) you wont be banned ![]()
are nahiiN...i forgot today is **JUM'E-RAAT**** and Jume'raat ke din langar baTtaa hai...aaj *FREE-DAY* hai...*eat ALL u can for FREE!*
wud you BAN me for derailing ur thread? :D**
Are you one day ahead of calendar , it is budh today not jumayraat.
I love dosa , but I leave it to my Indian friends to make it and I enjoy fruit of their labor. If get an urge to have one I would to the nearest Indian restaurant to have it. I have seen them making it go and watch someone at an Indian restaurant where they serve it to learn the tricks.
Thats a good idea Mirch … we have mostly pakistani restaurants in manchester , dunno if they do dosa’s I have never seen em in the market though ![]()
In US I have seen dosa batter, dosa flour and ready to eat dosa being sold at Indian stores.
I never tried to make it at home because it is very inexpensive dish at Indian outfits and too rich to be consumed on regular basis,