What does Islam have to say about Rasams???
Kia baat kahee hai Dervaish jee nay…zabardast balke super!lol
Honestali kee observation mein bhee dam hai…yeh doodh peetee
dulhanein buhat hee jaldee bechare husbands ko unkee chathee ka doodh
yaad dila detee hain
Dervaish jee khayal rahe “mittee mein mil jaeinge”
Originally posted by Muzna:
**Not related to this subject....but for people that are against the very existence of this section of the forum, Dervaish and Kaka seem to participate here a lot.
hmm.
Gosh, tell me about it!! lol some ppl....
Originally posted by Anchal:
*Then there is this pair dhulai
The nand of the bride washes the feet of the bride with milk before she goes to her room
Most of us (muslims) don't apply this rasam coz its wrong (Islam).
Im not one of those who is going to attack you with hadiths and quran interpretations. No not all.
If you follow the roots of those "rasams" then you'll find out that they were basically established by Hindus (INDIA).
**rasams are rasams and people do it for fun
Yeah ppl do it for fun but still you have to know its extraction ---> INDIA.
"kaisay na karta usko main pyar, uski haseen main sukh thay hazaar, bichar gayay hum dukh ki hay baat"
[This message has been edited by Ali_R (edited September 05, 2001).]
and, I am proud to be one ------> Indian
and yes we had all the rasams related to doodh when i got married
and forget doodh rasams we had all kinds of rasams which made the entire event more entertaining, fun, involving for the family and memorable
“proud”…Oh now I understand. So this is your problem
So had WE. To be precise, my sis…I arranged everything. Accept the 2nd dhood wali rasam.
“kaisay na karta usko main pyar, uski haseen main sukh thay hazaar, bichar gayay hum dukh ki hay baat”
Cat,reminder
I never analysed your ans on this forum for example.
Woh afsaana jise anjaam tak, laana na ho mumkin
Use ek KHoobsoorat moR dekar, chhoRna achha
Aanchal ,jhoot bole kava kate
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/bukbuk.gif
You are just saying to tease the other Pakistani .
Even if you want ,Indians wont take you in Aanchal .You dont have indian Passport ,nor can you get one ,after becoming Pakistani or Australian
SO ONCE AND FOR ALL STOP ASSUMING MULTIPLE SIDES FOR YOU KNOW ROLLING STONEs GATHERS NO MOSS!!
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/pagal.gif
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rotato.gif
[This message has been edited by FYI (edited September 07, 2001).]
FYI:
“Pakistani”…are you focusing on me??!
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif
Forget it yaar! I used to have more indian friends than Pak. I’m not on of “THESE”.
“kaisay na karta usko main pyar, uski haseen main sukh thay hazaar, bichar gayay hum dukh ki hay baat”
FYI, thanks for your concern on my ethnic background
Just to kill your curiosity,
I have never held a Pakistani passport not become a Pakistani citizen (god forbid)
My father was associated with the Security Department for the American Consulate and the British Embassy, Korean and Australian High Commision in Pakistan, hence i have spent so much of my time in Pakistan
and Indians dont have to take me in, India runs in my blood, My late dadiamma and late dadaabba are true biharis who felt cheated when they migrated to what now is called Bangladesh so they went back to Bihar the place they called home and now their kids and grandkids and greatgrandkids call Home
Only faisal's father migrated and to this day he considers it to be the biggest mistake of his life
Next time you wanna question My roots, I wont be this considerate and understanding
[This message has been edited by Anchal (edited September 07, 2001).]
Anchal behan, Bihar main kis jagah? I spent many years in dist Monghyr, Jamalpur area.
Ranchi,
My great great grandfather was the Khan Bahadur of Ranchi, Khan Bahadur Habib
and Faisal's great grandfather was the Khan Bahadur of Bagalpur, I forgot his name and faisal is not around, will ask him later
its a weird name i keep forgetting
Mohammad something or erm dunno :-D
Great Anchal behan. I have visited Bhagalpur and Ranchi many many times. I liked Ranchi. Lekin Bihar ab vo Bihar nahi. Bardi pareshaniya-n hain vahan. I hven't visited there now in 20 years. Last year I met a Ticket inspector ina Train from Ranchi. He had a Masters in Urdu Literature and he recited a lot of shayari and gave me some idea about the situation of Urdu these days. Its still taught as a second language and you can do upto a PHD.
[This message has been edited by Tanhaa (edited September 07, 2001).]
My in-laws are from Bihar, too. Why is it that every behaari seems to find come relationship connections with other behaaris? I have always seen this.
Ali_R, as much as we become Pakistanis and Muslims, culture and traditions don’t always leave the fold. As human beings, we ally with thte Muslims but as people we ally with India. Below the surface we are one (India and Pakistan). Peel the surface and what is the reality seems to surface.
Anchal: The second rasam: I did that (not the nand).
Ali: One other thought I have as I read your comment: The rasams, as adopted from the Hindus, are done as fun. Now, if you mix their religious thoughts and other religious associations with the rasams then you would be correct. Otherwise, to keep a marriage on a pure Islamic footing, a marriage should be performed over some dates and sharbat. While I think we should persue that as the ideal but does everyone think that will happen, if not in utter poor families?
If any rasams are done, as I read some that associated the act of doodh-pilai with how the husband and wife will deal with each other then that is something I would have concern about…as a Muslim. But to have the rasam and then ask for ransome money - - -
man, that is just out of this world.
I didn’t have an appreciation of all these since I had grown up in U.S. Never saw any weddings until I got married and had just a misreable time during my wedding. I wasn’t expecting any of what happened to me. It wasn’t until next 10, and a few other weddings later, that I began to understand a bit. Now, like Anchal said, I am all for them and think that they give a zest to the whole experience.
Also, I never knew about doodh pilai with pista and badaam…etc. What I know is from the Indian movies - doodh with bhang - to get the husband in tarang - isn’t that what Kaka would like to be in on his fateful night?
[This message has been edited by jannu (edited September 07, 2001).]
Thank you Jannu but I still dont know why you are so worried about me?
I never tried to set borders between Indians and Pakistani. Neither did I mean we should stick to an pure ISLAMIC wedding!
Never yaar.
On my sis marriage I was the first to hop out from the crowd and start dancing. And every one followed me. We had a mix dancing session (both girls and boyz) and it was just wonderful. It was a revolution in our family coz ppl were not used to it. You know how it is in old fashioned families.
I was just trying to tell Anchal that the roots for such rasams lie in India (Hinduism). Its non of my bizz and i really dont care if Anchal or anybody else is from India. She can be from “HUGA HUGA” and i would accept it.
As long she keeps on respecting me I’ll keep this up as well.
As far as the 2nd rasam is concerned. We never performed it coz we felt it was wrong applying MILK on feet. Ignoring the fact that is “wrong” in ISLAM.
I’m less INDIAN than others here on this FORUM. The reason for it is that my forefathers were from PERSIA and AFGHANISTAN. Still i see both countries as friendly. India as well as my home country Pakistan.
And I’m always for a hand shake between those two enemy states.
Got me?!
[This message has been edited by Ali_R (edited September 07, 2001).]
Originally posted by Anchal:
I have never held a Pakistani passport not become a Pakistani citizen (god forbid)
I wonder what you are doing on Pakistani Forums. ;-)
Sure you can be where ever you want.... But if you are, God Forbid indeed, not a Pakistani... why?
And waisay anyone can go to India and get citizenship for 200 Rupees (same in pakistan, I am so Loyal that I have two Paki ID cards :-D). My friends Chachu went to indian and lost his (Pak) passport, he just got an Indian passport and came back.
I mean if people think partition/migration was a mistake....well it can be corrected, just move back. Better than pissing in yur plate.
Shall I or Shouldnt I ? ![]()
naaaa bachay ko kar lenay do tafreeh
Originally posted by Ali_R:
**Thank you Jannu but I still dont know why you are so worried about me? **
No, I wasn’t. I was trying to converse with my view point and yours.
I was just trying to tell Anchal that the roots for such rasams lie in India (Hinduism).
Still, I think if the religious connotations are not kept with the rasams then they should be o.k.
As far as the 2nd rasam is concerned. We never performed it coz we felt it was wrong applying MILK on feet. Ignoring the fact that is “wrong” in ISLAM.
You are correct. Some are so attached to certain rasams that some obvious things are overlooked. I have learned since then. You are correct and this won’t be repeated in my family.
**I’m less INDIAN than others here on this FORUM. The reason for it is that my forefathers were from PERSIA and AFGHANISTAN. **
As I am being borned in Pakistan and my kids being borned in U.S. Sad part is that regardless how much you understand yourself to be Pakistani, Pakistan does not except those whose parents were not born in section of India that is known today as Pakistan. So, we are the lost Indians, I guess. I don’t know what your classification would be in Pakistan since you don’t belong to a sooba.
**Got me?!
Loud and clear. jannu goes away clearing his ears
Still friends?
Aanchal ,
Between two threads .Im sorry if i gave the impression as prying .I guess its a cultural difference .We ask question about where you are from,BUT no design is intended,but i can understand in some culture it can me mistook as being NOSY.But in apublic open place like that I WOULD ADVISE YOU IF YOU ARE PRIVATE PERSON REFUSE TO DIVULGE ANYTHING THAT YOU DONTWANT TO.I Personalty wont be offended.
But im happier knowing about you & as Tanha ,i too am equally familiar as visitor to those areas.
and does all that have to do with DOODH???