Yeah. Well, this is what this article says. The skepticism surrounding humans drinking cow’s milk is around for a while. This article combines all aspects of the issue.
If you are an avid milk drinker, who has to have the warm glass just before going to sleep; or are forever feeling guilty for neglecting your mother’s admonishments to “drink milk regularly”… you should invest the few minutes and read this article. Its eye-opening.
Some excerpts are as follows, but you are strongly encouraged to read the whole article.
The entire matter of food and especially that of milk is surrounded with emotional and cultural importance. Milk was our very first food. If we were fortunate it was our mother’s milk. A loving link, given and taken. It was the only path to survival.
Milk is not just milk. The milk of every species of mammal is unique and specifically tailored to the requirements of that animal. For example, cows’ milk is very much richer in protein than human milk. Three to four times as much. It has five to seven times the mineral content. However, it is markedly deficient in essential fatty acids when compared to human mothers’ milk. Mothers’ milk has six to ten times as much of the essential fatty acids, especially linoleic acid. (Incidentally, skimmed cow’s milk has no linoleic acid). It simply is not designed for humans.
Fifty years ago an average cow produced 2,000 pounds of milk per year. Today the top producers give 50,000 pounds! How was this accomplished? Drugs, antibiotics, hormones, forced feeding plans, and specialized breeding; that’s how.
You may be surprised to learn that most of the human beings that live on planet Earth today do not drink or use cow’s milk. Further, most of them can’t drink milk because it makes them ill.
GREAT Let me take printouts of this and show it to my parents They always make me drink milk wo bhee wo pakistan mein jo malai wala bhens ka ka doodh jo guala de k jata hae
Waisay I think milk is mentioned either in Quran or Hadith as a beneficial food…along with i think injeer [figs] honey, olives and khujoor[dates]…
Irem… does Quran mentions cow milk to be drunk by humans on a regular basis?
I think, for special medicinal purposes, its ok to drink milk (goat milk, more likely) but for humans to drink cow milk all the time, on a regular basis…?
Faisal bhai, hmmm...dont know the details personally but here's some stuff I found off the net...
The Holy Quran clearly states that ('cattle's) milk is agreeable/good for humans to drink:
Quran 16:66
And verily in cattle (too) will ye find an instructive sign. From what is within their bodies between excretions and blood, We produce, for your drink, milk, pure and agreeable to those who drink it.
It's even being served in the Muslim Paradise:
Quran 47:15
(Here is) a Parable of the Garden which the righteous are promised: in it are rivers of water incorruptible; rivers of milk of which the taste never changes; rivers of wine, a joy to those who drink; and rivers of honey pure and clear. In it there are for them all kinds of fruits; and Grace from their Lord. (Can those in such Bliss) be compared to such as shall dwell for ever in the Fire, and be given, to drink, boiling water, so that it cuts up their bowels (to pieces)?
Milk has been mentioned in the Quran four times, twice directly and twice indirectly.
One of the rivers in paradise is pure milk (Koran 47:15).
You're right Faisal bhai. Personally I don't think that drinking milk is so important but my ex roommate who's a med student insists that we should drink atleast two glasses a day for calcium...specially women, otherwise they are gonna get osteoperosis in middle age...
*Originally posted by irem: *
You're right Faisal bhai. Personally I don't think that drinking milk is so important but my ex roommate who's a med student insists that we should drink atleast two glasses a day for calcium...specially women, otherwise they are gonna get osteoperosis in middle age...
Send her this article and ask her to comment on it. Post her comments here. I am sure there are better ways to get calcium. :)
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Send her this article and ask her to comment on it. Post her comments here. :)
Faisal bhai good idea :D waisay wo bandi itni busy hoti hae...pata nahen kab reply karay...she's a med student in jh med skule these days...but i'll send her this article :D
I don’t think we have farms in pakistan where we feed drugs/hormones/antibiotics to our majjaN to produce large amounts of milk. Well at least our milk supplier, maasi ShareefaN, did not subject her majjaN to all this stuff. :halo: I’m not too fond of milk anyway, give it to me as doodh patti and chai and milk shakes, but just plain milk…waqai halaq se neechay nahi utarta, the smell gets to me.
haan yaar i agree i dont think we have such things in pakistan…YET…thankfully…maybe they have some desi totkay for making the cows produce more milk…but prolly not these chemicals and stuff…maybe the companies like haleeb and milk pack are using this stuff tho i dont know…no idea..
but i’m with u…plain milk is difficult to drink…i can have it with cookies or chocolate, woh bhee only whole milk …and pakistani malai wala doodh to i can NOT drink…!! MILK PACK milk tho [not even haleeb] in pak tastes really good tho thats the only milk i can have by itself
1- if we are talking about hormones and antibiotics and what nots affecting milk and thus making it unsuitable for drinking, we can apply the exact same logic to any meat..and almost all grains and vegetables..
2- This anti-milk compaign has been run before by this group of animal rights vegan types and has been debunked pretty throughly.
Read the whole thing. Read about the chemical composition of cow-milk and how it interacts with human body. Cow's milk is naturally designed to provide nourishment to cow's off-springs. One would think this is pretty obvious, no?
We are not talking about rights of cows. But, what is good for human body. :)
whatever the case is.......i know at least Milk keeps me alive...sometimes i don't get to eat much whole day and a cup of Milk at night really keeps me going.
It seems to me that this article is objecting to people who drink more than one glass a day, more than anything else. If people are concerned about pesticides and what not, they should take a real good look at what happens to a lot of fruit in supermarkets. They wouldnt want to eat an apple again. Anyway, if people are so concerned, they can go to an organic store and buy milk from there. The cows are "organically" raised.
This same doctor would have a problem with meat eaters.
Dun wanna bring religion into every thread, but the Prophet (SAW) stated that children should be weaned on mothers milk for two years. I think thats appropriate.
If people become lactose intolerant later in life, they simply dont need to have milk and can use other sources for vitamin D.
What I do hear nutritionists say is have skim milk instead of whole. If people are going to run their lives by what every study says, I dont believe they will be living any longer. Just my opinion.
my parents were like that too
but the min they went out the kitchen i used to tip my glass out of the window
now i just tell everyone im lactose intolerant :halo:
Fifty years ago an average cow produced 2,000 pounds of milk per year. Today the top producers give 50,000 pounds! How was this accomplished? Drugs, antibiotics, hormones, forced feeding plans, and specialized breeding; that's how.
You may be surprised to learn that most of the human beings that live on planet Earth today do not drink or use cow's milk. Further, most of them can't drink milk because it makes them ill.
Faisal,
what does this article prove really. What are the sicknesses we are talking about.
I wouldn't give it a second thought for sure. It doesn't even seem to be written by a doctor really.
Babies aren't recommended to drink but the mother's milk or formula when the former isn't available. Then around a year, they are atarted on cow's or Buffalo's milk rich in essential fatty asids. And by then , child is taking a lot of other things to provide him with essential nutrients as a part fo his daily diet.
As grown ups, everyone around here drinks milk.... it is the safest source of calcium.
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
1. Read the whole thing. Read about the chemical composition of cow-milk and how it interacts with human body. Cow's milk is naturally designed to provide nourishment to cow's off-springs. One would think this is pretty obvious, no?
We are not talking about rights of cows. But, what is good for human body. :)
I read the whole thing, and what I am saying is that instead of a sinple cut and paste job, if we scratch the serface of the story and see who is funding thius research and what the affiliation of the esteemed doctor is, you will get more of a background on the real story.
Similar ongoing stuff has been written by the Physicians Committee for responsible medicine for years..and dont just look at their name, they are an animal rights group
because there are probably similar research reports funded by dairy farmers assoc which will tell u something completely diff.