Donating organs

Have you guys seen Terminator....It has been a while but remember that cop who got shot a hundred times but kept on attracting his mercury like body parts...thaz whz gonna happen to all the donars.
I foresee a great sci fi show on the day of judgement and I already have front row tickets for hell bhago
Anyway, when I went for my driver's licence they asked me if I wanted to be a donar and I said sure cuz to me humanity gets priority over different interpretations.

ciao
BoSS

Thats a very shallow way of looking at islam…You mean if a person got his ears chopped off…they would fail to be a witness on the day of kayama?..you can choose where your organs go…You can get them sent to pakistan…(I think)…atleast can decide where they go…
You cant donate you whole body…so concept of burial is still there…only vital organs are taken out…

blood does not creat itself…Its created on bone marrow and liver (I think)…but i am sure it does not form by simpledivision of cells, its formed by the process of budding. thats why it cant be grown in the lab…so what makes it donateable…and still if it is going to a kaffir…how can you justify that?

ME ME ME!!!

Hey…can anyone tell me what clinton did with the Cigar???

fuee.tripod.com
[email protected]
http://144.132.53.121/recent?0
picture

Since the issue is donating individual organs, the choice is individualistic as well. Frankly speaking if you want to donate your organ, it's your choice. Just like I hold the right not to if I choose to do so based on my beliefs. What I quoted above are ayahs in a Soorah taken directly from the Quran. And thus I hold the right to make my opinion based on that fact.

Those interested in making their decision based on religion, should consult an alim, or someone whose adequate knowledge and awareness of deen is guaranteed to make a right decision based strictly under the light of Quran, Hadiths and Sunnah.

[This message has been edited by Rarediamonds & Gold (edited October 10, 2000).]

gigglez
who me
Guessing from the temper
I must say you hit the nail right on the target :)

Boss
yaar that wasnt Terminator
It was Terminator II
Terminator main kahan us ki body theek hoti thi
oye btw you sounded so fishy yesterday
you logged on asked me faisal's age and logged off?
kya mamla hay?

By the token that a person should be returned to his grave the way he was born..

my statement below may seem a bit crude but that is not the intent, I am just trying to draw a parallel.

1) if someone has a limb amputated, or has a mastectomy due to breast cancer, or has an appendix removed, or gets circumsized. Do they have to keep these parts with them so they can be buried with those parts?

2) if the above statement makes no sense, then why can we use the same argument for organ donation?

3) if above statement makes sense... dang. "guys" you may want to call the hospital you were born in, it will be a massive search campaign for all muslim men.

Talking bout ayahs
If say one individual says that this particular ayah means this
doesnt mean that it maybe true
My transaltion of that ayah and its meaning is different then yours

My belief is
The ayah is simply saying that our body parts will give gawahi of what our mind made them do
Nowhere does it say that
Do Not Give your Body Parts to Others In Order to Save their Lives

If Allah wanted that to be the case he might have stated in clear words
and he didnt
After all Isnt Quran the complete Book?

Why are you then adding stuff to it that isnt there in the first place?

Cant a set of eyes give gawahis bout two persons

What i've heard and read (from an islamic perspective), is that we may receive organ transplants from humans --notice wry smile my emphasis on humans there-- whenever necessary and regardless of the religion of the donor...and as to donating organs, it is allowed if it is not done for monetary purposes.

Allah swt knows best.

umm so what bout the human ear they are growing off the back of the rat?:D

kidding guyz

[This message has been edited by Anchal (edited October 10, 2000).]

Thats a very shallow way of looking at islam...

Hmm...that's kind of an old one now. Everytime someone someone has a different opinion than yours, or different beliefs, it's shallow? :)

.You mean if a person got his ears chopped off....they would fail to be a witness on the day of kayama?...

Now where did I say that? That's a very shallow interpretation of a discussion where I specifically mentioned "MY" three times.

you can choose where your organs go......You can get them sent to pakistan....(I think)....atleast can decide where they go....You cant donate you whole body.....so concept of burial is still there.......only vital organs are taken out......

I have been the president of Health Occupation students of America (HOSA) for two years straight. Handled this blood donation and organ donation stuff many a times and seen too many cadavers during mentor at Baylor, to tell you for sure, that there is no way of ensuring who is the receiver of the blood or an organ. It goes to whoever is next on the waiting list, where ever that may be. Secondly once the organs are gone there is not much, in fact almost nothing left in a cadaver except for stitches and veins sticking out from all over. Looks worse than Frankenstein :)Burying whatever is left of the body after that, which is basically almost nothing, is merely a formality.

blood does not creat itself....Its created on bone marrow and liver (I think)...but i am sure it does not form by simpledivision of cells, its formed by the process of budding. thats why it cant be grown in the lab.....

Blood is created IN the marrow of the bones not on or upon. Liver only cleans out the blood it doesn't make it. Blood is made up of a pale liquid called plasma and millions of cells or corpuscles. By saying blood forms itself, I was not talking about the procedure of how it comes about, but rather the fact that when one donates blood, plasma starts working right away to form more. It's not like if it is gone, it is gone forever.

.so what makes it donateable......and still if it is going to a kaffir....how can you justify that?

Again there is a big difference between donating blood and donating organs. When Shirin asked this question..she asked for our personal views on the subject. And that's exactly what I was doing. To me it is unislamic and I will not change what I have said. You have a right to your opinion as well. If you are okay and satisfied with yours, you shouldn't be looking for agreements or backups lined behind you. :)
I still hold the right not to donate my organs and I still hold the right to demand that I be returned in the form in which I came. :)

I still hold the right not to donate my organs and I still hold the right to demand that I be returned in the form in which I came

Saying what your right is and saying what is unislamic are two totally different things

again my question is where does it say in Quran that it is unislamic to donate organs in order to save lives
kindly backup your phrase

Yes. I did forget to mention that it is unislamic as well.

You cleary mentioned that it is unislamic to donate organs

or did you just say that to get a kick out of it ?

Tell me if given the chance would you work in a Liqour Shop selling alcohol?
Your answer is going to be No
why because its UnIslamic
then what were you doing
and i quote

Handled this blood donation and organ donation stuff many a times

If its so unislamic to donate organs what were you doing at a facility handling the donation stuff
Since its against your beliefs

Nobody asked bout your case history
you made a claim that donating organs is unislamic ....
now explain how is it unislamic
on what facts are you basing your theory

Hmm...that's kind of an old one now. Everytime someone someone has a different opinion than yours, or different beliefs, it's shallow?

Kinda surprised to hear that **coming out of **You

I was under the impression that it was permissible in Islam to donate your organs. Here is one view with the link. Obviously organ donation is a very personal decision and i don’t know what the right answer is. Allah knows best.

http://islam.org/Science/organ.htm

Organ Donation and Transplantation

The Quran says: “and whoever saves a life it would be as if he saved the life of all the people.” Perhaps there is no better way to implement this concept than in the area of saving lives by transplanting donated organs to replace failing vital ones. This conclusion, however, had to be reached after some synthesis of Islamic rules. Basically,

violating the human body, whether living or dead, is against the rulings of Islam. It would follow that incising the body of a living donor or of a cadaver and obtaining the organ to be donated, would be impermissible, had it not been for the invocation of two juridical rules that readily solve the impasse. The first is the rule of “Necessities overrule prohibition.” The second is the “choice of the lesser of the two evils if both cannot be avoided.” Since the saving of life is a necessity that carries more weight than preserving the integrity of the body of donor or cadaver and since the injury of the body of the donor is less evil compared with leaving the patient to die, the procedure of organ donation and transplantation is sanctioned. It should not pose danger on the donor, as far as medically ascertainable. Rules of free consent devoid of all kinds of pressure should be observed as the donor (or next of kin of deceased donor) indicate their willingness.

Transplantation of Nervous Tissue

This has recently shown some promise in the treatment of certain diseases. It is lawful if the source is the adrenal gland medulla or an animal fetus, or a human fetus spontaneously miscarried when it dies naturally. It is unlawful to sacrifice a living or viable human fetus for the purpose. In lawful abortion (such as to save the mother’s life) the fetus may be used. Creating fetuses or performing abortion for the purpose of transplantation is unlawful.

The Anencephalic Fetus

This refers to a congenital abnormality where the vault of the skull and the brain hemispheres are absent. It might be borne alive, but will eventually die after a variable period that might extend to several days. As long as it lives, it should not be used as a source of organs for transplantation. Artificial termination of its life is unlawful. It may be maintained by artificial resuscitation to keep its tissues healthy, until its brain (stem) dies and then it is allright to take its organs.

Transplantation of Sex Glands

It is unlawful to transplant testes capable of producing and discharging sperms or ovaries capable of ovulation into another person, for this would lead to confusion of genealogy and the conception of babies by gametes that are not united by an authentic marriage, since such sperms and ova will always belong to the donor and not the recipient. Sex glands that are sterile (do not produce gametes) but are hormonally active do not bear this ban, but their use has no place in clinical practice.

Definition of Death

The definition of the moment of death has its bearing not only on medical issues such as the feasibility of removing artificial animation or the taking of a singular vital organ for transplantation (such as the heart), but also of juridical issues such as the beginning of the waiting period a widow has to wait after her husband’s death before remarrying (four months and ten days, or if pregnant, the end of pregnancy), and the apportioning of legacy shares if two or more inheritors should die in succession.

Recent juridical congresses accepted a new definition of death based on total brain death (including the brain stem) even though some physiological functions are still maintained by artificial animation. The new definition was made possible through a process of “analogy” to an old juridical rule that recognized the concept of a fatal injury. Centuries ago, it was decreed that if a person is stabbed leading to extrusion of his bowel, this was considered a fatal injury even though the victim continued to show movement and other signs of departing life, technically referred to as “the movement of the slain.” If a second aggressor then finished up the victim causing (complete) death, still the murder charge would be addressed to the first aggressor, and the second is charged but not with murder. Persons with brain death whose body organs/systems remain, nevertheless, artificially maintained, were given the status of the movement of the slain", seeing that return to life is scientifically impossible. It would be no crime therefore if the animation is switched off, or if the (fresh and live) heart is taken for transplantation to a patient whose heart is damaged beyond recovery.

[This message has been edited by ~Amber~ (edited October 10, 2000).]

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/Forum13/HTML/000259.html

this thread had a similar discussion too.

Obviously, you must love reading my posts a lot. :) I am all smiles when I see people desperately looking for an opportunity to criticize. :)

--------------------------------------------Saying what your right is and saying what is unislamic are two totally different things

It is my right, and to me and my beliefs it is unislamic.

------------------------------------------again my question is where does it say in Quran that it is unislamic to donate organs in order to save lives

kindly backup your phrase

Point out in Quran where it does say that donating organs is islamic.

It may not say it is unislamic but it does say "to Him shall we return."

--------------------------------------------If its so unislamic to donate organs what were you doing at a facility handling the donation stuff

Since its against your beliefs

I have already said what I was doing at the facility. I am going to repeat it since you asked the question again. And if u have difficulty gulping it, oh well then. :)
Firstly, I was doing a mentor program with Baylor. It's called exploring-your-horizons. Secondly while I was there I was not promoting organ donation. To me donating blood is alright. If there is a difficulty understanding the diff b/w donating blood and donating organs, God Al-Mighty be with you then. :) Secondly, it's no hidden secret that I plan to pursue a health career InshaAllah. Being a doc or being in any other health occupation doesn't necessarily mean you have to change your beliefs. One can still be what they want, while carrying their beliefs and being who they are :)

--------------------------------------------Nobody asked bout your case history
you made a claim that donating organs is unislamic ....
now explain how is it unislamic

I did not quote my learning history to impress anyone. My purpose was to share that I am fully aware of what's going on with organ donations and stuff. When I say something I don't just throw arrows in the air, or say stuff just to get attention for the sake of popularity. :) Who--me said a few things which caught my eye. Organs from here can not be send to Pakistan. An Organ donated here stays within this country. And I have seen enough to know that after having removed the organs, burial procedures are a joke in the face of the deceased. Had I known some people would take my history offensively upon themselves and that it would cause such intense internal conflicts for some ;) would have saved 'em the agony.

------------------------------------------now explain how is it unislamic

Alright if you think I am twisting the ayahs...(which is not the case at all, as it clearly states, "to Him shall you return," which goes on to tell us that we do not own our organs,)point out one place where organ donation is Islamic. Give me a Quranic ayah which specifically mentions "organ donations" as a permissible act. Not western laws. A Quranic ayah.

----------------------------------------Kinda surprised to hear that coming out of You

I do not regret, I repeat I do not regret anything I have said in the past on this thread or any other. Those were, are and always will be my beliefs, every single one of them and I stand with 100% firm feet on my grounds. I am not rigid. Give me a valid point to prove your statements. Must be authentic driven from Quran.

I love reading
sue me

So you are saying that if its not in Quran its Unislamic
So basically computers, internet, gupshup all are unislamic because nowhere in Quran you can find these things?

Its just like Birth Control
there is more good with it then any harm to any being

But in the end the choice remains in the hands of the individual and their loved ones

What I hate is (yes hate is a very strong word) people justifying their arguments by misusing Quran

You could have said I dont believe in Donating Organs but you had to drag in Quran and Islam to make your post Important ...
Why do you do that ....? I wonder :D

Ghalib, for an organ to be transplantable it needs to be removed from the body of the donor and transplanted within a very short lapse of time. Some things can be removed after death (such as corneas, I believe) but some cannot once the vital processes have come to a halt. Each organ is different.

Last year a friend of mine donated one of her kidneys to her sister who had been having dialysis for several years. The way she saw it, she needed only one kidney to live and her sister would have died otherwise. I think that was an act of extreme generosity and courage. What do you guys think about that?

Fraudia, I remember in the film "The Last Emperor" where the Chinese eunuchs preserved their organs all their lives and kept them so that they could be buried with them... so sad! No use to them and no use to anyone else.

The way I see it, if dying is inevitable for me and if by donating my organs I can help (hopefully several) other people to live, then why not? But as I said, I've never had to make that choice...
And who cares if I will be buried without being whole? sooner or later all will return to our maker, every bit....

[This message has been edited by Shirin (edited October 11, 2000).]

So you are saying that if its not in Quran its Unislamic

Let me repeat it…“It is my right, and to me and my beliefs it is unislamic.”

“Ina Lillahay wa inna ilayhay ra’aa jay’oon”
“We belong to Allah no doubt. And to Him shall we return.”

Every single creature who breathes on this planet will have to report back to Allah SWT. To Him shall we return. Minds, souls and bodies (organs and flesh) all belong to Him. Therefore, since I don’t own them, I do not have the right to give them to anyone else, simply cuz they are not mine. Simple as that :slight_smile:

So basically computers, internet, gupshup all are unislamic because nowhere in Quran you can find these things?

What a child-like analysis. :slight_smile: Islam is a universal religion for all times and people of all races but Allah has set boundaries and limits for every age and time. Allah SWT has mentioned the word “Taskheer e Qainat,” in Quran at several places, and has repeatedly encouraged the exploration of the universe. Computers, internet, and various other technologies of science are a link which carve the path of exploration. If one uses it in the right way, it’s allowed. Misusing anything is forbidden in Islam. So the relevance is, Allah SWT has given all humans hands, feet, a mouth, tongue, for the benefit of humans, themselves. The blessings of Allah Al-Mighty are for the betterment of us humans. If one chooses to make false use of them it is his/her own doing. Allah has given a book, a conscious and a mind to every individual, that’s why a lot of 'lil things are not mentioned in Quran. Quran does not go into petty details. It gives you the basic teachings and Allah SWT expects humans to make wise judgements using all three tools together. Quran does not go into un necessary details. :slight_smile:

Its just like Birth Control
there is more good with it then any harm to any being

Totally irrelevant to the subject. Birth control is not taking out any organ or part of your body and giving it to someone else. And by the way, since we are on the topic of Birth Control, there is a hadith which clearly states, that any soul who has been decided for by Allah, will come into this world, regardless of everything else.

But in the end the choice remains in the hands of the individual and their loved ones

Umm yeah :rolleyes: Allah has showed the path, given awareness of the diff b/w right and wrong and has left the choice up to the individual. That’s the real test of this world, and that’s what everyone will have to answer for in the life hereafter.

What I hate is (yes hate is a very strong word) people justifying their arguments by misusing Quran
You could have said I dont believe in Donating Organs but you had to drag in Quran and Islam to make your post Important …
Why do you do that …? I wonder

I abhor when people twist the words of others to prove their point cuz they can’t come up with a valid justification. Allah has repeatedly said, that He owns this world, the universe, humans and everything inside, outside, around, above, under and beyond them. And Allah has given us the permission to use these things within His limitations and not stepping over the boundaries.

And by the way, if the body was ours Allah would not have set such severe punishments for adultery and nor would He have shown such utter disgust for that kind of behavior. He would have simply allowed us to do whatever we want with this body and organs but that is not the case obviously :slight_smile:

And you still haven’t answered my question. Point out in Quran where it does say that donating organs is islamic.? :slight_smile:

I have trouble believing that a religion which is so flexible that it allows you to even eat forbidden stuff if necessary to sustain life..will have something against prservation of life via organ donation and transplants.

I agree with Fraudz.

Rarediamonds and gold, I am most certainly not going to criticise you at all. At all.

I promise. Because I see that there nothing to criticise about.

Have a look at this everybody, this is question directed to a scholar.
http://www.understanding-islam.com/qmh.htm

Here is what the link says:

Donating an Organ

How does Islam feel about organ donation? My father is very sick and he needs a liver transplant soon or he will die. He is on a very long list of recipients and there is nothing we can do, except wait for an organ donor to pass away so my father can get his liver. Watching him suffer, I have started to think about becoming an organ donor. If I can help save someone’s life and ease the pain of someone’s family, I would like to do so. The only thing stopping me is that I am completely clueless as to Islam’s take on the issue. Any help would be greatly welcome.

Sophia Nizamuddin, USA

There is no specific directive in the Shari`ah which prohibits the donation of organs. Therefore, decision regarding such an act shall lie in the ambit of ijtehad.

The matter has to be dealt with from two perspectives. Firstly, when a living person donates any of his organs to another; and secondly when a person leaves a will that any one or more of his organs be donated to anyone in need, after his death.

Let us consider the first case. Some scholars believe that donation of an organ by a living person is not correct. They say that a man does not own his body. Our body is a gift from our Creator and we are liable to return it to Him in the best possible condition. Therefore, donating any part of our body should not be allowed.

In my opinion, this line of reasoning is not correct. Our Creator has endowed us with all that we have so that we use it in the best possible manner. This is the very essence of the test that man is put to in the life of this world. Donating an organ, like for instance a kidney, may save a human life. I do not think there can be a better use of any of our endowments than to save a human life. Such an act is of so great a moral value that it can only be termed as prohibited if a clear directive of the Shari`ah prohibits it. After all, there is a great potential of harming the body while taking part in Jehad. But the great moral value of fighting for a just cause is the obvious justification that not only removes any prohibition of taking part in Jehad, but also qualifies it as one of the biggest good deeds.

As far as the second case is concerned, some scholars adhere to the opinion that donation of organs is prohibited, because they compare such an action with deforming of the human corpse. Obviously deforming of the human corpse is not only an immoral act but also an infringement on the rights of a dead brother/sister. The Arabs used to deform the bodies of their enemies, who were killed in the battlefields, as a sign of disgrace and disrespect toward it. The Prophet (pbuh) considering it an immoral act and strongly condemned it. The practice was subsequently abolished.

But, in my opinion, it is quite obvious that the practice of disgracing a human corpse is by no means comparable to donating any organ. The practice, which was condemned by the Prophet (pbuh) was for the purpose of disgracing and dishonoring the corpse and to show disrespect toward it. While, donating an organ for helping another human being is a very noble thing to do. Such an act seems not only to be devoid of any disrespectful intentions toward the dead, but also stems from the motive of serving mankind. Therefore, there appears to be no reason to derive the prohibition of donating organs from the prohibition of deforming human bodies as a show of enmity and disrespect toward the dead.

Thus, in my opinion, donating human organs cannot be termed as prohibited.

I hope this helps. In case any aspect remains unclear, please feel free in writing back to me at your convenience.

Regards

The Learner

In other words, Rarediamonds and gold is absolutely right in her choice.

She already knows that donating organs is not prohibited.

What she also knows, but others don’t actually understand is that Islam does not say that not donating organs is prohibited.

That means that Islam gives the person a choice on whether to donate organs or not.

Now do you see what she means? There is nothing really wrong with what she is saying.

They shoot partypoopers, don’t they?

Ok this is very interesting

So you are saying that If I think that a goblet of wine is not going to make me tun then its Islamic cause thats my belief and my right ?

So basically i have the right to say what is islamic and unislamic cause after all who gives a dime what it says in Quran or what it doesnt say ?

Rare i will answer your question just as soon as you will answer mine

Where does it say in Quran that it is UnIslamic to donate organs
Kapish!!!!

Ok Rare lets see
suppose your sister is going to die if she doesnt have a kidney donated to her
You are the only match they can find

What will you do
Be selfish and say No its mine its mine i am not giving it to you go to hell and die
Or
You are going to donate it to her?

[This message has been edited by Anchal (edited October 11, 2000).]

Interesting exchnages... :)

I tend to agree with the postings by Mr Partypooper, where he pasted a scholar's opinion. It is a personal decision, which is NOT PROHIBITED in Islam. I may be wrong, but based on available evidence this seems the strongest opinion.

RareDiamonds - I am having lots of trouble digesting this line of thinking, that if something is not expressly allowed in Quran then it is automatically prohibited. This issue is also being debated in 'Religion' forum on the topic of 'Celebrating Birthdays'. Maybe you folks can also contribute something on that topic too.

Re: organ donation, the way I understand the interpretation of quranic ayat, Allah will make us complete on the Day of Judgetement and for everafter. For example, if I suffer an accident and a leg has to be amputed, I believe that on the Day of Judgement, Allah will make me complete. Otherwise I may end up limping in heavens everafter! :)

Plus, I believe I had read somewhere, that even if we die in old age, those who go to heaven will live the life of a young person for ever after. So Rarediamonds, I would dare to suggest that this theory that the condition in which we die will be our permanent condition for everafter may not be true. Same is true for those who have donated organs. I am sure, Allah will provide them a complete body, afterwards. Same is true for our bodies providing witness to our actions.

Adios!

[This message has been edited by Pristine (edited October 12, 2000).]