dont you hate it when parents dont tell off their kids who are rude/noisey/naughty et

some of the kids i know, be it my cousins or anyone elses are soooo badly annoying. theyl take pens and write on our walls, or drop crumbs on the carpet/ throw food all over carpet, scream their heads off if they dnt get a chocolatebar etc etc so anyway when my lil brother was like that my mother told him off, but nowadays you see mothers who dont give a damn, theyl just laugh it off or quietly without any intention in their words say chup karo bacho and then leave them to it, and they havent even heard her say it. my niece goes around saying shut up and slapping ppl sometimes and her mum just sits there…whats the matter with everyone.

Re: dont you hate it when parents dont tell off their kids who are rude/noisey/naught

Exactly.

And quite frankly, if the kid isn't stopping and the parents aren't doing anything. I will say something to the child, and discipline them or explain to them what the issue is. I'm sure the parents are offended, but really they should be ashamed and embarrassed for being so negligent. If you can't handle your kids out of the house without screwing up others' living situation, then you need to stay at home or make a real change. It's not doing the kids any favors by letting them become wild and domineering.

Re: dont you hate it when parents dont tell off their kids who are rude/noisey/naught

Its so true- although I think its more to do with people than the changing times. I stern word or a telling off your child is fine. Sometimes its actually quite embarrasing and u cant really say anything to the child, I've seen parents like this who then end up hitting their kids in ur presence which is plain wierd for the other people there, eg at this mehndi a little boy was misbehaving it went on for a while and then his mother thwacked him over the head and was like stop. everybody else was lookin the other way as it was plain awkward

I would love nothing more than to hear from those parents with kids like that. Not a single parent on GS who is like this and can explain their behaviour? :bummer:

^ I'm sure they'd feel that they need a break, what's the big deal? the kids aren't so bad, we don't know what life is like with kids, etc etc etc.

^ exactly! its all too easy to pull out the "you have no idea what its like" line... its a lame excuse. of course we don't know, but guess what, we were all kids and we were all disciplined then, and have grown into normal adults, and we've run into well-mannered children too- so why can't you bother teaching your child the right thing?

my 2.5 year old cousin backhanded me right across the face when i told him to behave because he was acting up, and he did it knowing he was going to hit me- it wasn't a knee-jerk reaction to being spoken to. that's his response to any sort of discipline, so i smacked the top of his hand and told him to "behave" in a sterner voice. he started wailing but it was all witnessed by his father, my uncle, who told me i'd done the right thing because his son was seriously out of control and he needed to learn. and before i hear complaints from parents, let me be clear: i'm not advocating child abuse, nor do i agree with slapping kids on their faces but a light smack on the hand with your own hand and not with a ruler or a wooden spoon, etc, is a different story.

in my experience, its always been the mothers who have been negligent and the fathers who strive to discipline their kids. i don't think thats fair to the kids- i think they need a consistent approach to discipline from both parents and not the good cop/bad cop routine. in my mind, it just creates fear of one parent, and no fear OR respect for the other who continuously just gives in!

^ What I've seen with my cousins are parents who are afraid of upsetting the child. I have a lovely 7yo cousin. He's got a strong personality now, but when he was younger he was even more domineering. He would tell his parents what to do, where to sit, etc etc AND THEY LISTENED! I was like, of course he's going to be that way! You're telling him it's okay!

I have lots of examples, but a good one is when he was about 3 or 4, we were all gathered, and many of the adults were playing karem. They were letting him play too. But of course, that wasn't enough for him. He didn't want to give anyone else a turn. So I grabbed his hand with the striker in it and held tight and looked him straight in the eye, and I told him that if he wanted to play, he needed to wait for his turn. In the background all my mamoons and mumanis are like, "Let him be, it's okay, bacha hai, blah blah blah." I didn't budge. I looked him straight in the eye. And he looked me straight back. It lasted for a long time! Then he loosened his grip and let everyone play. Everyone was shocked, but I don't understand why. He's not a bad kid. He's a good one, he just doesn't know how his behavior is reflecting on him, and it is the parents' JOB to teach him.

My other pet peeve is when people with young kids come into my house and immediately start to move the decorative items around, on to higher shelves and such, so that the child doesn't break things and make a mess. That is ludicrous. Baby animals can learn what items they are supposed to avoid; I know a small child can!

I dont' get some people and their "its okay, they're just kids" nonsense. they think the kids will get better as they get older? uh what?

any kids here who like weren't disciplined at all? can yall share ur stories? it seems like some type of people just DONT exist on GS at all (these two types being an xample!)

people dont visit me now,cause i dont allow their kids to write on my wall,have a food fight,bring shoes on the carpet.they say mine are robots,warna its kids nature to do such kids:bummer:

They dont come around anymore because you dont let them write on your wall…u serious…whts the matter with your people why dont you go round theirs and start scribbling on their walls lets see how they like it.

my lil nephew wrote on our wals my mum told his mum whose my cusin, and my cusin just laughed…i mean wtf…

so i had a go at her and told her next time im around hers, il scribble on her wall and then yuo can complain to my mother and see how you feel when she laughs it off,

oh it's truly annoying!

One day my friend dropped off her 2 kids at my place cause she had to run out for something. I said fine. BUT AN URGENT SITUATION arised and I had to run out too. So I called up my mom and told her if it's okay if I bring my friends kids over for little bit. My friend does not have family here.

My mom said sure. So I dropped them off. My mom offered cookies to those two boys and it was disaster! The cookie crums ALL over the sofa and carpet... that too chocolate chip cookies. These cookies do not CRUM so much but GOD know how these two boys ate them - it was POWDER ALL OVER.

aaaaaaaggggggggggggg

my poor mom cleaned it up without saying anything. I did not have time to clean up cause I was just tangled up with the urgent work. :(

well i can bear anything.fine i ll clean the walls,ok go have fun with shoes on carpet..no problem make mess ..but PLEASE use the washroom properly.i hate when mothers send their kids alone in the washroom:aj: ladies are you OUT OF UR MIND:mad: how can a kid comes out of washroom without making mess:smack: i can tell you alot of horrible washroom stories.
so now i simply/frankly tell the mothers kai plz aap khud lai jain bachai ko washroom:D

YESSSSSSS…!!!
We are friends with this family and when their son was young and whenever they came over to our place,the mother used to tell me to pick everything up before he got there…ugh..I never did that…I hate doing that…:frowning:
then when they used to come over instead the mother telling her child to behave she used to tell me “us ko daantain”…obviously I could never do that…its your child you do the work…
if it were mine it wouldn’t behave like this (hopefully…!!..)

I remember whenever my mom used to have dinner parties or get togethers at her home where the kids were also invited,she used to assign one of us sisters just to look after the children…like go after them every where…sounds crazy,I know but ammi made us do it..!!..:hehe:

one more thing I have seen especially amongst Pakistani families is that their kids behave like mad men,hitting other kids and ruining everything around, and the parents go "mashallah kitna hooshyaar hai humara bacha’…:mad:

^ chipsy I am telling you well in advance please move your things around when my kids would come to your place.. if I can bump into things unintentionally, I am sure my kids will have my genes for breaking things around :D

i have never seen you bumping into things....!!...
seriously do you do that????
Then I will have to move my things around next time you come over...muahhaha...:D
your kids tou baad ki baat hai....!

hahaha I try to behave at yoru place but still I have bumped into your bathroom door couple of times.. I dun make much noise though :D

ok we will be getting moderators warning soon so lets go back to your blog and talk :D

That is why they are called kids.

Buchchay to buchchon wali harkatain karain gay.

Laikin maan baap hotay hain buchchon ko tameez sikhanay kay liaay. Agar unhon nain tameez naheen sikhaya to kia kia. Qabil e afsos hain aisi aurtain jo apnay buchchon ko tameez naheen sikhateen kay wo tameez say kaam lain doosron kay gharon main.

Buchchon ko janglion ki tarha palnay kay liay chor dena koi aqalmandi naheen. Is main buchchon ka naheen maan aur baap ka qusoor hota hai.

Ya unhon nain koshish ki ho laikin sahi tarha naheen kay buchchon ko sikha naheen sakain.

Waisay aaj kal main nain yay bhi daikh hai doosron kay gharon main kuch naheen kahtay parents our apnay ghar main mana kartay hain. Ya martay our cheekhtay hain.

Aisi aurton baaz dafa shirmindagi ko mitanay kay liaay bhi hansti hain ya baysharmi say hasti hain. Agar aap chehray daikhain hastay waqt to forun nazar aa jaay. Doosron kay ghar main cheekhna ya marna to kar naheen sakteen.

You set the rules and tell your kids that if those kids ever try to write on your wall tell you and take pencils from them. and ask them not to do that.

I can't stand budtameez buchchay ana ppl. I had not any kind of experience so can't say much. But seen some so can understand.

haha I was at a dinner party where a mother went upstairs to put her son on the toilet and came back downstairs. Minutes later we hear him calling for his mother, he was sitting on the carpetted stairs - no pants/undies sliding down the stairs, pointing to his bum saying "mommy there's something stuck in there" !!! HAHHAHAHA..... now the ladies house we were at is OCD in cleanliness so u can imagine her look and what she was going thru !

Mothers... please stay in the washroom with your kids until they know when they're done !!!

How many of you have kids? Raise your hands -

If not please don't dool out parenting advice because you have NO CLUE!

I just sit back and see women who use to say "my child would never do this... and I would never let my child..." But parenting is not exact science and kids will sometimes do embarassing thing.

Diapers leak, vomit happens, sometimes your child doesn't want to share.... so please give them a break and lend a helping hand... put the child pants up or something.

Instead of judgement....

Thank you

honey the boy was 7 years old.. its not advice.. perhaps common sense that if he hasn't gotten the hang of it then its best not to leave him alone in the washroom.