don't you just hate it when ppl come crawling out of the woodwork....

:hinna:

sooo yesterday evening i just got in from work and i was relaxing when the phone rang. i answered it and it was a man from pakistan who wanted to speak to my father. i told him he’s not at home and i took down his name. dad comes home and i tell him ‘farooq uncle’ called from pakistan for u… and my dad’s like who the heck is farooq?? anyway after a while my dad remembers and he’s like ohhh him, he hasn’t called me for 20 years! my dad didn’t call him back cos he didn’t have his number.

today that same guy called from pakistan and this time my dad was at home and answered… well it turns out that his son has landed himself a student visa to and is coming here to study on an english language course :uz:and he wants my dad to pick him up from the airport, keep him in our house until the course starts in two weeks and in the mean time find him somewhere to live!! i was like WTFFF nooo wayyy he is NOT staying with us!! am i being selfish here? i mean this guy has not called my dad in 20 years, not even when my grandfather died and now all of a sudden his son is landing tomorrow evening and he expects my dad to pick him up, let him live with us and find him somewhere suitable to live.

maybe i’m crazy but shouldn’t they have thought about all these things before applying for a visa and buying a ticket?? we have no idea who the son is and what he is like. on top of that we are all out during the day so what is he supposed to do alone in the house all day? none of us like the idea of him being alone in our house. on top of that my dad is really busy with work and he could do without the stress of finding him somewhere to live.

what do we doooooo??

Re: don't you just hate it when ppl come crawling out of the woodwork....

Opportunistic people eh? I know how difficult it is to have people you don't know very well in your house. We have some relatives we don't really like and they come visit us like once in a year and I have to give them my room and all that. Its really annoying.

All you can do is make a elaborate story about why you guys can't have him. That, or find him some housing before he comes.

its quite odd of that uncle to call out of the blue....hmmm

jst giv him a shelter for a day or more mean while find som proper place for him

^ i guess that's what will happen now. i can't see my dad letting him stay for 2 weeks. maybe 2 days at the max. its just gonna feel weird having a virtual stranger in the house. his father has been calling our house non stop to make sure his son is staying with us

I'd have let him live at my place. Its not necessary to level the score in every aspect of life.

Now if you have other problems like staranger living with your guys for couple of weeks and ghaar haas jawan jahaan larkee than thats another problem.

Where else does he think he would be living?

lol the next thing you know, his dad will ask for your hand in marriage so his son can upgrade from a visa to a green card! lol

its ok, hes prolly a shahrukh khan/vin diesel lookalike! Get ready to throw him a welcome party!

yeah thats the thing. neither i nor my mum or sister feel comfortable having a stranger living with us and my dad is not to be happy about it either. but we can't turn him away now that he's here

god knows... maybe he thought my dad would drop him of to a hostel or something

lol far from it. he's here now and i actually feel a bit sorry for him since he's totally alone in this city. i just wish his father had told us earlier so my dad could have arranged for him to live somewhere.

Something similar happened to us. This family who we haven't spoken to in 7 years, since we left Kuwait to come to Dubai, out of the blue contacts us. The uncle called dad and he is like my daughter is getting a divorce and she is running away from her abusive family and husband in Norway and she is on a flight to Dubai. Please come pick her up from the airport at 4 AM and then keep her in your home for 4 days. Then she will come to Kuwait to us. We didn't know what to do! Suddenly out of the blue! They were begging and pleading and then the aunty also talked to mum and my parents were given no choice. My mum asked the aunty whether the daughter knew that we were coming to pick her up from the airport and she is like "haan usse sab kuch samjha diya hai humne, aap please bus airport par lene challe jayein". We did, and she ended up staying with us for 2 weeks instead of 4 days. It was so weird!

ramzan me bhi itni khudgarzi?

wats the big deal..people in pak go thru this all the time!

Lipstick, is this change in attitude because he is easy on the eye? Hmm?

Pick up and drop him in a mosque

Yeah, you know I have to say I brag about Pakistani hospitality: this is one of Pakistani culture's greatest strengths. I'm kind of surprised at Pakistanis whinging about helping out a guest. Seems like some of you guys have forgotten your roots.

Helping someone in need is good thing. (Just make sure you are not getting abused)

Newcomer has to start somewhere. A good deed goes long ways.

I don't know what the big deal is. Obviously this guy is in need and a little help from you will go a long way. Imagine if you were in a similar situation and had to go to a strange country. It is an immense relief to have a place to stay until you can get up on your feet.

I would help that family in a heart beat no matter why he hasn't called us in 20 yrs. Maybe they are poor people who can't afford to keep and touch with you guys, maybe his father found out your number just recently through someone. what is the big deal anyway, it's the matter of two weeks only. Have a big heart!

so u wouldn't mind having a 23 year old stranger living in ur house amongst ur sisters and mother? as far as i'm aware people in pakistan (or the ppl that i know) would not allow a non related, unknown male to live in their house under any circumstances