Don't over praise your parents!

During a dawat - this woman kept was praising what an awesome guy her father was.

I kid you not - her husband rolled his eyes and walked out of the conversation.

It seemed so silly to me but I recall several aunties giving these lovely piece of wisdoms to gals. “Don’t talk or over praise your parents or family in front of your spouse”

I find it bizarre.

have you come across this behavior?

Re: Don't over praise your parents!

I have never come across this sort of advice but I have seen the eyes rolling incident a few times....... LOL.

why would the husband not like it...??
she was praising her father ,not saying anything bad about the husband or his father...
I have seen people praising either one of their parents when sitting amongst friends etc...but I never thought it was weird...
It might be off topic,but what I find weird is some women sitting at a get together...and one of them just goes on and on about how loving her husband is...how he helps her around the house,how he makes her BD's special,how he says that she rules his heart,how he tells her that he will miss her crazy if she is away bla bla...
Mashallah..may Allah keep you happy but why does it have to be public information and especially for those who you just casually know and are not the best of friends with...
Just my thoughts...:)

That is a very different advice. I am sure the girl must ALWAYS be talking about the same thing for her husband to act that way. All the time. If we praise our parents at the right situation and only when required there is nothing wrong with it.

^Maybe the wife was actually being passive-aggressive------like she had some sort of disagreement with her husband about her father in private, so she uses the dawat to praise her father in a way that her husband can't make any sort of counter and at the same time makes it a little like she has raised an army of moral support among her friends?

don't over praise anyone inf front of anyone ....

but in this case, both things might be unrelated (she praising and he leaving) ... u never know

only time husbands dont like it is when you keep on bashing his parents but keep on praising your own. Like sometimes my wife take a shot at my mom and I go

"ww owo wo ..wait a min ...your mom also has the same problem, why is that you always have to give example of my mom in wrong things?" and she normally have no answer to this ... i guess its comes in nature of baHOOO ?

I think over praising anyone in front of someone is bad, woh kehtay hain naa " kisi bhi cheez kee zyadati sahi nahi hotee "

Everyone thinks highly of their own parents. If someone is over praising then obviously it would be an issue. Why would a spouse want to over praise his/her parents in front of their partner? <===== only to put down others' parents? Maybe not. It could be that she was just in the "moment" and just wished to speak highly of her parents. The guy however should not have rolled his eyes / walked away.

This is ridiculous. Is it desi women whom you heard giving such pearls of wisdom? Like we don't have enough crazy notions in our culture, lol. I wonder if the women who suggested this advice would find that it's okay for young women to over-praise their in-laws as opposed to their own parents?

I believe too much of anything.....including praise......can be harmful. Sometimes it gets to the other person's head. Other times, it leads to unrealistic expectations. But, in moderation, it's fine. Although, that's a subjective issue. Any guy/in-laws who become irritated when the bahu/wife praises her parents are HELLA insecure.

and neither should parents over praise their children in front of others .

oh well so he (husband) just loves her and he has nothing from her family.. chahey woh bhaar main jaen.. nice nice...

I can see a very very darkest kind of bright future for them. khair Allah knows better.

What I can say is Parents are parents.. either its mine, my friend's, my spouse, or whoever parents.. They are worth respectable and also praiseworthy.

I dont know why people first say we should respect parents either its her's or his and when one show such attitude then the other comes here in life1 and starts shouting hai maein mar ghae or hae maein mar ghaya... bear it then.

oh well if its me as husband.. I would love to hear it as I can then think for the same of her praising my parents, BUT is she has more complains for them then I would like to ask her to think positive than rolling-eyes and moving out.

Yeah girls think their dads are Supermen!

Praising your father is fine, but constantly telling your man how your father could have done everything better is not.

And men think their mothers are supermom’s!

*chor do aanchal zamana kiya kahay ga *:music:

i kina understand where they come from esp talking abt dad cuz when a gurl gets married all previous responsibility of a father is taken care by the husband so somehow they are compared on a general level...like my mom keeps saying "tujhey bigarne waley dad or anil he hai" some how they both are compared ! so obviously u talk to highly about one the other one is going to be taken back..i feel..!!!

Good advice.

this is the first time i have ever heard this.

her husband should be proud of his father-in-law then! he shouldn't have walked out! thats just rude.

that's happening to me. Yes, it is sad :(

^ why does it bug you. If HER Dad is Superman - that doesn't mean you can't be too.